Finally seeing you again

10 24
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

It's been 20 years since I last saw my birthplace and yesterday was a very wonderful journey for me.

I didn't expect or plan that day to happen and it took me by surprise that my Aunt asked me to do a favor, without hesitation I agreed. She asked me to get her Baptismal form in the church where she got baptize because she need it in her SSS pension since she reached her senior years last month. Since my mother is the only family left close to her -by heart, my Aunt asked me to do it.

I got up early and prepare things. I am too excited that finally I will be seeing my birthplace again. Because of too much excitement I wasn't able to sleep soundly. I think so much "what if". What if I will be lost? What if there so much changes? What if I could find my way back? And so much more. I know it's sound funny and over acting but I don't know I just feel happily wierd, and I couldn't understand it. Maybe I'm really too excited. I bid mom my goodbye and never forget father's blessings. We always do that whenever we travel far, I mean asking for blessings, a pray over.

It was a long ride because I got to change my bus two times. And I would passed four towns before reaching my destination. Within those long journey I enjoyed the view outside. Seeing the sea outside and breathing the fresh air was a cloud nine for me. It's been long since I able to enjoy the sea water and it's peaceful view. I missed seeing the blue wide sea. That was one of the reason I would always missed my birthplace because of the vibrant sea, because in our residence today is far from sea. We are surrounded with mountains.

It takes 3 hours to reach my final destination because the bus needs to stop from time to time for the passengers. I did not know where to get off so when I have read a huge sign board which post the address of my destination I immediately push the red button of the bus, to signal the driver that I had arrived my destination and I need to get off. I don't know what to do next after getting off the bus. Since there are few vehicle around asking as to where I will go and since the reason of my journey was to get my Aunt's Baptismal so I went to the church first.

The old bell of the church.

There were so much changes as I look around. But that old "Campanario" over there doesn't change a bit. I still recognize it like it was just yesterday that we see each other. It just bit small now unlike 20 years ago which it look so gigantic because I am so small. I smiled as I look at it. We shared memories too. I went directly to the church office before getting too emotional and could no longer hold myself. I asked the reason of my visit and waited few minutes to finally get my Aunt's Baptismal form. Though I encountered few problems but I was still able to finished my tasked.

After getting the document and sending it to LBC. I had plenty of time to roam around and visit my favorite places there. It was about lunch time and I went to my favorite place to eat. Mom and I would always go there before whenever we are hungry. There "puto monggos" were so delicious. It's that sticky rice mix with monggo, that I loved the most there ever since. There's no so much changes there just the price of the food was the only visible change that I could observe. The old 5 peso become 20 peso. Still the taste was the same. After eating I went to the displaying of the delicacies and I asked if they have "kalamay" the home made chocolate which is also one of my favorite and I always eat before. But the sales lady there told me that they had none and offer me other delicacies instead. It was my first time seeing it, it's called "talisay" it's like a "suman" but with chocolate in the middle. It looks so delicious so I bought 3 pieces for 100 pesos. It was new delicacies there and I was excited to try it myself. Part of the changes of the town was the few popular place to visit. I had time so I went there.

Before the sun set I went home. I still don't want to go home yet but I need to. I didn't know any relatives nearby or residing in the town. If I had surely they won't recognize me anymore. With happy heart I made my way home. I am so happy to finally see my birthplace after few years. Even if there were few changes, there are still familiarity in my heart. The place is part of me as I am to it. I should visit often soon, I even dreamed of having my own house there in the future. It feel so right to be there. Peaceful and so calm even with busy street. I promised I would comeback soon and would met relatives. I do hope and pray that this pandemic would soon end in order for me to attend reunions and meet my relatives in my mother side in my birthplace.

When the place is part of you, you would tend to find the familiarity with it and never get lost. The bitter-sweet memories that you have shared seems become your connection that even with so much changes you would still recognize it. Found yourself looking back to where you had left and where you missed the most. Trying to catch up with the changes so you would not fully left behind. Catching up to let the place feel that you still interested to know even with so much changes happen.

Have you ever feel the same to your birthplace or any place where had a special place in your heart?


Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate it so much.

Thanks to my sponsors @Panky @Macronald @Eunoia @Jane @Bloghound you can visit them they are good writers too.

And to all of my friends here who supported me thank you.

I love you all 🥰😘

11
$ 5.14
$ 4.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

There's no place like your childhood's place 🤗. It's so nice to be back at your home time and just reminisce that things you've done as a child 🤗. Thanks for this article of yours. I might visit my hometown, anytime soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You most welcome and thanks for dropping by .. God bless unto your visit soon and hope you will have a great time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for noticing me 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako after 3months ko pa mabibisita place kung saan ako pinanganak 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyy.. buti Naman kahit malayo layo payun pero happy ako na mabisita mo na ulit.. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always cool going back somewhere you have not seen for years, to see what has changed and to reminisce what you used to do there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a strange but very nice feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always wanted to visit the place I grew up with. Everything has changed in that small town. Missed the days where my cousins and I play patintero just across the street. The good old days!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. The change is inevitable some are good change some are for me not good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I know what you mean

$ 0.00
2 years ago