The sad story of my second semester result

20 72
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
1 year ago

Hello friends😍. How are you today? I guess you are happy and fine but I'm not. The reason is with my second semester result that was just released. I am very sad. I want to tell my story so that my friends in higher institutions can learn from my experience. It's a very sad experience.

Every focused student would set a standard of results he or she wants to graduate with at the end of the program. So did I. I already envisioned the kind of grade that I wanted to graduate with and I've been working towards it through God's help. During my second semester last year, there was this lecturer who was giving us tough time in the two courses he was lecturing us. Let me name him Mr Felix for clarity's sake.

First, we don't usually understand what he says in class and when we ask him to please repeat, you will not hear us. He would just come to class read the lecture notes and explain a bit. So, we accepted fate .

Later on, he gave us a list of about ten novels to buy. When we got to the bookshop to price the novles, the total amount for everything was nineteen thousand naira as my mates said. We begged this lecturer to help us to select five out of them but he refused. He said we should search the Internet. I got a few of them but not all. I told the lecturer and I thought he had understood not until we got to the examination and sew the question. Mr Felix set questions in all the novels and made all questions to be compulsory. It was real drama in the examination hall that day. I could not answer all but I did my best and left the rest for God to handle.

I also noticed that one of the titles of the novels that he wrote for us in class was not correct and that was the reason why we could not get it online. After the exam, I started praying seriously about the two courses in the hand of this lecturer. I prayed almost every day about it and my other courses. When the result was released, to my surprise, I got the exact grade I wanted in the two courses. I was very happy.

But I noticed another course that came out with a bad grade for me. I know instantly that it wasn't my total work that was recorded for me because this course was so simple that we all expected to have A. This lecturer was very friendly. He gave us A.O.C. and it came out exactly. We never expected the kind of results that some of us had. One of us even had carry-over.

We met with the Dean of school who happened to be the head of the exam body to explain the situation of things to him. This lecturer did not conduct any test. He didn't tell us to buy any handout neither did he take attendance. The end result of our complaints was that the Dean blamed us for not telling the lecturer to give us assignments or tests or to sell handout.

I was disheartened to hear this today. I never knew that we were the ones who ought to tell our lecturer to sell handout. Honestly, were all happy in my department that semester that the lecturer did not sell handout because we had spent a lot of money on typing and other materials. We never knew that we will suffer for it. But there was one of my lecturers in first semester who didn't even disturb us with buying handout, assignments or tests. We performed excellently well when the result was released.

LESSON

Make sure your lecturer gives you assignment and test.

Make sure he or she produces handout for you.

God help us

Enjoy your weekend 💖💝

14
$ 0.85
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 7
Sponsors of Tife.
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tife.
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

lols, some lecturers can be funny with their behaviour. i can relate with what happen but i back it all up with prayer just like what you did.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow, that instructor is a way outoff the line..they are the one who is responsible for giving a task or assignments.. You need to report that to the highest position in institution like the president of your institution, in order for them to punish..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did. After the Dean's response, I reported to a higher authority again but he simply said that since it was just one person that had carry-over among us, we should accept it that way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Story is very sad and emotional. Lecturer is independent in university. They make mistakes in their duty duration. But they don't accept. They always blame to student..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks. I wanted to even confront the lecturer but I later changed my mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was really shocked to this. It's his responsibility to his students my friend. He's the teacher and he must know and aware what are the responsibilities he should.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If we had been told on our matriculation ceremony, we would have noted it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend you're right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In university everyday is a big drama and this is not the situation with you everyone is facing the same situation means the professor make the question compulsory to attempt

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The normal pattern we use in my school here for two units course is five questions answer three. Mr Felix's three questions carried ABCD.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thesame thing happened to my class and we got the same reply from the dean of studies. Some lecturers will just be looking for anyhow means to fail students

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If we knew this was going to happen, we would have asked him to give us tests because the course was straightforward and the lowest grade would have been C

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here the blame belongs to the lecturer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They ought to check our examination scripts and ask the lecturer for the fourty marks assessment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes true but this is the responsibility of the lecturer here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just pray that he won't be given any of my courses again till I graduate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo! This is my first time hearing something of this nature. So students are the ones to beg for assignments and handout. What are we not going to see in Nigeria pattern of education?🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I wonder o... I have never heard of it before until now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See wahala ooh. And some deans will tell lecturers not to sell handouts. Different schools and different problems. Sorry about that. Another funny thing is that, if you ask for handout, your mates will think you're doing I too know😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right. Besides, where is even the money to buy the handout?

$ 0.00
1 year ago