One Fine day

18 58
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago

The day when I travelled somewhat farther than my little world is so exciting to me. It was the day when along with my husband, his sister with her husband as well, fetched a nephew in Bayombong, Solano, Nueva Viscaya. The kid wants to live and study here in our place this school opening. Her mom abroad called and requested my husband and her brother in law to fetch the kid.

It was sudden because everyone was loose with no arrangement of the day aside from me obviously which there is consistently an arrangement at home like home errands and so on 🀣. The timetable of the fetching was supposedly the following week but since a child's way of thinking is unpredictable, he chose to come earlier, everyone decided to travel that day since my husband was the one in particular who has a driver's licence. He was on vacation that day and the accompanying 2 days so they snatched the opportunity to allow him to drive bound to Nueva Viscaya to get rid of travel issues if at any time there is.

I, on the other hand, inquired as to whether I can come with my youngest, and my spouse concurred. I knew that he realized how much I wanted to go far than my old neighbourhood since I have been tied the whole existence of my marriage just in our place. 🀣So no exhibitions, nothing at all. I made a quick change of clothes after a quick washing because the time is ticking. At any rate, I had my bath last night, so with my baby. 😁 In only a couple of minutes after the affirmation of travel, we hit the road. In my mind,... Finally!

At the point when we are moving toward Banaue, the climate is getting colder since the altitude gets higher. Along with my sister-in-law, we set our children with their sweaters. We passed by Banaue yet we don't have the opportunity to stop for touring as we were focusing to show up at our objective destination the soonest. Hubby guaranteed us that we will do it when we travel back home. We only stopped in some part of Ifugao to have a meal since brother-in-law complained that he's hungry, only to find out none of us has had a decent meal since morning.

We were supposed to enter the orange restaurant above. But I was surprised that we entered the one in the other side of the road,the (green one). When I asked hubby about it, he said that the waitressess immediately halted brother-in-law and quickly invited them inside. Both men can't resist since they don't want to embarass the girls. 🀣 During our meal, husband told me that it's normal in these restaurants that waitresses intercepts in your way if you parked in their side of the road. So I understood that the other restaurant do the same. πŸ˜…

As we were moving toward the lowlands I felt the temperature changed. We presently took off our coats, so with our little ones since it's getting warmer.

You know the feeling when you appear to return to memory so long ago but something showed up that causes it to be recalled again? That is the thing that I felt when we arrived at Nueva Viscaya. All the open fields and wide bridges we passed took me back to the recollections of the location I grew up when I was young. There's something in the view that I needed to relish the experience while I appreciate the ride. Everything is the same as my youth encounters.

Sceneries are different from those I find in our province that everywhere are mountains and cliffs.

I wondered before what lies ahead those plains. By looking at those mountains, I thought what does it feel like to be on top. Now I know.😊
I am always amazed by the vastness of the plains and the distance of the mountains.So with the bridges I felt like falling.

We arrived at our destination at just about 12 midday. The host of the house kindly prepared us lunch however I was the only one in particular who didn't eat because I was still full and my little girl was complaining since it's excessively hot, she wasn't used to the weather, so we remained outside.
As I was sitting adjacent to the door when I saw a mother washing their laundry near a water pump and her son helping her. The young man went to and fro from their home how many times holding garments and carried them to his mother. He then, fetch water from the little water well for his mother's laundry. I think that it's cute. They were still not done yet when we left.

I've never seen a water pump as small as this. The little boy can do the pumping himself. There was a water pump in our place in the city but it was big that I can ride on its handle in order to bring it down and brought out the water.

Costs of items in lowlands are far less expensive than prices in our place so we requested our newly fetched nephew to accompany us to the closest retail chain so we can find something to get back with us. He said it was close since it was Sunday that time so he suggested a department store instead. We entered the NOVO department store.


See what I got for my daughter. This simple bicycle costs $60 in our place while it costs $21 in here. The cost significantly increased such a lot of that makes it was so expensive. Beneficial thing, I opposed my husband when he was going to get one with the costly price previously.

From NOVO, we stopped to buy some freshly baked buko pies and buko juice as well. Every relative who happened to travel to Nueva Viscaya would surely bring home their special buko pies for  "Pasalubong". It was my first time seeing the place. I thought at first there was only one producer of the pies in that province but as I found out, there were plenty of them aligned alongside the national road. You can pick which stall you wanted to buy your pies. Nowadays, they have added other flavours aside from buko like for example the ube or purple yam, pineapple and buko de Leche, I tasted it when someone from our barrio brought it home. But since our husbands were the ones who bought the pies this time, they only knew buko pie that exists. 🀣

Fresh cold buko juice quenches our thirst when it's too hot that time.

As we continued our travel, we passed by the stalls of watermelons.

I just don't know where exactly this area was but it's part of Ifugao and I can observe that the temperature started to change again. It's getting colder so I assumed we are starting to elevate. I also started to put my jacket on and my daughter as well when we started to continue our travel. Our men bought some big heads of melons and we got another big one for free. It would be a perfect match in the ricefield when we are going to stay under the scorching heat of the sun for a long time harvesting. We ate the free melon while on the road.

Here is the most exciting. As promised, the moment we entered Banaue, we stopped and strolled in the stalls. Sister-in-law and I took time taking pictures and together bought some souvenirs.

Here was a statue of a mighty hunter carrying a deer in his back with it's hunting dog.
This portraits Ifugao women. But this only pertains the women in the olden times. Nowadays they were fully covered.😁
Lots of keychains with different designs you can choose of.
Woven blazers for men and women and mini bags for your cellphone.
Hmmm. I'm not familiar with liquors. πŸ˜…
A magnet with granary design.

Chiselled products are everywhere. These are just some of the carved products from Ifugao which they are known as creative artist.

A carved shield...
OOopsie! Malicious aside.It's just an art.🀣

Here some other things you can use at home aside from decorations.

It don't know if it has carats. But according to hubby, it does but just a very little percentage of gold.

Excuse me, may I pass. πŸ˜…

πŸ˜…What a bad photographer I had (hubby). The background was a granary and the surroundings are still under improvement.
Look at what I've got for me. A mortar and a pestle. I needed it badly in pounding herbs for my kids when they have a cough.

Here's a "batic" loose shirt for hubby, I remembered he saw one on Facebook and wanted to have one so I bought it for him.

Now, this is what I got from hubby. A necklace. Perhaps he thought of my wish before during his travels to Banaue. I requested him to buy me a necklace souvenir. I asked him for this design but he doesn't know what I'm talking about so I got nothing. Now, he got it for me. πŸ˜‡It's even lighter and smaller than the usual one I always saw during festivals in our place.

Few kilometers away from our last stopover.We again dropped by at Diannara Viewdeck. Lots of motorist stopped by in here to take photos with the background. There were also natives available to have photos with you if you want wearing their native attire.

As props, the old man above brought with him his passiking. A native woven backpacks of Igorots. The one with feathers is a headwear like just what he was wearing so with the women. Another props is a necklace with animals bones and a little carved shield design.

The fogs went down already when we nearly reached our place.It even blocked the road and would be difficult without the fog light. Everybody were tired but no complains heard from anyone.

I am looking forward to visiting these places again one of these days if the weather becomes nicer and hubby gets back home for vacation again. This time, together with my whole family😊.

Thanks for joining me on my travel. Happy reading❣️

8-3-20

>Xzeon<

7
$ 7.49
$ 7.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Eirolfeam2
+ 3
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This made me smile. I remember when I was studying in Isabela, there were only a few buko pie vendors then when we stopped over Vizcaya. The way you described it now it seems the pie business has flourished. On the occasions I traveled to Isabela, it was always dark when we passed by Vizcaya or I was asleep at that time so I haven't noticed it then. I knew there were different pies but I haven't liked the taste of those so I'm sticking with buko pie. The souvenirs are very much like here in Baguio. Except I don't see barrel man? In one of your photos of the backpack, I thought "passing" is another name but I read your other caption and you wrote "pasiking" which is what I know so I guess the first was a typo?

Anyway, it was a wonderful travel and I like how you describe every bit of it. It really felt like I was there with you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚Yeah it's a typo. Passiking it should be. I wasn't able to take photo of the stalls in Viscaya b'coz i'm holding my daughter sleeping. Hubby told me it changed after the pandemic. No more scattered buko outside the stores.

Barrel man? πŸ€”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah a lot of have changed because of this pandemic.

You know that wood carving covered in barrel that when you lift and take off the barrel the arms and that middle thingy will stretch out? :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. I haven't seen such thing.πŸ€” But I would love to one day. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If ever you chance souvenir shops again, try to ask for a barrel man :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will remember that next time .😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had fun, I guess! I want to visit that place too po. Soon! Haha. Hamak mahal din nung maliit na bike dito, buti dyan ang mura lang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sis. We all had fun. Ay mahal din ba dyan? 3k kaya dito. Dalawang sakong NFA ang katumbas. 🀣 Buti nga napasyal kmi sa Solano kaya nakahanap ako ng 1k na presyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo mahal din dito. Kaya ngaaa po, ilang buwan na na pagkain yon πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San ba yang lugar ninyo sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya. Naalala ko nung nagpunta ako sa Sagada. Una naming nadaanan jan sa Banaue. Hahaha Kakamiss. Penge po nung Buko pie. Lols 😹🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ubos na... Okay na ulit pumasyal dito. Wag lang magiimplement ang gobyerno ng bagong law dahil sa "Delta"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like you had a great day.. I wish to visit my father's province too somewhere in Apayao. . the views would be different too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pasyalan mo pag nakauwi ka na sis. 😊 can speak Ilocano ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si papa ako hndi 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apayao is part of "montayosa". Place of Igorots.. Meaning Igorota ka rin pala?😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Half 🀣🀣 kya kulay ko nagmana kay papa 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero kahit medyo dark ang kulay ng skin ng taga apayao, makinis naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago