My Mom Is An Addict (2)

2 57
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Mom stood at the entrance of the room, feeling sorry for all she put us through, but it was too late. You can't be sorry when we have lost everything.
Little Kevin was growing faster, we could tell from his undersized wears. This got me more worried than my mom, all she cared about was how to raise money for her nose powder. At age 10, I was already rallying around trying to fix food on the table, though mom was sorry but the effect of the drugs she took, wouldn't allow her do anything.
I still remember the night at the dinning table, where her body was shaking as if she was under some spell. I was scared I was going to lose her, had no one to call, so I put a call through to her friend Aunt Lisa who promised coming the next day, since It was late already. Mom sustained great injuries, from scratching herself to falling from the chair. All I did was to say a silent prayer, I knew everything wasn't going to be fine.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

I went to bed crying and blaming myself for all that happened to mom, I should have stopped her, I mumbled amidst tears. The late night sobs were gradually replaced by nightmares. She could have upto 4 episodes of nightmare in a night. I gradually wished the sobs returned as the nightmares gradually stole our beautiful sleep.
I and my little brother, we took turns in fanning our mom to sleep as our air conditioner was confiscated.
The following morning, we heard a knock on our door, little kelvin ran to check who it was. Aunt Lisa he screamed out of joy, she was our only hope to get our mom well again. But she was the one who introduced mom into this wasteful lifestyle.
She took out a syringe and a little bottle from her bag, we were all anxious to know the content. She injected the content into my mom's arm, it didn't take long for her to spring back to life. She stood up and chatted with her friend like nothing ever happened.  Aunt Lisa kept some of the injections with mom.

I never wanted knowing the content of the bottle neither its use, as long as mom was fine. My selfish part grew again. Whenever she had mood swings, she injects herself just to get well, she had more syringes than our local medical centre. No more nightmares, no more sobs, the little peace of the night gradually returned.
Mom wasn't still able to do anything, just to stay at home and stab herself at any slight swing. Kevin stayed with mom, while I went into our neighborhood in search of work, since they was no school anymore for me. We barely were able to feed.
He ran to me, gasping for breathe and screaming "mom, mom" . I knew all wasn't well but I never could tell what it was.
On getting home, they was more mom, salivating and making weird noise, I searched for her syringe to give her some shots, for fear she might be too weak to do it herself. I tried few shots but it wasn't working. Had to call 911 and she was rushed to the hospital, I knew we were never going to see her again but we believe she will be fine, when she returns.
I held little kelvin and walked into the house, we had a long night with no late night sobs and  nightmares , but knowing we will be staying without mom, made me sob all through the night.
I wish I was there for her, not allowing aunt Lisa introduce her into the use of drugs, but it was too late.

Here is the link to the first part of the story:

https://read.cash/@Wrinkle/my-mom-is-an-addict-9a2867b3

Moral Boaster

Drug abuse doesn't bring everlasting relieve to anyone, rather than waste your time and life on drugs, visit a a qualified personnel and discuss your life troubles, there is always a way out. Don't do drugs, say no to drug abuse.

Lead image : unsplash.com 

7
$ 3.47
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Shawon130
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

Mother is precious in all the world no one is like her may God bless all the mothers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear, thats why I miss her

$ 0.00
1 year ago