Almost lost 1000$ yesterday due to copy past

0 12
Avatar for YasirRajput
2 years ago

Okay not really $1000 USD but it felt like one to me at least (It's $500).

As some of you might already know, I have been slowly putting some of my crypto assets finally OUTSIDE HIVE these days. Don't get me wrong I still believe in HIVE but I think it's smart to start diversifying my crypto assets and try out other things I would have missed if I stayed in HIVE forever.

Some I have put into that DeFi thing while some I have used to buy some alt coins to hodl. Since I am a beginner on these things I only buy the least expensive ones in the TOP 100 crypto list at least. I even powered down a bit of my HP just to put in a decent amount.

Anyways all was doing until I tried to log.in on my desktop and got the following error "We can't sign in to your account".



I don't know why I got this error when I have never even put a password on my desktop but clearly something went wrong that got my profile corrupted.

Immediately searched for a solution via Google and was able to at least copy some files on that corrupted profile to my newly created one.

At this point I was not all worried since I already have a backup of my HIVE keys on my phone. If what's come to worse, the files on the corrupted profile are just 'meh' files.

That is until I tried to log.in on my Binance Smart Chain account via METAMASK to check the DeFis I have invested.

That is when I remembered that I have put my backup seed phrase on my MEMO!!! Not a .txt file but just copy-pasted it on my MEMO on the now CORRUPTED PROFILE that I can't log in into!

So I really panicked at this point. $500 might not be much to most people here but with that amount in my country, I can already pay a year and 1 month of my monthly internet bill. XD

Felt a little sad for hours but then I tried to do my daily runs on Genshin Impact on mobile, I remembered that I have installed TRUST WALLET days ago and so I was able to at least UNSTAKE, MOVE, STAKE ALL of it to another BSC address. Woooh! Comes with a hefty gas fees though.

So yeah big lesson learned here and that is to have at least multiple backups in case you can't access the other one. I for one did not expect my desktop profile to get corrupted like that so I was not able to foresee about my Sticy Notes or Memo disappering.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for YasirRajput
2 years ago

Comments