No One's Really Safe From Them

5 26
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago

⚠️ Trigger Warning ⚠️: Sexual Harassment/ Sexual Assault

I got to hangout with my friends over drinks last week before I left because it was his birthday. There, we exchanged topics and the things that we have experienced. One of which is getting to experience sexual harassment/ sexually assaulted.

No one's really safe from sexual predators --- it can happen to anyone regardless of their gender. And this is not something to be easy with, this should be taken seriously.

Two of my guy friends shared their experiences with me while we were drinking. I'm not going to share it with you guys since it's their personal experience and I do not have the right to discuss it here. But I just want to share how I felt while listening to their stories.

I was disgusted by the things that were done to them. I felt sad. I pitied them. I can see in their eyes and the way they told me their stories that it was a horrible experience, and at that point, I just really want to hug them and cry because I am so sorry for them for experiencing that.

I was mad at the people who did it to them. Who took advantage of them. I love my guy friends so much that I even warned them not to be near those kinds of people again. It is just too sad that they still carry those memories up until now.

I have my experiences of being sexually harassed. It was terrible, I felt helpless at that very moment. And I can definitely share it with you guys since it is my own story.

I have had two experiences where I felt sexually harassed and assaulted. The first one was the time that I worked for the municipal mayor's office for my summer job. I don't know if I have shared it already here but it was the time when my co-worker was being too clingy and playful. He was so touchy with my body and it was an uncomfortable experience.

I know there are instances where guys would play around and touch each other's private parts in a joking way but it's not really comfortable at all times. I am part of a community where some people would see us as someone who would take advantage of those kinds of plays. But I'm not really that kind of person. Most of the time, I do not fight back and just leave the place.

The second and last one was when I used the public comfort room in the bus terminal. It has been my habit to pee before boarding the bus because I don't want to feel the uncomfortable feeling of having to pee while traveling to my destination.

I was already minding my own business when I noticed that the guy next to me was staring at my private part. Maybe some of you might think that I could just use the other urinal, but that time, it was so crowded that the gentleman's rule of one cubicle apart was not followed.

Upon noticing that the guy was staring, I hurriedly had to pause my own business and left the comfort room. I just moved to the other comfort room that was in the other wing to continue peeing. It was just too uncomfortable having been able to experience that.

Final thoughts 💭

Sexual predators are everywhere. Be safe and be vigilant at all times with your surroundings. Do not trust any stranger with your life especially in your most vulnerable times. No one's safe from them and you should always remember that.

Praying for everyone's healing who have suffered from this. Be strong and don't let what happened to you affect how you chase your dreams and how you see your worth. Your body is still beautiful. Your body is YOU.


Author's Note:

I hope this article brings life that men also experience being sexually harassed and sexually assaulted. Thank you for taking time to read this. Always be safe! XOXO.

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my previous blogs:

Lead Image

6
$ 2.10
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago

Comments

Sexual harassment is everywhere talaga nuh, kahit nga relatives mo minsan di mo na rin mapapagkatiwalaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

no one is safe from sexual harassment talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, kaya all we have to do is to be extra careful from the people around us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayst buds ingat na lang palagi at wag mahihiyang mag sumbong hays ulet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa true buds pero di rin naman kasi natin masisisi kung di sila mag sumbong, baka kaso nahihiya na din sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago