My Childhood Memory: A Memory That Never Fades

15 22
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

No matter how busy I am, I still have to dive into my childhood memories. I do this often, maybe because I am lazy or just love doing it. This week has been so dull, am on vacation, so no work for me. Staying all day at home, watching Netflix and thinking of what to post. While still thinking of what to post, a whole lot of childhood memories flooded my mind. Technology stole the beautiful experence of childhood from the millenial. Childhood they said, is a period where we once were free from broken hearts, empty accounts and having to deal with menstrual cramps. But then I still remember the number of times, mom flogged me for doing something wrong, so childhood wasn't completely an independent period.

Many unforgettable memories of my childhood kept popping up, but am going to streamline mine to a few. I still remember those beautiful moments, when you fall asleep either in the car or sitting room, and you wake up in your bed. They were really cool moments. Most times I pretended to be asleep just to be carried to the bed. I did this often and never knew my dad had noticed it, that faithful night, I pretended to be asleep in the sitting room, hoping dad will carry me to my room. Haha! Dad's next move, made me never to sleep in the couch or inside the car. He knew I was afraid of Cockroaches, he had to pull one near me. I screamed and ran straight to my room. He stood they laughing, I was angry but at the same time knew I was never going to pull the prank on them anymore.

My childhood won't be complete without games I played with my friends and relations, especially my cousins Janice and Rhine. The Tagu-taguan game was so popular in our time, it is also known as the hide and seek game. In the game, players run to hide in places they could not be easily spotted mostly a dark corner. The chief chaser will cover his/her face for players to hide, when he counts to a certain number, he will start looking for players who have gone to hide. Any player caught will be the next chief chaser. Most times, we often wore dull colours, so we could not be easily spotted. The game is fun, when you aren't the one looking for other players.

Tumbang Preso is the next game, I won't forget in a hurry, I still remember the day I lost my Rambbo slippers while playing the game. The aim of the game is for players to hit a can within a certain time frame, and if the player isn't able to do so. The player will be nominated to replace the chief catcher.

unsplash.com

The next game I won't forget was the Langit-lupa chasing game. Though we had a lot of other chasing games but this was the apex of it. In this game, Langit means heaven and lupa means ground. The rule of the game was simple, every player climbs onto something, be it a table, hill or anything, and that was going to be your langit and when the chief chaser shouts 'lupa' everyone will jump down and then look for another langit. And in the process, the chief chaser catches someone who will replace him.

The memories of walking to school with friends is another part of my childhood I can't forget. We moved in groups to school and also return together. I know you must have thought how boring it will be, but it wasn't , we had this game, which have forgotten the name, where the last person to get to the house will marry the tortoise. Haha! So funny, we all will scramble and run as fast as we could to get to the house. Most times I was always the wife of the tortoise, since my house was distant from others.

From the games to the chewables, life was amazing as a kid. I still remember my favorite Bazooka chewing gums and the comic strip story found when we unwrap it. Who still remembers tofi luk, our first chocolate biscuit that everyone wanted a taste of. Then came safari. I don't really want to talk about our foods in this article, maybe in my future article I will discuss about my 20 Filipino childhood food.

unsplash.com

Disyembre which is the Filipino word for December, got us all boxed up, thinking about our new clothes and shoes our parent will get for us. Those colorful sunshade of pink, purple and red colors were my favorite. So in other to get this gift, we had to study hard to pass our exams. Disyembre was a period of seriousness for every student in Philippines, unless you don't want a new dress.

I know you all had an amazing childhood, What is one of the fondest childhood memories ? Share in the comment section below .

Lead image : unsplash.com

6
$ 0.61
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @pejudear
+ 2
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

Your article made me stopped scrolling and dragged me to my old days. Such a beautiful moments we had then. ❤️ Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome dear.. Hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was a fun and colorful childhood, my dear...Are you a half-Filipino or just had your childhood in the Philippines? I am surprised by this article!! Or is this fiction?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spent all my childhood in Philippines, dad worked at the embassy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I didn't expect that, my dear. Hope you can visit the Philippines again someday :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear I will. And when I come, hope to see you my dear friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The memory of walking together in group to school was so fun. We would walk together and return back. There were times we jog to return home when we've stayed late due playing of football 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My elder bro used to play football and whenever he arrives home, dad will flog him. So what he used to do was, to go to school with another wear, aside his school uniform..when he is done playing he will change up and come home. Hahaha childhood was fun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems i was so left behind when it comes to having a fun time with other kids. My parents were so strict that they wouldn't allow us spend a minute outside our house, we were always reading inside or watching educative documentries on the television.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then you missed out of the childhood fun, my parent were also strict but my mom will allow us, play whenever dad had gone to work at the embassy. It was always fun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really missed a lot of that childhood life. No regrets now as i am grown up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My school is also near to my house and the memories I still remember when I used to go with my friends

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never walk with my friends to go to school because we have a school bus. But yeah I play with my street kid and we usually play hide & seek :-) Those are old but Golden days of my life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah they are old but still evergreen in our hearts, I wished to have such experience again but in my after life. I just hope they was something of such

$ 0.00
1 year ago