My Unforgettable Nights

8 27
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago

Everything began when I was having a mild cold. It then it went on for how many days and weeks. I went to a private clinic to ask for a doctor's prescription. Unfortunately, the clinic was full and outpatients like me were waiting outside based on the early birds I saw who were already situated inside the clinic.

I can't stand waiting in the long line so I left and went home. That night, my nose was clogged which caused me to breathe with much difficulty.It never happened before. I called for a private vehicle and requested to be sent to the hospital. We left home with thoughts amassing in my mind that surely I will be diagnosed with Covid-19. I made sure to leave instructions to my daughter before I left. She's just 12 years old with his 15-year old irresponsible brother.

I was swabbed immediately in the emergency room upon arrival at the hospital. That was my first time and it hurts my nose. I was then guided to my room. Then the story begins.

I didn't expect that my room would be the old hospital building that was rebuilt into a new one. You can't recognize that it was a very old building for its new appearance. It has private rooms with televisions each. Deep inside me, I'm having a bad feeling but I just threw it away because I was more uncomfortable and concerned about my situation.

When I entered my room, I am glad that I have company. I have something to converse with and will not get bored since there's no one allowed to enter our rooms except the medical attendants. However, my relief didn't go long because, on the third day, the result of my swab was released. I am positive with the Covid virus just as I suspected. Immediately I was moved to a private room. That implies that I am going to be alone. All you can hear was a swishing sound of nurses and doctors' PPE's.

On the first night, being alone. I was in my profound sleep and the lights were on. I wasn't accustomed to it because I usually sleep with lights off at home but I just let it be. I was lying flat in bed when suddenly I noticed it suddenly became dark. It seems someone is hovering over me and I can't recognize it's face! I attempted to open my eyes but I can't. Then,my body began to get numb and I started to panic. It's getting obscure! I was bathed with my perspiration when I woke up after that.

The following day, I talk it out to the nurse attending to me, but she just shrugged. She told me perhaps I was just unfamiliar with my new room. Maybe the following nights would be better, which I doubted.

On the second night, it was already late but I can't seize my sleep since I dozed off during daylight. I felt depleted from being awake the previous night.I was playing with my phone when I heard whisperings. I was thinking they were the newly shift nurses who made rounds every night during their first hour however I remembered they just left 30 minutes ago. I left my bed to peep outside my room but the hallway was clear. There was even nobody in the nurse station which is apparent in my location. I shrugged and returned to my room.

A few moments later, I heard the murmurs once more.It appears to be just outside my door coming closer and closer but I saw nobody cruise by. I'm having goosebumps after that. I can't focus on playing with my phone anymore. I noticed that the sound I heard was no murmurs, after all, it was like a chant since it has different voices. It began faintly then it turned into somewhat louder. I just wondered if the patients in the others rooms can hear it too when it seems to blow my head off as I hear the weird sound. The rhythm came repeatedly and I felt like being in a cult chamber that I saw in movies and I was the sacrifice as I listen to the strange sound. The silence and only the unusual noise made me go off the deep end.

The next day, I told my physician about it again. I had two doctors, the one who came the second time was nicer. She advised me not to sleep during the daytime so I could sleep at night. She even told me to pray before going to bed. She revealed to me that she also heard rumors about phantoms from the nurses that shift at night. That's why there are no nurses who stay in the nurse station late at night. It made me more uncomfortable. She suggested there are empty tents outside if I want to stay there during nightfall. I agreed but I will try my room again.

The third night came, I heed my doctor's advice, I made an effort not to sleep so I can sleep at night, prayed before resting too. Hours passed and I slept better.

Fourth night, I can hear even the slightest movement in my surroundings. My sleep is so wild again. It was almost 11:00 in the evening when I heard screechings of a wheelchair. There's a new patient, I thought. My room is situated near the stairs and for everyone who comes upstairs, I can see their figure outside my room. Moments passed but there's nobody showed up outside. Goosebumps began again.

The final blow came when I was about to sleep. I was facing the door of my room, when suddenly a nun with a black habit showed up and was watching me outside my door! It took me seconds before I blinked my eyes. I closed my eyes and took a gander at the door again however there was no one standing in there! I quickly stood up, battled my apprehensions, approach the door, and checked outside.No one. I began shaking and felt my ears ringing.Then I grabbed my blanket and pillow and rush outside. I headed for the nurse station, and again, there's nobody. I ran back but not towards my room, I headed towards the stairs instead and ran towards the open ground. I checked the tents and found an empty one.I entered with haste and without pretention.

The following day, I requested to be confined at home. My doctor rejected my request yet with a firm decision, I insisted. I will not die of Covid but with nightmares from the hospital I won't live another day instead. I signed an agreement for preferring to be home quarantined and discharged home that day.

Everytime I thought about my hospital experience,I'm still wond'ring what would happen to me if I stayed for another night.

Well, this isn't my story, it's my neighbor's. I just added some spices to enhance the story.

Thanks for Reading!

02/17/22

>Xzeon<

3
$ 2.29
$ 2.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 2
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Straight out of a movie! I know it sounds inappropriate but I can imagine it like watching a movie and I like it :D

I was thinking maybe it was a side effect from medications but for you to experience it every night then that's terrifying!

I hope you are better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁 That's my neighbor. Thank God I have never been to the hospital.The last time I've been there was when I delivered my baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was so creepy. If I were the one hospitalized in that haunted hospital, for sure I will not die of my sickness but I will die of freaking out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha true, I thought the same. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your neighbor may have watched the Covid process with high fever and caused him to have some dreams. The people who lost their lives in the epidemic and the thought that it could happen on their own may have triggered what he thought he saw and heard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps, or maybe she is really seeing what others don't, in her illusion since she always lack of sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kala ko syo..tanong sana ako kung okay kna 😅🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lang ako madam. Slamat sa pag alala😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago