Create Your Real Virtual Identity With Videos

Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

Presence over cyberspace is a default option today.

The Internet gives an easy way to explore the globe. You can browse and search. There is so much information to scan through. Education has been boosted tremendously by the Internet.

I see people often post texts as well as their photos and videos on social media.

People write and publish text blogs here and elsewhere. They also post micro-blogs on social media, such as LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, NoiseCash, and on their own blogging platforms.


Why do people post media files in addition to the texts?

Some people post images to brag about their earthly possessions and position. Those are the most popular posts on Facebook. People click and write short "awesome" comments.

They capture selfies and videos to upload on social media. In effect, these self-captured videos may remain as real evidence of how they appear on the videos.

In my opinion, these snapshots are informative about their real-world presence. These videos may reflect a lot of characteristics and traits of their real persona.


You can utilize videos for evaluating your personal identity

It is pretty simple. It is something like capturing your selfie photo but for a purpose. I will ask you to go one step further. Record a self video and watch it. The recording quality should be decent, not perfect.

  • You can utilize your camera phone or any decent webcam inbuilt with your laptop or use an off-the-shelf digital camera.

  • When you look at your video, you get a chance to look at yourself from others' viewpoints. In my opinion, it is a straightforward way of self-assessment of your presence in the real world.

In other words, recording and self-assessing your own videos provide you with an opportunity to evaluate your personal identity from others' perspectives. It is as good as looking at yourself from third persons' eyes.


Publish your videos and get feedback

  • Now, to get feedback from a wider audience, you may upload the video to a video platform. The next step is to share it with your online community and friends.

  • Let people see it and offer you feedback. Don't shy away to get frank opinions. Use their reviews to improve your future videos. Also, reply to their comments and get additional suggestions.

In this way, your real-world identity may be projected virtually to cyberspace.

  • Your video is now your virtually published real identity.

So, this is my tip on "How to connect your virtual and the real identity using a few videos from the real world." Those videos may be self-captured or shot by a family member, relative or a friend.


Examples of my videos from the past

Like many others, I am not an extroverted person. Despite my introverted persona, I took the challenge of publishing my videos.

  • It was a pleasant February day of 2018 when my LinkedIn friend Lynda Spiegel visited Kolkata, India, with her friend Irit. We had lunch in my elder sister's home. After lunch, we went to the terrace. Lynda suggested recording a short video. I was too naive. Still, it was recorded by my nephew with his digital SLR camera. You can hear birds chirping and other noise in the video!

Video 01: "2018 Feb 18 Lynda Spiegel Debesh Choudhury Unfluencer Face to Face Kolkata India."

  • Later, I posted another short video in 2019 along with my student, who quit his outstanding IT job to start an educational startup. The video was recorded with a camera phone in the entrepreneurial hub of the Indian Institute of Management campus in Kolkata. It was posted on LinkedIn. I can't locate it right now. I will post it as soon as I can locate it.

I will post this video later (please bear with me until I can locate it).

  • Then, during the third quarter of 2020, I thought to self-record a video with a hotshot digital camera placed on a tripod. I shared the video with my LinkedIn friends, who are experts in vlogging. I received excellent feedback. My video recording was shared on Odysee only in Feb 2021.

Video 02: "Do You Have a Virtually Real Profile on Social Media?"

  • In December 2022, I thought to start appearing on Live videos. I started a "Podcast Window" on December 22, 2022, with the interface of LinkedIn Live and simultaneously on Facebook. The fourth edition was on "Personal Branding" with Jennifer Grant, a Brand Expert from Canada.

Video 03: Podcast Window" with Debesh Choudhury - Episode 4: Jennifer Grant - "Personal Branding."

By this time, you might have noticed that @Unity is my blogging identity here and my real-world identity is known by the name Debesh Choudhury. I have bearded image on my passport and all government identities. Jennifer Grant advised me to update all my profile photod to a bearded brand image, which is also an appearance I am more comfortable with.

It is clear that unless I continue to appear on videos regularly, my personal brand will be subdued under the plenty of footsteps of other professionals.


Create your real virtual identity with videos

  • Capture short videos with any camera, by self or by a third person.

  • Please share it on your personal creator's space, website, social media, and elsewhere.

  • Link your real-world identity with your virtual profile.

  • Create your real virtual identity with these videos.

  • Get reviewers from the community and peers.

  • Improve your digital profile and align it with your real-world identity.

  • Intensify your personal brand image in cyberspace.


Refer to my earlier article, "Personal Branding."

Acknowledgment: The idea of this post came to my mind while writing a comment on a recent article, "Have you wished you were someone else?" by @Ellehcim Although, it is incidental, anyway I wish to thank her.


Postscript

I am from Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). I have added "Arts" and "Fine Art" to my interests. So, my current interests become STEAM - Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics.

I create new solutions for passwords and cybersecurity relevant to blockchain and cryptocurrency.

Check my writing communities:

Thanks to all my sponsors, whose names appear in the "Sponsor" pannel.

I wish all members of the blogging community strive here and elsewhere.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cash, publish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image: I created an animated GIF image with my text title, and a Photo by Ivan Samkov from Pexels.

All other graphics and videos are credited just below it.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

March 28, 2022.

25
$ 4.47
$ 3.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @SolarPhasing
$ 0.10 from @AnonSunamun
+ 18
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

So you are not only a blogger, but a vlogger too.. Great!. Keep it up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Lately, I have been trying to appear on videos. It is a very slow approach, though :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wanna try vlogging, but I am a shy potato. Thanks for the mention! 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When I can do it, everybody can do it. I was the most introverted among my friends in college. I am still hesitant to appear on videos. My trembling voice and fragile English construction are proof. Despite I have started to stream live videos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the same comment big channels have tried nung nagsisimula pa lang sila magvlog.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wowwww, talaga, so ibig sabihin, mawawala rin hiya ko over time? Hahaha, sana.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo 😂, introvert people sabi nga nila e may pagkareserve. Pag gamay na tska na hala bira sa pagvvlog. Madami naman ganyan, nasa sayo kung anong genre and style gagawin mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey brother Unity, just saw this blog with videos and I remember the recent article "My Bitcoin Cash Journey: From 2021" where I included my youtube video and Emilia's too.

Branding in every social platform is a fun task because people can know our character/personal brand apart from theirs. The uniqueness and expression is opening our mind wide that in this globe, there are different cultures that we can collide with and thrive in a network of diversity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Will you like to join a video chat in my "Postcast Window?"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super and awesome! I like you joining this article and highlighting the importance of video creation in vloggers' brand images in their personal and professional lives. Thank you again!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really a nice idea to earn and make our identity by our own content. We may share our talent with the world. I am looking forward for cooking video blogging

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Creating contents is an opportunity that every gagdet user can do now and get rewards from expressing thy brand or light self.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad to have your positive comment. I look forward to seeing your videos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your article my friend Unity is so great. Like a video its amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very familiar with tiktok users. I have friends that records video on a daily basis just to put on their tiktok handles, and they're very good in it. But me? Nop, I haven't posted any video of me online, unless it's photo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am aware of users of TikTok; they post short videos in somewhat mocking/funny ways. I refer to short/long and meaningful videos about one's work and life. It aims to build a real virtual identity on professional and social media platforms.

I appreciate your frank comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know much about videos and I'm also very shy... but undoubtedly video is one of the most popular format nowadays.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, video is an impactful media format. Live video is dynamic and can bring consumers inside a communication thread.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now I see the face behind the name, Unity, it's nice to see you. :) I must confess I'm still a little shy, but this piece is certainly encouraging me to move towards openness. Thank you for this. Have a great day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you have joined to see the connection of real-world identity to the virtual space. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha I'm looking forward to try this, too shy guy whenever I face camera. Overall honestly I wanted to develop this speaking skill where I convey my thoughts through a video nicely. During the Pandemic days, I tried for one two days. But later forgotten about it. Don't want to fall in that self expressing field with others. Because that's how we connect better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Please try appearing on videos. Record and analyze. It doesn't cost anything other than time and grit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been writing but I haven't really done any video infront of camera talking, hmm maybe I'll try to do it one day haha

Nice to see you professor 😃

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate your comment. I appreciate your time. I guess you may appear on videos about any topic on cryptos or even in front of your budding shop. People will like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha about the shop, will it's doing well but nothing exciting.. I'll make one of this days a video of myself, thanks for inspiring. At least people will hear me talking haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just record a couple of minutes of video and share. Your community will like it and give feedback.

$ 0.00
2 years ago