Why I am Not a Fan of Mobile Apps

30 207
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Mobile apps collect users' personal and private data.

When you install a mobile app, the program doesn't only collect the SIM information, it requires mandatory permission for access to the entire mobile device.

You cannot install a mobile app on your mobile phone without permitting full access to your mobile phone device, including the camera, microphone, folders, files, messages, history of the web browser, etc.

  • Mobile apps are basically data collecting funnels to collect users' personal and private data. In worst cases, mobile apps may also modify files and folders, and execute a lot of actions, such as sending messages and emails.

Criminals can even pre-program mobile apps to carry out continuous surveillance of the users' daily activities. In short, mobile apps may be considered holes through which users' personal and private information may be stolen/leaked.


Precautions to be taken while installing mobile apps

  • When you install a mobile app, be sure that it is an authentic software application designed and released by the company.

  • Never download and install mobile apps from a third-party website that is not recognized by global Internet users.

  • It is good if the mobile app opts for you to check/uncheck permission access boxes, such as camera, microphone, etc.

  • If the mobile app requires full access without opting for any individual permission for the camera, microphone, etc. access, you should think twice about whether to install it or not.

Install only those mobile apps that you really need to use for performing some very important work.

  • Uninstall all mobile apps which you don't require.


Postscript

Many people install mobile apps in the blink of an eye. They don't have time to verify the sources and the purpose. Criminals make use of these lapses.

  • When I buy a new smartphone, the first thing I do is uninstall the unnecessary mobile apps. I keep only a very few mobile apps that I really require.

Mobile apps may do real harm to users.

  • Big and small companies collect personal data using the data collecting funnels of their mobile apps and sell them in the market.

  • Today, money laundering news in West Bengal. India connected to fraud mobile gaming apps have surfaced.

I hope you won't get any harm through your favorite mobile apps.


Sponsor of this article:-

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  I created a GIF using my title texts, and photos by David Švihovec and Tobias Tullius on Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#cybersecurity #mobileapps #dataprivacy #datasecurity #internet

Sep 10, 2022

20
$ 3.50
$ 2.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 11
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hello. I am a mobile application developer and what you are commenting on is now quite closely watched (especially the fact that malicious applications are made to steal your data). For this reason, applications should always be downloaded directly from the stores (Apple Store, which is the one I develop for, controls all this quite a bit and even forces developers to indicate what type of information they collect from users). Avoid alternative 'stores' or those sites that allow you to download hacked apps to avoid being able to pay for them, as these are likely to give you trouble. Also, when applications have to make use of certain capabilities (microphone, camera, GPS...) they have to request permission.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate your valuable time and comment.

Problem is that Apple has a bad reputation for having unauthorized access to users' iPhone devices. Mobile apps from Apple and Google's app stores also have data funnels.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right, this warning is absolutely justified. For myself, I hardly use mobile apps, and I am very careful with those few I do use. I have a firewall as well and keep apps blocked while I am not using them. I open for them only while I actively use them. Then don't give any permission not explicitly needed for the app's function and DO NOT permit it to use background data.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is good that you are well aware and take necessary safeguarding for mobile apps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I literally have trust issues when it comes to online surfing since I'm a privacy conscious person. It's annoying that they are collecting those info haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Big and small companies collect personal data via their mobile apps and sell it in the market.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone needs to be aware of this. Nowadays everyone uses smartphones and installs a lot of mobiles. I also install apps and uninstall them if I find them unnecessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad to know that you uninstall unnecessary mobile apps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed all the apps are not harmful but the thing is that we should download it from the right source and the best one is Google play store

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mobile apps from Google or Appl's app stores guarantee no hacking issues!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very afraid, although I am very careful about it. Because any spyware can steal all our information. And this has happened to me in the past few months. I clicked on a link absentmindedly and the Shiba coin and Bitcoincash in my Trustwallet were stolen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The topic of this article is different! Have you read it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I read and understood the article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊✌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, not all app are harmful, if the company or developer of the app shall be checked before installing. And apps shall not be downloaded from third party website, but reputed platform, especially suggested by the operating system.

I will add one thing here, if possible rating of the app & some reviews shall also be checked especially the recent one

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Problems also arise in mobile apps downloaded from Apple and Google app stores. Apple and Google don't take any responsibility for hacking activities in mobile apps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is why I said rating and reviews to be checked

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the type that doesn't go well with downloading mobile apps from site, if I'm not directed to playstore I'm not downloading. Scammers are smart on these pattern

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apps from Playstore also got data-hacking issues.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really sad when an application take permission for our personal data in mobile. Moreover, they traced all activities done by our mobile. I hope there will be strong prohibition on these types of applications.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is no way out. Unfortunately, most mobile apps are data-collecting funnels:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mobile have all personal data and if someone access your mobile that mean he/she have all the details about you which he can use for blackmailing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They do farm data and have access to it, but one can simply not download untrusted apps.

My first thought was "The tiny screen and functions?!"

I use Samsung DEX a -lot-

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Protecting data privacy and security in mobile apps will be more challenging in the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why we have security/os updates.

Better yet, as an old hacker proverb "The best anti-virus is common sense."

Quoting Voltaire, "Common sense is not so common."

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, common sense to strengthen personal cybersecurity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are a lot of mobile apps that are not safety my friend that's why we should always be careful. I hope everyone can be aware of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, take care of your mobile apps:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend I will. Thank you. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago