I got a speedy service from the electric supply

25 144
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Utility, Electricity, Bills, Error, ...

Did you ever receive a very high electric bill?

I overlooked the exact amount when I received the electric bill for the July-Sept 2022 quarter. It appeared as about INR 3500. I thought it was okay to pay it later before the due date.

When I actually tried to make the payment on the web portal of the state electric supply, I was surprised to discover that the exact bill amount was INR 35000 plus. It is unbelievable. It can never be so high!

Our annual electricity consumption is never that high. So, I decided to complain. I visited the local electric supply office and handed a handwritten application.


I lodged a handwritten complaint at the electric supply office.

  • I went to the local electric supply office the day before yesterday. The officer in charge, i.e., the Station Manager of the local electric supply office, was a young lady. I could knock at the door and get permission to enter for a conversation.

I handed over my application for a complaint about an erroneous electric bill. She patiently listened and started inspecting the case on the computer. She agreed that the number of meter units (which was 4000+ units) was staggeringly high.

  • The station manager advised me to submit the complaint application in the receiving section and take a receipt. She said she would come with the technical staff to check the electrical energy meter the next day. Before that, she verified if I could be at home the next day.

I submitted the handwritten complaint to the receiving section of the electric supply office and took a stamped and signed complaint submission number on a photocopy of the complaint.


Today afternoon, the officer came with three technical staff to check the electrical energy meter.

Today afternoon, I received a phone call from an unknown number around 3:30 PM. When I received it, somebody spoke, "We are from the electric supply office. Please give the direction on how to come to your house. We will check your meter."

Within about fifteen minutes, the person again phoned and reconfirmed the exact location of our apartment building. I was standing on the balcony of our third-floor flat. I saw two people waving hands. I also waved, and almost shouted, "Are you from the electric supply?"

I got down and opened the main gate. Four persons entered. One was having a laptop in one hand. They found a shoe rack near the door of the ground floor flat. They kept the laptop computer on the shoe rack and started to download the electronic meter data from our electrical energy meter.


The software couldn't download any meter data, but they are knowledgeable and expert in checking errors.

The electrical energy meter was a 2010 model, and the recent software couldn't download the meter data! This is a ploy the electronic gadget companies often do. They stop supporting older models, and force the clients to buy new devices!

  • The technical staff members were skilled in serving such problems. So, they physically inspected the meter unit data and tallied it with the electric bill data.

  • They discovered that the meter reading staff made a mistake while capturing the meter reading. Instead of capturing the consumed meter unit reading, the meter reading staff captured the consumed kWh (kilowatt hour) data.

  • Incidentally, the number of kWh is large and doesn't correlate with the earlier meter unit reading. And, incidentally, it resulted in a large number of meter unit readings, which is not a meter unit reading.

The visiting station manager and her technical staff members could find the sources of error and noted down the actual meter unit reading to date (which is aapprosimately 800 units). They will manually generate a bill up to today, and deliver it to me within a couple of weeks.

Why would it take two weeks? Because it has to be approved manually by a senior officer in the divisional office.

Image Source


I am super satisfied with the service of the electric supply.

  • The lady officer and her associate technical staff members solved the issue by finding out the sources of errors in the meter readings.

  • They recorded the meter reading to date and promised a corrected electric bill within a couple of weeks.

I am very satisfied with the service of the local electric supply office.

  • In India, getting services from a government-owned office is not easy. At least, my earlier experiences confirm it. But, today's experience has changed my views.

  • The services solely depend on the dedication, honesty, skills, and willingness of the officers and the service staff members to serve the people.

  • The government's facility and policy have a small role to play. Of course, if the government gives better facilities, the services can be much improved.


Sponsor of this article:-

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  A Screenshot from Wikipedia.

All other images are either drawn/created by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#utility #service #electricity

Aug 05, 2022

17
$ 2.73
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.20 from @Ling01
+ 7
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Utility, Electricity, Bills, Error, ...

Comments

Getting service from government owned offices is worse in my country, there is negligence every way. A lot of incompetent civil servants.

But cases such as yours brings hope that things might be better

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This was a huge error, i.e., a VERY high electric bill. The Station Manager of the local electric supply office appears to be very prompt in physically checking the electric meter with the technical staff members. The team identified the error and took the necessary action to correct the electric bill to date manually. I am very much surprised and so far satisfied.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah. You are lucky they detected it and promised to fix it. Trust me, it can't happen here especially in Lagos. The first 3 months I got to my place here, I was given a crazy bill every month and I'm talking about rough figure of $150. At that time, the only thing I had in the house was freezer... I hadn't even gotten the ACs yet. They finally brought Pre-paid meter which saved me but still, I had to keep clearing the arrears of their exorbitant fee which they didn't fix.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The quality of government utility services is terrible everywhere in third-world nations. I never had such prompt service from the local electric supply department. The officer and the technical staff members who came to detect the meter flaws were also very polite. They even referred to the present scam in our state government and commented that they would try to serve the people with whatever limited facilities they have. The spirit is commendable. I understood that the governments are somehow running by honest services of a small part of the staff members.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are so right.

I must say I admire the integrity of these ones because they understand. We need more honest people like them to make the difference in that sector.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This happened with my grandma, since no one is staying in their house in province then she decided to open it for rent, but to our surprise when those people check the amount of electricity bill, they ask for a bigger amount, really big that it seems like the bill of a mansion house. I don't know if it's just a mistake about reading or they want to fool my grandma. Still my father and his other siblings will check about it.

Btw, thank you so much for your renewal. GOD Bless!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

The quality of service of every government utility is worse in our country. It is one of the rarest occasions of my life that the Station Manager of the local electric supply office served me so promptly. I was astonished but happy and appreciated their dedication to duties.

I appreciate your valuable time and support.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same story happened to us once. We have to pay monthly electric bill here and every month one person comes to write the meter unit. Our monthly electricity bill is around 200-300. Tk. But suddenly 630 tk came in one month. Which was not supposed to come. But we have not filed any complaint for this. But next month when he was coming to write the electricity bill, I came to know that it was his negligence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You (we) must check the bills and complain if necessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes You are Right. After that day on I do cheak every time when it comes to writing the electricity bill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my country we all are receiving very high bills, but because companies have ties with politicians really... anyway, good if your experience was good. We are changing company at least despite regulations and corruption still some are cheaper than others.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This time I am surprised by the prompt service to find the problem and provide a solution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it's really a surprise when things seem to work... we see more the difference in that "exceptional" situation not as expected, good for you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Specifically, the officer and the staff members commented in front of me openly, "Our office may not give the best facility. But, we will try to do our work." I was very much impressed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow that's the attitude! More people like this...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I face this lot of time . In fact, our electric -bills are more than many times for our absurdity. Use energy efficient electrical appliances friends . and Turn off the power after finishing work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I know it. The title says something. But, inside the article, I wrote about the prompt services I received today from the electric supply officer and staff members. Please read it before commenting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

So, I have modified a more appropriate title.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't had a good experience with our government electric department as had to knock their doors two times to register our electric meter when it was changed for the newer model which took more than 45 days.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. I had bitter experiences too. But, this time, they came immediately to solve our problems and found the sources of errors. The Station Manager personally coming with three technical staff members is a new experience for me! That too almost immediately upon my complaint!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our electrical bills is quite much too, but we are trying to collect prepaid meter for better efficiency

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can check if any energy is wasted or leaked somewhere in the household. A prepaid meter can put you in more trouble in case of emergency need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a way, we have stylishly do it that, we can use direct electricity and then use prepaid as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Please read the article before commenting. In the article, I detailed how good service is provided by willing staff and officers of the electric supply to find out the flaws and faults in the electrical energy meter readings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago