Why I Discard Mobile-Only Apps

21 126
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
  • I am not a fan of mobile-only applications, including cryptocurrency wallets.

Whatever the quality of the cryptocurrency application, if the software can't be installed or accessed using a desktop or laptop computer, I don't like it.

  • I avoid cryptocurrency and other service applications that force verification through a smartphone and QR Code.



Why I don't like mobile-only apps.

Mobile apps are data funnels to collect personal and private data.

When you use your smartphone app to scan a QR Code and continue to pay money, you accept to embrace the vulnerabilities of data harvesting and hacking.

The smartphone app stores of Apple and Google don't guarantee there wouldn't be any security loopholes in the mobile apps you download and install.


Be careful about mobile apps.

  • Install only the very essential mobile apps.

  • Do not always keep mobile apps logged in, especially for financial services.

  • Mobile apps can access the entire mobile device, including the camera, microphone, folders, files, address book, etc.

  • Mobile apps are data funnels to track and collect users’ private data.

  • Uninstall the mobile apps which you do not need anymore.


Conclusion

  • Many friends and family sometimes laugh at my apathy about using smartphones for financial transactions.

  • Smartphones take you to a convenience that can be carried while you travel and make payments outside your home or hotel room.

It is also true that mobile apps can access the entire mobile device, including the camera, microphone, folders, files, address book, etc.

Mobile apps are data funnels to collect users' private data including security credentials for financial services, such as credit card numbers, mnemonic seed phrases of cryptocurrency wallets, etc.

Data hackers and governments take advantage of our love for smartphone use.


Postscript

  • I don't use software applications that don't support web applications.

  • That is why I haven't yet used mobile wallet services with the Indian government's Universal Payment Interface (UPI).

  • The same reason prevents me from installing the Zapit app because they don't have any web app for using it on a desktop or laptop computer!

"I have to use an application only on a smartphone" is not acceptable to me.


{Sponsor information for this article}

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  I created a GIF using my title texts and a photo by Matheus Bertelli.

All other images are either drawn/created/screenshots by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#cybersecurity #internet #computers #smartphones #technology

Nov 16, 2022

19
$ 2.72
$ 1.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 15
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I kind of disagree. There’s no reason this does t happen on desktop apps either. In fact, in many cases it’s worse because there’s no checks and balances for systems where sideloading is rife.

But take for example apps that appear on iOS. If you turn on Private Relay and AppTracking then apps can’t track you because Apple screws up the data that apps would use to track you. You don’t get this protection on webpages because pages can circumvent these protects, although Safari does have some real smarts to circumvent the circumventers.

Desktop apps are notorious for foul behaviour and I spent 18 years of my life sorting the end results of bad apps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enjoy having your choices.

Accessing any application through a web interface is clean without any software apps to be installed. One only needs a web browser and no additional apps. On mobile also, one can use a platform via web browsers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes but you’re making the claim that mobile apps are privacy holes and insecure. However a web app is far less secure and it’s largely up to the web browser to provide the security.

There is no such thing as a secure computer or cellphone these days so just choose what works for you is what I’m saying.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not considering an app image (web or mobile). I am considering accessing the web using a web browser. The threat depends on how much safety the browser can offer and how much the website's scripts can penetrate the users' devices without broadcasting.

I am more to researching the security of browsers and mobile apps. Thanks for your engagement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also against downloading this app. I flashed my mobile yesterday. So that all the bad apps I have are removed. Because I'm fed up with these apps. And some of my important information goes to my hacker friend through this app. So I don't believe in downloading different apps. In fact, everyone needs to be careful in order to have time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you agree that mobile apps are data funnels to collect data :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never looked at this way but that totally makes sense.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take care while using a mobile app.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I will definitely agree with you on this, our data is secured with a thin thread in those mobile apps. So many loopholes and vulnerability in this app based system, it seems very scary that if used wrongly. It can be very destructive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mobile apps are easy ways to hack and loot funds by stealing confidential personal data, including banking credentials.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With the advancement of technology day by day, we are becoming vulnerable with what little information we share virtually.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Technology advancement gives convenience and associated data hacking threats.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also don't like to use any application that I cannot use on my computer. Only mobile-only apps can be used on computers, but I usually avoid mobile-only apps.

Yes, mobile apps can take your private data and violate your privacy. I try to minimize mobile apps on my phone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mobile apps are sweet spots for hackers to steal financial credentials as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are very true. Mobile apps are always given access to important sections of the phone or computer such as access to location, camera, contact list and do on.

For me, I prefer using a web version to apps.

As a matter of fact, mobile apps consume large storage space

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, mobile apps require large storage space. I avoid mobile-only apps because of their vulnerability.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree totally. You and I are thinking alike in these matters. And don't forget to mention clearly that any app that gets access to microphone and camera, can record you and take photos of you (if not videos).Not only what you do on the phone,it can survey the environment around the phone when you have it just in the same room. I don't say that all apps go that far,but the risk is there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I appreciate your valuable time in writing a resonating comment. Yes, we agree on cybersecurity, data privacy, and device usage issues.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything is aimed at us using the mobile for everything, a great dependency that can be dangerous, everything has to have an appropriate use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Data hackers and governments take advantage of our love for smartphone use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes here government announced to control smartphones "to analyze how citizens move".... we give them too much control of us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago