72 hours hiatus

22 74
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Seventy-two hours ago was when I last published an article. The article which was titled "It's only a matter of time", the title of the article seems to foretell the situation I will find myself in the nest few days.

Since last week I noticed that the charging port of my phone has become faulty. To charge my phone I need to bend the charger's connector to my phone. Coupled with the lack of electricity power in the section of the town where I live made the matter worse.

The charging port became worse as days went by and it became so unbearable during the weekend that I resolved to take it to the company that issue out warranty repairs on new phones called "Carlcare" on Monday.

Computer Village

On Monday my phone was so low due to the lack of charging, after being busy during the morning, I decided to check out the carlcare office. The Carlcare office is situated in the part of the "Ikeja" (capital of the State) called "Computer Village" (a hub for all kinds of digital and computerized devices and services).

Computer village is a really big area and it's a place where you can purchase or repair any type of electronic or computerized devices.

When it comes to repair and sales of gadgets there are only few handful of places that can come close to Computer Village. The area is jam-packed with the bustling of professional (be it software or hardware), traders and even scammers (haha).

Anytime you visit Computer Village; you need to pay attention to every details especially when you are patronizing people who aren't part of a well recognized or organized company.

Back to my story

I got to the carlcare office a bit late, around 3 pm but I later discovered that they close their office by 5pm.

I was given a queue ticket, and I sat waiting for my number to be called. I was apprehensive, since it was my first time being at the carlcare center. Thought like: "would my request for repair be rejected" ran through my minds.

I also made sure I read every details about the 13 months warranty issued to my phone. I read a part stating the warranty doesn't cover "wear and tear". Well, I was confused as to whether It would be applied in this case.

After 15-20 minutes of waiting, my number was finally called and I moved to the counter to lay down my complaint.

At the counter

The attendant wasn't that friendly and neither unfriendly, he was just straight to the point. I thought perhaps the brunt of the work load since morning was taking a toll or perhaps he was just trying to be professional or maybe because I'm of the same gender as he is.

I explained my case to him, and he told me that the phone would be repaired free of charge.

This was my first time experiencing the effect or rather enjoying the benefit of a warranty. He then proceed to remove my sim cards and memory card after doing that, he dropped the bomb shell.

The bomb shell.

The customer care; your phone won't be repaired today

Me: (shockingly asked) When?

He: (reeling his head as his hands were on the keyboard) Wednesday

Me: What?

He: Do you have a spare phone?

Me: No! (I replied with soberness as the gravity of the situation sank in)

After this he added fuel to the fire burning in my mind by saying that the Wednesday date isn't even certain. Ah, I was momentarily speechless, angry and confused at the same time.

(But I kept the conversation going normally without any fuss)

Me: can I bring the phone for repairs on Wednesday morning and get on that day.

He: if you bring it on Wednesday doesn't mean you will collect it that day, you won't until on Friday or Saturday.

I began thinking, should I drop it now or on Wednesday. My thought was like what's the use of a dead phone that can't be charged easily

Me; (reluctantly) ok, I'll be dropping it

Parting with the phone felt like a heartbreak or loosing a loved one. I got home and I was feeling lonely as I realized I couldn't communicate, chat up my friends, write etc

But I kept on telling myself it's only a matter of time. And very soon Wednesday would come.

The D-Day

I woke up this morning (Wednesday; May 18th) with the hope that I would finally have my phone back. I called their customer service around 12:30 pm to ask if my phone has been repaired.

And I was told; No! That it wouldn't be ready tomorrow. Immediately I made a cry of protest and I demanded to get it today.

After listening to my plea the customer care said; "I should call back by 3 pm that it might be ready". I did call back but it seems their numbers were busy.

I didn't wait for their response as I left home with the determination of sleeping at their office until they repair my phone (lol)

Lo and behold! I got there and I gave them my invoice and I was told to wait. After ten minutes my name rang from the lips of one of the attendant and I walked with a lighten mood to the counter and my phone was handed over to me. I felt so happy that I had to suppress myself from beaming a smile

Truly everything in life is only a matter of time

Thank you for reading

28
$ 7.73
$ 6.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 21
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Glad to have yur phone back, I think most of us wouldn't mind to bring our devices to the repair center ( Here in PH ) because #1 they are time consuming and #2 they are always late.

Anyhow, I am happy that somehow they are fast on resolving and fixing the device.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You must've have dreaded each passing moment without the use of your phone in that short span, or maybe not. But, it would have been like years have passed without my phone if I was in your shoes. Smiles. I'm glad it's working fine, now. Welcome back, big boss.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the major reason why I don't like taking my phone to carlcare for repairs, you won't get it that very day. But they are actually the best when it comes to repairing Tecno, infinix and itel phones, it's just that they take lots of time in repairing it. I will actually patronize them when I am ready to change my phone's screen (it has cracked), luckily for me I have a spare phone I can use

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh do, they are really professional. This was my first time dealing with them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right, everything is a matter of time.. once is the appointed time everything that seems not to work out would work out just fine. I don't really know what is happening to charging port this days , that's the exact problem my phone gave me three days ago, and my friend is also complaining about his own bad charging port.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should see the engineer before it gets worse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sometimes wonder how life will be without a phone. I'm happy you got the phone repaired on time. Welcome back bro.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, I am really excited to be back. Internet is everything now in the world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hiatus is what I often encountered when the manga or anime will take a break. Haha. So you can use it this way, huh? Hmm. I'm glad you have your phone back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Denn; It is an English word.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a smart friend when it comes to things that are important to you. He was right to make you a friend. Perseverance in queuing to do the thing to be done

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree, even I myself couldn't not imagjne having no phone for longer hours😂. Ahh, we really became dependent to gadgets😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all are addicted to and it is really troubling to be without it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

3 days is fast. Used to be about a week or more sef 😂😂. Good you're back. I'll have to visit one close to me if I want to fix my phone too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should they are very professional

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why I never went to carp are when my phone had issues, the whole coming back thing. It's good you're back, we missed you😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Its only a matter of time Tomi- this means you didn't use any phone for few days? They are asking for a spare phone because they only care about your contacts and your personal activities. Sometimes customer care are like that, snobs but they also have personal issues, still we would like people who takes care of our issue well and smile 😊.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was a good question they asked, well I was able to communicate with some friends using my dad's phone

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What a day! I can imagine not having your phone with you, it could be really pathetic, one would just feel so bored and lonely.

"Hiatus." A big word I've learnt today, so glad to have you back on read, Mr Tomi...thanks goodness,the issue with your phone has fully been sorted out

$ 0.00
1 year ago

👀👀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What happened Mr @Aimure ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is great to be back, are just seeing the word hiatus for the first time?

$ 0.00
1 year ago