Focus, Distractions, Believe, and Excuses

Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Focus

Focus is a trainable skill that you can build. It is a skill that everyone needs to be successful in life. When you are focused, it means you are present and living in the moment, full of intention and purpose.

When we train our focus and bring it to a higher level we are setting ourselves up for success in life. The more we train this skill the better we get at it. The more you exercise your focus the stronger it becomes.

We all need focus because we all strive to increase our productivity and create an effective work rhythm that helps us get real work done.

But all too often we get distracted and loose focus. We are pulled away by notifications, phone calls, and emails. We have to multi-task, switch between many different tasks and projects.

Distraction

Distractions are things that can take our concentration away or make us loose focus when doing a particular task. We can't eliminate all distractions, because some are unpredictable and impromptu but we can put things in place to reduce how often we get distracted.

Distractions waste your time twice. First, when they happen by taking your attention away from the thing you need to do. Secondly, when you've finished dealing with them and you wish you hadn't been distracted in the first place because you have to spend time getting back into the flow of work.

Believe

No matter who you are, when you study a craft over a long period of time; you get good at it.

The thing is, most people don't just begin a new endeavour and become masters of their craft right away.

Most people have to work hard at it. They have to learn to master a few key concepts, one by one. They have to get good at specific skills, then put them together. They then have to fight the urge to be or settle for average, or not be inclined to look for ways to get better.

The thing is, we are our own worst enemies when it comes to achieving mastery. That's because we're often our own biggest critics.

To get good at something, you have to believe it's possible for yourself. You have to believe that you can do it. And given that belief, you often can.

Excuses

I am sure you are familiar with sentences like

"I'm running late."

"No one will buy it."

"It's too expensive".

All are examples of excuses. Excuses are the hurdle that stops you from achieving your goals, that stops you from making a change. That stops you from really going for it.

The truth is, excuses are a universal thing. They're a shared experience amongst us all. The difference is that some people use their shared experience as motivation while others turn to excuses and blame someone else.

The excuses you tell yourself about why you can't do something are stopping you from making a change. Whether that be losing weight, running your first marathon, or quitting drinking.

They are cock and bull stories you tell yourself and think that what you are saying is true.

For example

(Tomi wakes up for his early morning workout)

Tomi; "I'm tired; running is just too hard"

In theory it makes sense. Tomi is tired, so running isn't an option. Well don't forget that walking is a great way to get a good cardio workout when you are tired, or even to start getting into shape.

That's the part of the phrase he needs to pull out.

Tomi could say: "I'm tired; but I can walk instead since it is more easier."

_________

03-05-2022

4:33 pm WAT

Till next time. Thank you for reading 🤩

21
$ 2.20
$ 1.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Aimure
$ 0.07 from @Ellawrites
+ 12
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

If we are going to do something my friend TomiAjax right we should focus on the right task. Avoid distracting words or actions

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I take believe as trust in ones capabilities to overcome. However, Determination must come from within and focus must be nurtured like you rightly said. Create tip you'be compiled up there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Focus and believe requires determination to be successful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The main keys one need to improve himself in this life. Awesome.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

One of the hardest things to learn is to train yourself to a thing, example is focus, it takes a lot to train yourself to be focused. It's not an easy thing but with consistency and discipline, you can learn to be focused

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Determination and focus use to be two relating words that keeps rolling on my mind. Whenever I determine in my mind to do something then I remain focus until my Aim is achieved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a procrastinator, my mind has become adept at making up excuses that at first thought sounds reasonable. It is a constant war I fight. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Believe me; you're not alone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Distraction is a professional in doing the things it knows how to do. It even occurs the more when you're playing smart to outsmart it🤣 It comes in different forms and if care it's not taken, it can ruin someone's day, life or future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

While I have been trying to work on my believe, something I get discourage or when am on able to do something right the next i say is "It means I can't do it" but lately I try to stay focus and also believe in myself and have been getting a positive results.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Excuses and distraction, are terrible words that delays productivity and success, nice write-up Tom

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They surely do... They are one of the major causes of setbacks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What an amazing write up 🤩🤩🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad you love it, Thank you Royaldiadem

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤩🤩🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I'm always running away from is distraction, I get distracted easily, which I'm working on, so when I want to do something, I make sure I'm having 100% focus, I even make sure I get away from people and anything that can distract me..

Nice write up boss

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also get distracted easily, and I'm taking steps to minimize it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here.. Thanks for this great article

$ 0.00
1 year ago