Entitlement Mentality

27 75
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Have you heard of the biblical story of the contumacious Prophet who decided to disobey God's bidding until he was swallowed by a fish?

I am writing about no other Prophet than Prophet Jonah (who in Islam is called Yunus).

Jonah felt he had the right not to preach to the "Ninevities" because he detested them as they were enemies to the people of Israel. He felt he had the right to refrain from doing what God wanted him to do. He felt entitled!

I won't go in full detail about the tales of woe of Prophet Jonah, but there is a particular part of the story that I want to share.

The miraculous plant

When Jonah finally preached to the Ninevities after being compelled by God. He left the city, as he was madly angry that the Ninevities had decided to repent of their sins, thereby saving themselves and their city from the destruction that awaited as a result of God's anger towards them.

He left the city and went to camp outside. During the night God made a plant grow where Jonah camped; to provide shade for his head and protection from the elements.

Jonah was said to be pleased and grateful for the plant. But in the morning God made the plant to wither, and when the sun rose there came also a vehement wind. Jonah became scorched and weak by the adverse weather. He then became enraged by the lack of shade and he blurted out;

"It is better for me to die than to live"

God asked him what right does he have to be angry about the plant that he (Jonah) didn't plant neither labored for. He insisted foolishly that he has the right to be angry for the loss of shade.

Entitlement Mentality

The story of Jonah is an example of how we "humans" tend to behave. We feel entitled when something is continuously given to us, even without us working for it.

Entitlement mentality is a narcissistic behaviour that will ruin people life.

From my observation I have seen that some people have developed this mentality on this platform, and it is a cause for alarm. To people like that I ask this question: "what made you join this platform; is to learn alone or to earn alone or both".

One's motive for doing something is really a big determinant in predicting how such a person would think or act.

Some people complain about what they receive, or complain when it becomes lower than their average earning, or why some certain people earn a particular amount.

And that makes me beg the question: "Who do you think you are?"

I'm sure none of us was forced or threatened to be a member of this platform. We all joined voluntarily perhaps through invitation from friends or through research.

So why the fuss? Some people demand for transparency. And I ask what role are they playing to demand this, people like this are like Prophet Jonah who became angry over a plant that he didn't plant neither watered for.

I feel people who can ask for transparency are the donors or developers or great contributors of the platform.

After all when you were about to join you were never told it is going to equal. The bot is called "Random" not "fixed".

Everyone wish for the best

It is definitely true that everyone one wants the best, as I can remember during "noise cash peak" some people earned up to $20 or more in a day and the highest I ever recorded was $6 in a day.

There's nothing absolutely wrong in asking from people who are doing well, or studying their strategies or wishing to earn like them. But it becomes wrong when you begin to fault a system that you didn't sow in or contribute to.

After all there are a plethora of writing platforms in the net that people write on with little or no incentive for writers. But people publish daily on them, because some people write for the passion and love for writing.

We should always learn to be grateful, and remember this saying;

"That secret to happiness is always contentment"

~Tomi-Ajax

"Unnecessary comparison breeds envy and envy breeds unnecessary hatred".

~Tomi-Ajax

Disclaimer; this article isn't a jibe to anybody. I am just expressing my thoughts.

Thank you for reading and make sure you check out all my sponsors; as they all write quality contents.

31
$ 4.74
$ 3.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.07 from @Ellawrites
+ 26
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

When I saw the title of your article I am hooked, I remember this topic when my co workers ask me to explain this, one of the example that I mentioned is those people who receives money from the government and then they are still complaining. Complaining without working, they act as if they are entitled or need to be prioritized, their are lots of people who are starving yet they are complaining about the support that they receive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is awesome, and I so believe speaks alot of people's mind. The fact is, being an ingrate, is an act of unappreciated approach to living, which is so bad.

Little do alot of people understand that appreciation gives one the avenue to excel, and get more abundant outcome from any pursue.

The reason why so many becomes so ungrateful, is due to ego, the feel they are more than they are, forgetting that such is a vice, and such vices destroy. There is nothing as great as upholding virtue in high esteem, as such does build a man from scratch to the pinnacle.

Well, I hope this posted content will make such people kill their pride to retrace their steps for a greater version of themselves.

Thanks for sharing such a great content. Cheers.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I can remember back in year one when things was a little bit hard for me. I was desperate and secretly want people to help me. I kept on complaining and whining to friends, i feel bad when they ignore me, i feel they should help me- Like by force. I didn't care where they get their money from, whether they also need it or not. Acting entitled is a very bad thing that must be stopped.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you are not alone, I have also felt entitled too. It is a bad human nature that need to be suppressed. I appreciate your contribution HappyBoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so detailed and concise. Well done Tomi. 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We shouldn't be like Jonah who was making entitlement on what he didn't actually work for. Everyone of us shouldn't complain, we need to have it in mind that the earning system on this blogging platform is based on randomness. Personally, whatever is given me here, I'm satisfied with it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There's no way we can privatize the Random Rewarder. It's random for a reason. We should all manage what we get and pray that things get better.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Whatever hardship the lord gives us we really should strive

$ 0.02
1 year ago

So detailed, I love how you linked such mentality to the one that was exhibited by Jonah in the Bible. It was really educative Mr Tomi, I was incredibly inspired by this. Lol, low or high earning; I'm grateful 🥰🤲☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm extremely glad you love the article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, this article is hot and well explained, I hope everyone gets to see this ... Some few month user will be claiming right with years user

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, everyone wants the best I guess. But we shouldn't let that cloud our sense of reasoning

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I love where you took this to. So explicit and you are very right. Why would you be angry because something is not favoring you, especially when you aren't paying to get it? We were never forced to be here and this site is free, so why complaining?

We need to be contented and be grateful for this opportunity we are given here. No one owes anybody, even the bot doesn't owe anyone. It is strictly doing it business and whatever you get, be thankful. Still better than nothing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your comment is really precise, and it is true that nobody owes anybody a thing. We should suppress the entitlement instinct.

Thanks for contributing with this wonderful comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah tomi Ajax hits again this is wonderful .. you see the entitlement thing. It is human nature we can’t help Jonah is only human so it is normal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a very valid article you wrote, when you let a visitor feel at home, he or she will become entitled to everything, if to say we dey stay the same place, I for say you write what I wanted to write😅😂 but with a different chapter in the Bible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My teacher once told us about a story of friend he asked to feel at home. This friend was drink all his milk and beverage at an abnormal rate. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It isn't easy seeing someone earning more than you especially when you are putting in effort, but it will help to understand that you are also getting money, even if it isn't the same as others!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah of course the human mind loves to compare, but it shouldn't go so deep especially in a case whereby you are being offered something almost practically free.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that's right but sometimes you try to do everything right, but it doesn't work and then you feel like it's not right probably if someone with experience and explains what is wrong would understand to correct what is wrong and so would have the same chances as everyone else

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right, rather than hate other people earning well, we should simply just focus on getting better to earn more. If it shuts down, no one can do anything about it, I'm just grateful to have this platform no matter how small I earn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also grateful, this platform has changed the lives of a lot of individuals

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just spoke my mind bro. Contentment is a virtue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I so much fall in love with this, I love what I read cos it has been a recent happening between some set of people now. Contentment is what we need to have, we shouldn't fight for what we don't deserve but were lucky to earn from.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Many people are beginning to feel entitled, which is totally wrong

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bro, I love this especially with the explanation of our reactions here. On a clear note, if the owner decides to shutdown this platform, we won't do anything 🤷🤷💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's very correct, we can't do anything. So we should learn to be grateful

$ 0.00
1 year ago