I broke the chopping board

33 53
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Things could be replaced but life isn't.

I don't know if this story is worth sharing but I feel the urge to write it anyway. I want to share with you the deepness of my mind while being judge by the people around me.

Your wondering why the lead image isn't a chopping board but a puppy. It's because I couldn't see the chopping board right after I broke it because mom had thrown it away. It is because that thing you see is the reason why I broke the chopping board.

I was too furious that I broke the chopping board the last day, because of that cute puppy running to and fro while I was cooking. It's been an hour that I am in the kitchen, fighting with the smoke that makes my eyes hurt and teary. I had been struggling with it since the northeast monsoon is blowing so hard and our kitchen is open. While this cute little animal here that is already one hour that I had been trying to get rid of wasn't even listening and I am almost at the peak of my short temperedness. The heat coming from the fire, the pressure due to long hour of standing, the smoke that makes my eyes hurt and the constant blowing of the wood in order to lit the fire and continue to cook adds up the reason of my hot headedness. I don't hate pets it's just I dislike them of being so stubborn. It keep coming back in my footsteps everytime I am asking it to leave me alone. I had to make it get away from me in order for me not to step him, and for me not to be out balance or worse fell whenever I go back and forth in the kitchen. Even worse if it would bite me when I could step into him.

And the later happened so fast. I step into the puppy and then I was shocked as he tried to bite me. I was in a hurry not to burn my dish. And since the wind blows so hard and the woods keeps on getting out of fire, I decided to get something as a fan for me not to constantly blow the wood. As I am in a hurry the chopping board was the one I get in the sink. As I made my way back to the kitchen, I step on the puppy and he wanted to bite me. I was so furious because of the thought "I told you to get out of my way" (nang gigil ako super, I didn't say anything) trying to smash him with the chopping board but I didn't hit him on purpose. To satisfy my anger, I smash the chopping board in the post near me, making it break into pieces.

Mom, was shocked. So as dad. While I was holding the boiling pressure inside me. I didn't speak. I continue cooking and made my way into the room as I finished. Mom was furious with the puppy and tried to scold him. Spang him with the sweep and asking him to leave before she would kill him. Dad was furious with me because I broke the chopping board, breaking things while being angry isn't good as of him. He has a good point though. I could hear them mumuring in the kitchen, but I didn't tried to speak up because I know I am still in the pick of my anger too.

There were few reasons why I chose to break the chopping board than hurting the puppy.

I made a promise

Long ago I had tribble manners of hurting animals. Different animals, dogs, cats, chicken, ants name it, I fear nothing. As long as it harm me or cost any trouble to me.

I remember how I almost kill our dog when he put stain unto my neat, and new iron uniform that I work hard just to be presentable in school. I even chase the dog with long knife in my hand due to so much anger. I curse the dog and cast him. I told him not to go home again, for if I see even his shadow I will surely kill him. The poor dog didn't go home for many days. Mom was so worried that time.

I almost kill the cat that I smash in the wall because he stole my food in the table. I thought I killed him that time. He wasn't able to move for few seconds.

Also the chicken that was so naughty and ill-mannered, wanting all the food I gave in the backyard. I smash her with the woods and chase her wherever she goes. And promise her I would plock all her feathers if I see her.

Funny as it may seem but it was a very bad manners of mine that I disliked and regretted. It ended when I grow up thanks to God. And from there on promise not to hurt any animals anymore.

He is just a puppy

He is just a puppy, while I am a human. Who's got to have the ability to think higher? Me right? Because I am the human being. So, I had much more lapses than the puppy. I know he is sweet and trying to catch attention. I can just put him in a caged right? Or tied him up for him not to keep on coming back? but I failed that's why I faced the consequences. I had to accept the lapses that I made, and took all the responsibility.

He has life

He has life. I chose not to hit him because I know that if I started hitting him I won't stop until I get satisfied and see him stop moving and would no longer be running here and there.

He has life that I am not worthy to end. He has life like mine too. Even causing him misery, I am not worthy.

God is the owner of life. No one has the right to get life than Him.

Yesterday, I brought a new chopping board. I need to buy one in order for me to stop being guilty and for my conscience to stop mocking me. As per dad said, chopping board is important in the kitchen, and it's true.

Closing thought

I am bit guilty breaking the chopping board but I am thankful that I didn't kill the puppy. I could still replace the chopping board but not the life of the puppy. I know breaking the chopping board isn't the very good option there but I need to chose wisely. I need to have an outlet for my anger to came out and composed myself. I know I had struggle dealing with my short-tempered attitude. I have been working with it. Anyhow I am proud of myself for keeping my promise not to hurt animals ever again, not blaming the puppy for the irresponsible act I have done instead accepted my lapses, and valueing life above anything else. Its was sudden and abrupt situation but I acted may be not the best way but still right.

I asked apology to mom yesterday of how I acted and handed her the new chopping board. She was happy I got to chose her favorite color. Well, it lighten up the guilt. I am not still close with Bait, the puppy, ever since he came in the house, but I didn't put grudge or hatred to him. I just don't want to get attached to any pets anymore. I had my trauma.

If you can't imagine how I struggle then I give you a clue. That's how open our kitchen is. So, I hope you realized how hard my situation that time, mind you the wind is blowing so hard too.
That's the new chopping board. So now you have idea what mom favorite color is.

Thank you so much for reading.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

A big hug to all my sponsors and friends here, who keep supporting me. You know who you are. Thank you so much, my dearests.

I appreciate you all. I love you 🥰😘

10
$ 28.52
$ 28.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

I can relate the feeling you have on that time when someone is disturbing while cooking on firewood. I have experienced that before, the irritating smell of cat's stole that you sometimes grab when in a hurry, the firewood that would never lit up because it is wet and you have to throw it away but gather it again for you have no other means to cook, it will boil your blood. Unlike today, there are many choices: gas and electric stove.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly is. Life indeed changes but we are still the same. Thanks by the way for reading I appreciate it so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how you feel. After the death of Meemee i find it hard to love another pet the way i did. I fear loosing them again. Though we still rear so many dogs and rabbit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, the feelings that it brought to me was deep and sorrowful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hate mo pala na may nang iisturbo sa iyong ginagawa, saka madali ka ding mainis sa mga pet bakit pa kayo nag aalaga? Pero guilty din naman ako sa pananakit ng hayop, lalo na pag ako'y galit talaga. Pero nag sosorry naman ako, kinakausap ko sila. Mahirap din nga talagang pigilan ang inis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi Naman sa hate na may mang iisturbo ruf. Kasi it will lead to more complication. I tried Naman na itaboy siya pero balik parin Ng balik and Kasi busy ako sa ginagawa ko I wasn't looking sa baba and I step him. As a defense he tried to bite me buti nalang nakailag ako. I know it wasn't the dog's fault parin Kasi ako Yung may isip. I'm not fan of pet pero sila mama Kasi Sabi need daw Ng pets sa bahay. Napigil ko Naman thank God pero Yun nga kailangan edivert Ang atensyon at inis sa ibang bagay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you choose not to hurt the poor puppy. Thank you for that huhu. Ako kasi, kahit anong galit ko, di ko kaya saktan yung aso ko naawa talaga akooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakaawa talaga super. Pero Alam ko din kasi sa sarili ko na I wouldn't start even spanking him Kasi I wouldn't be satisfied not unless I see blood or if he still move. So better na wag na kasi I know what will happen .. saka nagpromise na ako sa sarili ko ehh.. the bad manner should end na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yan yung hate ko gawin.. Ang magluto gamit ang kahoy 😅 Pro wah naman saktan si puppy. Kawawa naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay Naman Sana ms Jane if close lng then Ang bahay kaso Hindi ehh so mas worse at mas mahirap. Hindi Naman Kasi I was able to control myself parin pero Yung nga Lang basag Ang chopping board. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hold your temper buddy!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've quite a temper, but it's good you didn't hurt the lil puppy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm trying my best not to cause his just a puppy. Thankfully I did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And really good you were able to control your raging temper :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe because I promise to myself, and If ever I would lose myself and hurt him I know I wouldn't be satisfied not unless I could see him not moving 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And thank goodness for honoring that promise despite being so mad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thanks the Lord for giving me the right mind. It's necessary for us to not let emotions clouds the right thing to be done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that. Keep your cool always :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaaa mareee ang open nga ng kitchen. Stressing talaga pag ang lakas ng hangin. Kung ako yan, baka hindi lang chopping board nasira ko e. Haha. Napaka hot-headed ko sobra hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super stressful mare.. nag iipon nga ako para sa kusina namin .. Sana magpump na Ang BCH .. Same pala tayu mare pero nacocontrol Kuna man ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga mareee may need din akong bilhin e. Ako, minsan nococontrol minsan hindi. Hahaha but I'm trying my best para macontrol naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pagpalain nawa tayu Ng panginoon mare 🙏

Ako din ehh Yun nga Lang kailangan ko edivert Yung atensyon ko sa ibang bagay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti napigil mo pa galit mo at di si puppy ang tinamaan mo pero I understand kasi before at hanggang ngayon naman may lutuan kami sa labas pero bihira na namin gamitin. Struggle is real talaga pag mahangin tas maulan .yung kahoy kahirap mapaapoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami Mula nuon hanggang ngayun struggle is real parin pero oks Lang nasanay na. Thankful nga din ako na ok Lang siya Alam ko Naman Wala siyang kasal anan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So kung ako ang puppy, mukaratil jud ko'g dagan uie.. ahahah😅 Ka.cute c e asa diay dapita nang inyo mamsh? pasuroya tawn mi diha..(Ka.out of topic ba sa comment..hahah)

Pero bitaw, tas.an jud nato ang pasensiya sa mga butang mamsh noh, especially na sa mga naay kinabuhi ba. Wa man gud lagi ta kasabot jud sa kung unsay ilang bation baja.. Hayys.. Wa pa jud ko ka publish dahhh..😌.. Pressured na ko'g gamay..hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha okie lng mem uyy chill ra, . Taga Mahaplag Raman ko mem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahw.. hihi.. Pero dili mo silingan nila diego??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i guess the puppy wants to learn how to cook too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha siya ako iluto himus

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww ka cute sa itoy mamshy. Ana man jod na sila lungas gusto makigduwa. Aho nalaman na bi. Hahaha! Naluoy kos nawong sa imo lead image murag naguol pod nga nakasa sija nimo.🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

guol Jud dapat Lang maguol.siya ahw hahaha bitaw mem dugay Naman ni naku gusto ihatag dli man musugot si mama naku 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you break that chopping again, that proves you are stronger than me lol! It's understandable the way you acted. It really takes practice and a lot of patience to control our emotions. No matter, we still love dogs :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha baka nga. Mas lalaki pa ata braso ko sayu 😁😁

Thanks for understanding by the way. Yes, I maybe still love dogs though even if I don't act that I love them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago