What is Your Primary Operating System Software?

9 128
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Computers can't live or run without operating system software.

We need an operating system software to run computers.

  • We must be cautious in choosing an operating system for our computers.

What type of OS do our computers need?

  • The answer is straightforward.

Our computers need operating systems that minimize problems like viruses and malware.


GNU/Linux is a stable operating system software.

  • In 1999, I decided to try GNU/Linux operating system for my desktop computer. It was one of the most remarkable experiments I did in my computing life.

  • Then, I applied for a Japanese Government Scholarship which I received. I was in Tokyo, Japan, between Oct 2000 and Mar 2002. In Japan, I purchased my first laptop in the year 2001. It was an IBM Thinkpad. At that time, IBM used to sell laptop computers.

  • I also tried GNU/Linux on my laptop. In the beginning, it was a dual-boot. Since 2002, I discarded the proprietary Windows OS. Then, Linux became, by default, OS on the desktop and the laptop.


What is your primary operating system (OS) for your computers?

  • Most people use Windows OS because most computer vendors sell preinstalled computers with proprietary Windows OS.

  • Apple has its computer devices with its proprietary Mac OS.

What is the primary OS for your computers?

  • Proprietary Windows OS?

  • Proprietary Mac OS?

  • Open source GNU/Linux OS?


About me (Unity, aka, Debesh Choudhury)

Image Source

I am a practitioner of STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics), and I have always smelled security holes in blockchains and other distributed ledgers. But, the innovations in distributed computing are worth experimenting with in real-life use cases.

  • I create password security and cybersecurity solutions relevant to cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and blockless distributed ledgers.

Review my blogs here if you have some time abundance.

I wish that the entire blogging community will strive here and elsewhere.


If you have time, explore my video channels.

Image Source

TwitchDebesh Choudhury.
OdyseeLearning TimesDebesh ChoudhuryMusic, Film, etc.
YouTubeLearning TimesDebesh Choudhury.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2023 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at

YouTube, TwitchCashRainOdyseeLinkedInTwitterPublish0x, ReadCash, NoiseApp, and Facebook.

Earn passive income by sharing unused Internet bandwidth on Honeygain and Peer2Profit.

Lead Image:  Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created/screenshots by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#computers #operatingsystems #software #linux #windows #mac

Jan 28, 2023

6
$ 0.24
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 2
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Since I bought a Mac, I'm completely satisfied with MacOS, including the variety of software, apps and utilities available for download https://setapp.com/app-reviews/macos-utilities. Perhaps the first thing I did was install CleanMyMac X, which I had just read about in the article to monitor the free space on your Mac and delete unnecessary files in a timely manner.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

Thanks for sharing about your choice of OS.

$ 0.00
1 month ago

My primary operating system software is the one that serves as the backbone of my digital experience. It acts as an interface between hardware and applications, enabling seamless communication and functionality. Check https://magicalkatrina.com/magiciansblog/what-its-like-to-be-a-television-magician-in-los-angeles and manage your magic easily. Whether it's Windows, macOS, Linux, or another OS, its reliability, user-friendliness, and software compatibility are crucial for a smooth computing journey, tailored to my preferences and needs.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Linux (debian). Using Windows or OSX in these ages in a mission critic environment is the recipe for bankruptcy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Debian GNU/Linux is also my OS choice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm currently using Windows. I haven't used Linux yet. Can one laptop computer be for Windows and Linux? I have no knowledge in this area.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you can install multiple OS on a single computer. Before switching to GNU/Linux in 1999, I used my laptop with Windows and GNU/Linux OS, installed as dual-boot. A bootloader opts for the OS at the time of boot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Windiws still the number 1 operating system use in the world even the android, the reason is that for me it is user friendly and easy adopt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is so because all computer vendors sell their computers with preinstalled Windows OS.

As of today, GNU/Linux is the most user-friendly OS with super security features.

$ 0.00
1 year ago