How to get out water in my ear?

41 74
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Last day, I got invited to a birthday celebration of our neighbor. Since the birthday celebrant was a kid, the celebration was held in a pool nearby as requested. We enjoyed playing in the water not until the water get on my ear, left ear specifically. I thought it would be okay the next day but it is already two days from now that I suffered slight defining in my left ear. There's something heavy I feel inside up to my jaw line and I couldn't feel my ear. I also hear something inside like an air or something. I am totally worried and I search articles on the internet and try few of them which is also available and easy for me.

12 Ways to Get Water Out of Your Ear Medically reviewed by Chris Young, DNP, RN, NE-BC, NPD — Written by Corey Whelan — Updated on June 30, 2021

Source

Swimming is often the cause, you can get water trapped in your ear canal from any exposure to water. If this happens, you may feel a tickling sensation in your ear. This feeling may extend to your jawbone or throat. You may also not be able to hear as well or only hear muffled sounds.

(That's what i've been feeling right now.)

Usually, the water drains out on its own. If it doesn’t, the trapped water may lead to an ear infection. This type of ear infection in the external auditory canal of your outer ear is called swimmer’s ear. It’s not hard to get water out of your ear on your own. These 12 tips can help. How to remove water from your ear canal If water gets trapped in your ear, you can try several at-home remedies for relief:

1. Jiggle your earlobe

This first method may shake the water out of your ear right away. Gently tug or jiggle your earlobe while tilting your head in a downward motion toward your shoulder. You can also try shaking your head from side to side while in this position.

I did this method the day I've got water in my ear but it doesn't work.

2. Make gravity do the work

With this technique, gravity should help the water drain from your ear. Lie on your side for a few minutes, with your head on a towel to absorb the water. The water may slowly drain out of your ear.

I also did this method the same day I did the first method and I even jump with my head tilted in the affected side hoping to get the water out of my ear but it doesn't work as well.

3. Create a vacuum

This method will create a vacuum that may draw the water out. Tilt your head sideways, and rest your ear onto your cupped palm, creating a tight seal. Gently push your hand back and forth toward your ear in a rapid motion, flattening it as you push and cupping it as you pull away. Tilt your head down to allow the water to drain.

I have learned this today, and I am trying this one. It's a bit helpful because I could feel that air is pulling out the water but it doesn't get any better. The water wouldn't come out.

4. Use a blow dryer

The heat from a blow dryer can help evaporate the water inside your ear canal. Turn on your blow dryer to its lowest setting. Hold the hair dryer about a foot away from your ear and move it in a back-and-forth motion. While tugging down on your earlobe, let the warm air blow into your ear.

We don't have hair drier, so I use alternative instead. I clap my hands right before my ears and it produces air. But it doesn't help. Maybe because it's just too little air my hands can produce.

5. Try alcohol and vinegar eardrops Alcohol can help evaporate the water in your ear. It also works to eliminate the growth of bacteria, which can help prevent infection. If the trapped water occurs due to earwax buildup, the vinegar may help remove it. Combine equal parts alcohol and vinegar to make eardrops. Using a sterile dropper, apply three or four drops of this mixture into your ear. Gently rub the outside of your ear. Wait 30 seconds, and tilt your head sideways to let the solution drain out.

Don’t use this method if you have any of these conditions: a middle ear infection a perforated eardrum tympanostomy tubes (eardrum tubes) Shop for rubbing alcohol and vinegar online.

Since do have history of infection before due to some insects getting inside my ear. I didn't even try this method.

6. Use hydrogen peroxide eardrops Hydrogen peroxide solutions can help clear debris and earwax, which may be trapping water in your ear. You can find eardrops online that use a combination of urea and hydrogen peroxide, called carbamide peroxide, to unclog earwax in the ears.

Don’t use this method if you have any of these conditions: signs of injury or infection such as pain, swelling, warmth, drainage, bleeding from ear a middle ear infection a perforated eardrum tympanostomy tubes (eardrum tubes)

I did drop some eardrops yesterday to avoid infection but I don't know if it's a hydrogen peroxide. I think it's not. It doesn't give any better to my condition but at least it prevents infection.

7. Try olive oil.

Olive oil can also help prevent infection in your ear, as well as repel water out. Warm some olive oil in a small bowl.

  • Place a few drops on your inner wrist to test the temperature.

  • Using a clean dropper, place a few drops of the oil into the affected ear.

  • Lie on your other side for about 10 minutes, and then sit up and tilt the ear downward. The water and oil should drain out.

We don't have any olive oil at home. And I am not quite confident about this one, so I better not try it.

8. Try more water This technique may sound illogical, but it can actually help draw water out of your ear.

  • Lying on your side, fill the affected ear with water using a clean dropper.

  • Wait 5 seconds and then turn over, with the affected ear facing down. All of the water should drain out.

This method gets me confusing and worries gets on my nerves. Actually this is also what my friend advices me. But I don't get the wisdom behind it, so I prefer not doing it the previous days. But it's been two days now and I desperate to make it better so, I will try it later when I take a bath.

9. Take over-the-counter medication

A number of over-the-counter (OTC) eardrops are also available. Most are alcohol-based and can help reduce moisture in your outer ear canal, as well as kill bacteria or remove earwax and debris.

Since we did put eardrops on my ear yesterday, I think we did this one.

10. Yawn or chew

When water gets stuck in your eustachian tubes, moving your mouth can sometimes help to open the tubes.

Yawn or chew gum to relieve tension in your eustachian tubes.

I try this one and it's not really helpful. Maybe it's not suitable for my case because it's been two days now.

11. Perform the Valsalva maneuver

This method can also help open closed eustachian tubes. Be careful not to blow too hard. This can damage your ear drum.

Breathe deeply. Then close your mouth and gently squeeze your nostrils shut with your fingers.

Slowly blow the air out of your nose. If you hear a popping sound, it means the eustachian tubes have opened.

This one is effective though it's not getting better yet but I could feel that it really help. The way I hear my eustachian tubes open. I could feel little better every time.

12. Use steam.

Warm steam can help release water from your middle ear through your eustachian tubes. Try taking a hot shower or giving yourself a mini sauna with a bowl of hot water.

  • Fill a large bowl with steaming hot water.

  • Cover your head with a towel to keep the steam in, and hold your face over the bowl.

  • Inhale the steam for 5 or 10 minutes, and then tilt your head to the side to drain your ear.

I couldn't apply it right now 'cause mom was done cooking and I don't have any fire in the kitchen anymore.

Closing thought

While I am typing this article, my ear doesn't fully get better yet. I am worried, but I will continue to try few method on how to get water out from the ear. I will not lose hope. I still believe it would get better soon. I thanks for this article I saw online as I search. It doesn't get better but it help and put some worries away.

In life problems and worries is our twin and even become our shadow. Behind those happy moments there is always problems accompanied but it's normal. Don't make it as an excuse to not enjoy the next time and be happy. Don't let fear and worries consume you or don't panick because it doesn't help at all. Find ways, search for solutions because problems remains problems if you just worry there and don't think and try any solution about it. Aside form that never forget to PRAY.

Lead image

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Thanks so much for reading.

If you knew few methods and technique, can you tell me in the comment box below? I would appreciate it for it would really help me. Thanks in advance.

I want to give thanks to my sponsors and my friends for all the love and support. God bless you. Keep safe everyone.

I appreciate you all. I love you 🥰😘

11
$ 23.82
$ 23.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Is the water already out maam? You can try chewing gums, it might work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not yet 😔

Though it's not painful but I can't feel my ear and couldn't hear from the affected side.

I will try. Thank you for the concern and for dropping by. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that. Have you tried consulting to a doctor? Please do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay, don't be sorry I know it will get better soon no need for a doctor. It's not painful and no odor coming out from it so it's not infected. I put some drops on it to avoid infection.

I don't have money for the doctor anyways

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make the gravity do the work talaga yung ms effective sakin mars.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ginawa ko din kaso di umepek sakin ehh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that by now the water has been able to drain out of your ear. Many of the ways you wrote I have used successfully in my ear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly gert it isn't. I still couldn't hear clearly 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to do putting more water in and it works almost all the time for me. If not, I just let it be and a day or two, it will go out on its own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been day three and it's still here. I also believe it would be better soon I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't try the more water method🤣🤣 it's funny and scary. A question please the Alcohol method- isn't it painful especially if one has an injury in the ear?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not painful actually it's like a drops also it helps the water evaporate since alcohol evaporated and vinegar help to not get your ear infected

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Okay Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ana pod ko mamsh mao bitaw di ko magsawom2 maligo dagat kay dali ra sudlan aho dunggan. Ang aho ra buhaton mag ambak2 ja ig ka gabie mohigda kung asa to na side naay tubig. Mawa raman pod. Pero e try ni naho kung mautro mn gani simbako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na Wala pa lageh na Wala akoa memsh Hayss .. gitry na naku almost everything available sahay pasagdan ra pero dli mawa sahay na mag worry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw mao? Kung ana mamsh need na tali ipa check.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di man sab sakit nuon mem dli Lang Jud comfortable siya.pero so far Wala may pain. Ako na gipasidan an akoa uyab na ok Raba niya buogun iya uyab? Ana man Lang siya trapohanng gud haha buang Jud 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan mandin, kahit naliligo lang ako ditooi sa bahay, napapasukan ng tubig ang tenga ko. Sakin pinapabayaan ko laang, or oag hindi talaga maalis yumuyuko ako 😅, saka maya maya naman nawawala na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol ganun. Sakin Hindi parin mawala ehh 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always been careful not to let water into my ears and most times when it does, jingling my ear and also placing the affected side on one side will make the water drain out.

Or I also use cotton bud as it helps me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope it will make mine better too. I do everything just to make it better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Usahay grabe sad kaayu ni siya ka-annoying man HAHHAHAHHAHAH kanang naay tubig imohang dunggan gani. I do the steps 1 and 2, then I so sometimes chew and Yawn. great tips by the way <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ug naa pay mas labaw pa sa annoying Ana Jud ako na feel run. Makasearch lage kog ahat uyy Kay DMD njud. Anyways Thanks for dropping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup... haahahaahaah pero at least na enjoy ug ligo sa dagat or sa planggana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha mao sab. Bisaya lage ka? Taga asa diay ka?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

taga cebu ko ate ahahahhahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh Okie .. hehe Pero doubtful ko nganung naay haha 🤔🥴😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao naay hahahhaha kay medyo cold man gyud paminawon HAHAHAHHA, mao na ahahahhah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngeek haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1 ug 2 usually aho buhaton meem, so far effective man pud naho , kung d jud na ma okay meem pa bombahi na na basin dili lang water siguro or unsa ba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unsa pud ebomba mem? 😔 Almost getting better na nuon siya mems nag cge rakog utong ja pisliton Ang ilong. Basin ma ok Rani 🙏 unta

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Equipment man na Siya meem nga gamiton sa doctor para masuyop ang kung unsay nakabara sa dunggan.

Pisliton d I pud ang ilong meemshh hasol raba kaayo nuon na kanang sample sa dunggan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, ug dli ni maayu mem muadto Jud kog dok Ani. Ohm gipislit man naku mem Kay sa tamang tips diha sa babaw ang Kani Raman maka lessen sa lainun nga feeling valsalva maneuver man daw tawag Ani.

Na hasol mo Lang meem labaw naa mag uylap2 sa sud Jud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ug feeling nimo meem nga there's something na sa sud niya dili gihapon mubentaha then better see a doc na jud meem para d ma grabe infection if ever ug unsa gani

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okie mem. Salamat 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung parang number 8. Try more water ginagawa ko lagi kasi turo ng friend ko. Yung ear ko na napasukan ng tubig, ang gagawin ko bubuhusan ko ng tubig then bigla ko ipiflip yung ulo ko sa kabila side para mawala, effective naman. Sinusundo yung ng tubig yung tubig hahaha. Pag hindi naiflip agad, paktay. Dagdag tubig sa ear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun ba yun? Ma try to rin mamaya medyu hesitant Kasi ako eh. Pero baka try ko na rin. Thanks for dropping by. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigiiii basta careful din baka dumagdag pa e. Delikado. You're welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will. Thank you sis. I hope mawala natu. 😔🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Number two usually ginagawa ko. So far effective naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I try ko Ng paulit ulit baka kulang Lang Ng kunting effort at patience. Thanks madam for the visit. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago