Fish Party or Not? What do you think?

22 66
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Blog, Culture

Has anybody tried a fish party? All things considered, I think I've gone into one. However, it's not what you're thinking how it is perhaps. It's not about colorful balloons with drinks and lots of different menus on the tablee.Lastly,it's not about barbecues.

Let me elaborate .There is such a tradition in our place called "hadhadjiw" or "gadgadjiw" in our dialect. Here, family members of a deceased individual go to the river to catch fish and take it to the family of the departed's residence. Family members then or close companions, at that point, will eat together and the fish their viand. According to my husband, this practice was done after the memorial service of the deceased individual. Sometimes, depending on the family they apply it 40 days after the burial. The practice varies in each barangay in our district or area.

Presently, this custom was improvised. Because of overpopulation, fishes in our waters are scarce so people preferred to buy fish in the market. Some relatives still proceed and fish in the river for compliance. People sit around the house,conversing with one another about random topics. No loud musics, just the sound of chirping birds and chicks looking for their mother.The squeal of a hungry hogs on their pens and the laughter of the children running around.

A few days ago, mom's cousin invited me to a gathering. It was a family get-together during her mother's 40th day of permanent peace held in our adjoining barrio. I haven't visited the place for 15 years so I forgot the recent view of the place and so with individuals in it. I have known that I have relatives in that place too which explains I have blended-clan blood.

Together with my daughter Jessa, we baked a cake so we could have something on our visit. Everything was a rush but essentially we won't be empty-handed.

Following a couple of moments of preparation we set out and consumed almost an hour of a short trip, we showed up at our destination. Parts have changed after such countless years. Various houses are noticeable and occupy close to the main road. There was a recently developed bridge wherein we crossed to arrive at the opposite side of the barrio. Pardon if I haven't clicked my camera on the overall spot since I couldn't track down the best spot to capture it.

We had to walk a few meters before reaching the river where the newly built bridge was erected.

First, we had to pass through several pathways in the middle of the rice fields. Fortunately, most of the pathways were cemented so we had a little difficulty walking into them. Some years back, you will be walking on rice paddies and piled rocks as borders of every patch of ricefield.

Look how clean their river is. I wasn't able to discover this before during my past visit since we showed up around evening time to attend a vigil of my schoolmate's brother. Presently I observe the place still superb and quiet.

Everybody got inquisitive upon our appearance. My companions were at that point known to individuals in the area, likewise with my daughter. Local people knew her since occasionally she visits the place along with her fellow youths who directed Bible studies with the children and the youths too. She was additionally acquainted with the place which makes it amusing because I am a lot older than her and she was the person who met and got to know our relatives from that place first. 😅

Lots of inquiries were posed after we settled our belongings, especially the seniors. Some we're asking who are we, where we came from, and so on. Most people here don't come out of the barrio often. So acquaintance only happens at every wedding, campaign elections, and whenever we meet in the town proper.

The number of these individuals is far more different when the hours passed and the sun began to set.
This is a kind of pointed snail. You have to cut its tail part or the pointed part when cleaning so it would be easy to consume it. You have to exert extra effort in sucking its meat from the inside part of the shell. 😅

It's almost noon so we had our lunch with local people. Somebody from the neighborhood brought a local food called "lisseg" and "vissokol" in our dialect, they are two different kinds of snails gathered from the ricefield. I failed to capture the other snail because of too much enjoyment of the food.😅These foods are familiar in most provinces. There isn't so much of it in here anymore because of the natural change and population too. We don't have "lisseg" in our barangay as well as a result of the new strategy for farming which is utilizing farming machines. One of my cousins cooked it for us. I enjoyed it, particularly since it's been a long I last tasted it. I figured out that during noon, the host prepared boiled beans and this fills in as our viand for lunch, while in the early evening, the cook work for the viand for supper starts.

As I was observing the people, I noticed women carrying rice in their heads. During the early hours, there are few of them but as the hours passed by, several individuals were approaching with the same thing in their heads while others' hands carried it. I learned that this is how people share this practice in this place. They brought rice to the host's residence and join the supper together with the community people. In our barangay, we only do it during the construction of a new house, the donation of goods.

According to my aunt when I asked her about the approximate total cost of the fish, the host burned through 120 kilos of fish. It roughly absolutely costs ₱21,000. It almost filled the rubberized tub. But in my photo, the tub wasn't filled much yet since the other was still hauled from the riverbank.

I helped in stripping the onions for the sinigang and placing cellophane on paper plates.

Different individuals from the family cleaned the fish on the riverbank and the cooking too. It was fried, while some were prepared with sinigang blend.

It was almost dim when we finished with our supper. It was an exceptional encounter for me. I was accustomed to having pork meat at each event in our place and this time was so unique. We returned home late at night. The following day, they butchered a pig for the last part of the said "gadgadjiw".

The next day, we were fetched by a cousin. Quite funny because I didn't remember their names, just their appearances. I thought the event was at that point completed that day however I was told to return before we left. I was as yet not in my last idea when I got a call and a message promptly in the first part of the following morning. It was a notice that there was somebody to fetch my children and me along with various cousins who returned home with me the earlier evening. I had no way out, I helped my children in getting ready then we began to travel once more. Since I realized that there will be a pancit to be served at our destination, we swung by for a kalamansi in my working place which is along the highway going to our neighbor barangay.

2nd visit together with my kids

Upon appearance, the food was served, I was noticing the people around. In our area, anything long, may it be a canton, Miki, or anything that resembles egg noodles and rice noodles, they were called pancit. 😅

*No photos attached since I brought with me my youngest daughter and she was playing with my phone the whole time.

After lunch, we arranged to leave once more, however before leaving, we were being reminded by our host of the approaching gathering of our clan this April. I want to believe that we can have the option to go since it is the peak period of our farming in our place. So with the children, up close and face to face method of schooling finally familiarized, so it depends if we can attend.

This blog may be boring but the experience gave me another knowledge about a specific native practice I wasn't familiar with. I appreciate how the people preserve these unique native practices that started to be ignored in the other part of the province.

Thank you all for reading. ❣️

03/31/22

~Xzeon~

7
$ 8.71
$ 7.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @kat2x
+ 4
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Blog, Culture

Comments

May fish party palang tinatawag.. Mukhang masarap iyong mga pagkain na hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, Oo solemn na fish party yan .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We too have this custom in our country but our custom is little bit different from yours. I can feel the enjoyment you had. That place is really peaceful and relaxing, full of charms and natural things unlike cities. Glad to know about you and your culture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Which country where you from? I would love to hear from you. Yes, the place is so peaceful far from pollution, air, water, and noise. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laaah ang saya namaaan ng fish party! Pero bet ko rin yung snail. Tagal ko na rin di nakatikim niyan kasi wala nang nag-aalok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Marami ang kuhol dito. Ngayon, piling piling lugar na lang kmi nangunguha kasi yung ibang palayan gumagamit ng gamot sa kanilang sakahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay akala ko su-tu-kil eh.. Hehehe. D2 kasi samin ang fish party ay "sugba (grill, tola (tinola), kilaw (kilawin)".. Pinakamadaling gawin pag may family gatherings on regular days.. Namimis ko na kumain ng isda di pako nkakapuntang wet market since january yata.. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grill na lang ang kulang noh. As the years go by siguro. But because of the number of individuals to eat, grilling is not the best way to cook numerous fishes at this time.subukan mo na bumisita sa palengke niyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nkakagana din kumain pag marami kayo madam no. Andaming fresh fishes! 😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay sobra madam. Lalo na yang tilapia at yung maliliit na isda galing sa ilog namain pumapasag pa pero yang bangus sa market lang. Enjoy akong mkipag usap sa mga matatanda dito na mga 80's to 90's na ang edad. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful family custom that unites relatives at the time of the departure of a loved one. I liked the passage of the river. And the photos. Especially the bridge. The fish sure had an exquisite taste because it was cooked in a bonfire, in an open fire. The smoke gives it an exquisite smoky taste. I liked the journey of your story. I like to know other cultures.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So do I, I love learning about different cultures as well. Now I didn't regret in accepting my aunt's invitation. It gave me a connection to the past of my lineage. Thanks for stopping by. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And your daughter also learned from that lineage. And from those values. Congratulations, it was a good decision to go with your aunt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree .Thank you once again.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyyy ansarap naman sis fish party talaga yan ehhhhh pakain namam

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kung pwede lang noh? 😁Sa dinami dami nyan, di rin namin maubos. Take out na lang ang matira. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ada gayam kasta hehe. I only know meat as the main thing being served during gatherings. Fish is cheaper than meat, no? The first river was so clean yet the second was not :D It's nice to know that your daughter is familiar with your relatives.

$ 0.50
2 years ago

Wen kabsat. Dengdenggek lng jay word idi ngem kunak nu as simple as fishing lang. Tadtaak lng nakaexperience ti kastoy.Hoi, hanka! Nag ngina ti fish kaya. 🤣Dakkel en nga baboy ti balor ti 21k.😁

Maybe the color of the river was changed because of the effect on my phone against the sun but it's the same river on different side. ❣️

Funny nga e.. Yun pang bata ang mas nkakakilala sa mga relatives kesa sa akin na mas matanda. 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay isu? Haha! Dapat a garud nga ag alaga met ti fish han lang nga baboy :D

Really? Same river? Pay ngay kasjay haha!

At least ta amu na tay ubing nga maki socialize han nga kasla da tao haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen kuma enya. Adda met ketdi fisherfolks ditoi nga man manu nga agtartaraken ti tilapia, sponsored ti Department of Agriculture.

Wen same river. Agsinnumbangir nga side. Jak ammu nu apai😅

Masapul ammu tayo ti kabagyan tayo ta adda sangwen tayo nu tumaray tan tu nu election. 🤣 *Masapol Isurwak suda nga maging humble kn makisango nga nalaing ti pada tayo nga tao,relatives or not.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Usto a. Tatnu ada sabali source ti livelihood. Mayat dagita nga programa.

Wen ngay ngem amu pay man ti babain ko makisangsango hehe. Ngem ittry ko met ladta maki reunion kasjay nu ada waya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen, su piman ti pagkakakittaan ti dadduma nga kailyak ditoy ayan mi.

Ay isu, parehas tayo pet🤣 Nasuruwanak lang bassit manipud idi nag anak ak. Nge. Bassit lang.

$ 0.01
2 years ago