Unschooling Notes, Part 1: Principal Suggests Unmasked Kids Shouldn't Talk

9 112
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
3 years ago

Well, I figure I'll keep a kind of basic record of my unschooling journey with my son here. I am not the model unschooling parent -- far from it -- but I'm doing my best to allow my son to grow up unencumbered by the dimwit programming and toxic shaming societies readily foist onto children.

Recently, due to financial/economic constraints my wife and I both decided that after years of unschooling/freeschooling here in Japan, my son would need to enter the public school so we both could work. The corona madness has made it difficult to gather students for our small language school.

There is no unschooling community where we are to help with things like this. No support network. This is how the state wants it, by the way. This is how states want things across the globe. The village that helps to raise each other's children is the ultimately the enemy. Everyone must be atomized and made dependent on the centrally approved teat, as it were.

Things have gotten pretty dim...

To cut to the chase of this entry: the school where my boy was going to go did an abrupt about face (no pun intended) and said he would need to wear a mask at school, last minute. This had not been an issue up to this point, when he had gone there to "try it out" one day a week. But now, just before he was set to start, we get a phone call saying the mask is a necessity.

On the phone with the principal I couldn't believe how the guy pushed the issue. "Our son cannot wear a mask. He cannot breathe." Principal suggests clear face/chinrest visor. "He doesn't like things on his face." Principal protests that he wears helmets sometimes for safety in sports, etc, right? We ask why it is a problem if he is unmasked, and can they make an exception.

Dude honestly says: your son can be unmasked, but then he won't be allowed to talk. Because of particles coming from his mouth.

I suggest to him this is child abuse. Principal laughs.

This is the level of derp we are dealing with, folks.

Needless to say, my son isn't going to school. It's not a easy road, but it is worth it. And I am going to do my best. I'm also focusing more on writing and content creation now, so please check out my stuff on various social media as Voluntary Japan. Thank you for your support!

-Graham

10
$ 102.14
$ 102.00 from @MarcDeMesel
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
3 years ago

Comments

Perhaps this is just merely task or what we called protocols imposed in many countries. For the safety of everyone and I thinks it is a legit practices to keep kids safe to wear mask before talking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can't believe that whole world goes mad in fear of a more or less harmless virus. If you check statistics is even ridiculous. But with logic has this insanity nothing more to do. Two years ago I had still hope in humanity as long there more and more anarchists and voluntaryists. Since last year I'm convinced there is NO hope. >95% will ever act brainless because of fear and make other people lives hell.

What is the sense of not living your life to avoid to die - even more while it is SURE you gonna die, like everybody else! Everybody will die, the only difference some lived their lives before. Doing what you are told and repeating BS like a robot is having no live. But well, who cares, I don't give anymore a $h1+ about people making other peoples lives a hell. I dream from TAZ and the 1-5% still sane in their head, living far away and separate from this insanity. Statists are the opposite of 42! I can't take them anymore!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My son cannot breathe. Even mainstream sources maintain the virus is not so dangerous for children. We own our bodies. The schools do not. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This contradicts your own beliefs, as you believe that all interactions must be consensual. Your son is free to not wear a mask. Other people (businesses, establishments, etc.) are free to not consent to interactions with your son or his presence of the premises. The principal of the school is protecting the right of the children's guardians (as children themselves are not empowered to give or not give consent) to not consent, on behalf of their children, to the presence of what they see as a danger - your unmasked son. Whether your child is in fact a danger or not is irrelevant, because the important part is that they see him as such and not consent as a result.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This place looks like a better version of narrative.org. I'm intrigued!

My children are still doing RPC online, but it is self-paced. One is far ahead, one is on schedule, and my youngest is struggling to keep up. He's just not interested. I'm letting them go at their own pace but encouraging them too.

The mask mandates are getting absurd. This is one reason I'm reconsidering NH and looking again at Texas. Texas has lifted all the stupid emergency orders, and there are no longer any mask mandates there either. I know Florida is like that too, but I'm not moving there for other reasons...

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Read is pretty cool. I like it so far.

That's great about the RPC. Yep, the unschooling way is all about letting kids develop at their own pace. Like A.S. Neill, founder of Summerhill school said, if a child learns to read finally at age 12, or at age three, both of them can read. Development happens in other areas, and uniquely for each individual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have different health protocols.Here in our country still children not allowed to go to school.Keep safe and everything will be fine. Ohhh actually i am also newbie here in readcash let support each other.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep safe. Hmmm. We are. And that safety entails keeping my son happy and socializing with others and breathing ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago