She sells seashells on the seashore

47 52
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

14th January 2022 12/14

Hello hello readers and welcome to the weekend, I hope it will be a happy and relaxing one for you.

One of the things that the pandemic did, was to make some people swap working in an office for working from home.

This was all very good in practice, but it meant that we missed exercise when we did this. There was no more getting up and going to meetings, no more popping out for lunch, no more walking to and from work or taking a bus or train, no more getting out of your chair and going to have a chat with people in their offices or at their desks. All these steps that we performed but didn't notice, added up over the course of a day. I know that since I swapped the office for home I have walked far less day to day. It is a fact that in the last couple of years, I know I have become more sedentary.

During the lockdowns, we weren't meant to go out, and as a result, I missed walking. There were only so many exercises I could do at home without feeling completely bored! So it all means that I make a conscious effort to get some fresh air and go for walks, whenever I get that chance.

How do you keep fit?

Today I decided to walk to the beach, which is only a ten minute walk from the house, well more accurately it is nine minutes going there as it is downhill and eleven minutes coming back as it is uphill.

The title... are you ready?

She sells seashells on the seashore, it is a tongue twister, can you say it fast?

Walking along the beach there were loads of seashells. I then decided to do some mudlarking. Do you mudlark? Another thing that I learnt in the pandemic courtesy of YouTube! We used to call it beachcombing. The mudlarking is I believe meant for rivers but there are quite a few people who now call it mudlarking when you comb a beach to find things.

It meant that I started to look for pottery shards and old bits of sea glass. There were quite a few pieces of pottery, I particularly liked this one piece of porcelain.

I carried on walking on the beach, the weather was dry which is always good and the temperature was pretty mild for wintertime.

The tide had just turned, and I forget how fast it goes out. There is a stream or burn as we say in Scotland that joins the sea and it was pretty fast-flowing, it was like a set of rapids.

I decided not to cross as it was far too cold to get my feet and legs wet. No, I decided to have a wee watch of what was going on around me. Guess what @Jane there were no ducks and swans here!

But (yes here it comes) I did make a couple of friends and had an interesting conversation.

Meet Colt and Cliff the crows, there were quite a few crows around here. Crows are scavengers and they scavenge the food that people leave or drop when they are eating on the promenade.

I went back the way I came and kept collecting old pottery shards and coloured glass. Put the glass in a glass jar and it is colour treasure trove!

It is fun trying to imagine the designs and what the pieces came from.

Now I need coffee, and thank you for reading till here!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

20
$ 7.24
$ 6.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @jasglaybam
+ 14
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Grabe sir Ed, you are living in paradise talaga. Imagine, you are near a beautiful park and a beach? My goodness, that is my dream! And I envy you living in my dream lol. Anyways, did you collect enough pottery shards to create something out of it? I love beachcombing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

kuya ed, that would be a perfect place to sip a cup of coffee hehe. A warm coffee featuring the cold ocean breeze

$ 0.03
2 years ago

well is winter now so inday Jini we would need hot hot coffee lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Translated into Spanish it is very easy to say. You can make a mosaic with all those pieces and turn them into a valuable object. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have made mosaics before, it is fun to do. It is much easier in Spanish jaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Missed my elementary level, having a tongue twister in our class is a bet funny hahaha. Some cant speak it clearly. Beach is a nice wee walking for you Teng. Good for you!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe it is fun hearing people try to say fast. It is good for a wee walk Jean :) Salamat and I hope you enjoy your Sunday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I love tongue twister but this one is very famous hahaha. Pee Sunday also Teng.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i really wish i'm also living near the beach... it would be a lot of fun. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I could not imagine not living near the sea,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While reading the title Kuya it makes me sad because I am not really fan of tongue twister hahaha. Here in us Kuya many shells in seashore just few steps sea will be seen.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are beside the sea inday Maryel? Hehe now I want to hear you say the tongue twister haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes kuya one house then welcome to the sea hahaha You wouldn't want to hear it kuya hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was little, I went to the beach and one of my hobbies was that, looking for objects on the shore. Many times some found chains, rings and other valuables.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is a great thing to do and it is fun when you find something, you should do it with your son

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... We used this catchphrase in school to Over smart students. They failed to utter this in speed. Reminded that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I wondered if you said it in school, even we did 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss the beach so much that I almost felt I was walking in one as I read this. The Sea is so relaxing and inspiring as well. As long as there's no much people around, this is one of my favorite settings in life. Thanks for this Ed 🙏🏻 I hope you enjoyed your ☕

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is calming relaxing and inspiring, and I am glad you enjoyed it. Did you goto Caracas Rebeca? Yes having another coffee now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am here until God knows when 🤦🏻‍♀️ they are sleeping right know. Haha I want one but I had to much coffee today 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I read you posts, well keep enjoying the coffee and keep safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seashells are unusual and individual in their own way. I've been to the sea a few times and saw them in different shapes, most of all I liked the sound like a tube in which the sea is heard, it immediately relaxes me. I liked to look at shells, it calms me down. Well, it is very interesting to look for shells!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh yes you can hear the sea when you listen to a big shell. It is fun to look for them, and see the different types. Do you live far from the sea?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, very far away, on the other side of my country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to go to beach again and just have a morning walk while waiting for the sun to rise and feel the cold breeze in my skin. By the way the tongue twister is so hard hahaha things like thid is my weakness hahahha. I can't pronounce it fast.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe I thought some of you might have problems saying the tongue twister fast. How far away from the beach do you live?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really miss those days that every morning we gonna go at seashore to admire the beautiful scene and also take a bath. Sad tocsay there's no sea here on Manila that's why it's been year since the last time I feel rocks and sand on my feet. There's nothing more pleasant in feeling than waking up every morning and see different things at the side of the ocean.❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So how far is the sea from Manila. That is a shame, when you are used to the sea and then you don't have access to it. To me it is so calming, I always feel at peace when I live close to the sea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. No swans but seashells. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha I did take two crows for you 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow i want to feel walking in the beach early in the morning hehe pero parang ang lamig jehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe oo it is cold here in winter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, how good it is that your house is so close to the sea, good for you. It is very interesting that in the beach, there are pottery pieces and colored glass so beautiful, it reminds me of old stories and legends...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes it does remind me of old stories too, and I like being by the sea, it is calming.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard to say fast the title XD. Really a tongue twister. Did you find lots of sea glass? I missed going to beach and get seashells. Have a great weekend po!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo I did wee one, even got two pieces of blue sea glass which is unusual. Salamat and enjoy your week too, hehe I am listening to you speak it fast haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, how I miss walking at seashore then feeling the sea breeze then seeing those different sea shells...Reading the title feels like I was back in my high school days when our English teacher let us recite that tongue twister, until now I still am having a hard time reciting it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh dear, I hope it was good memories of your high school days 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As far as I can remember, it was a funny memories coz only few can recite it perfectly and fast while me and others were having a hard time reciting it and that makes the room full of laughter and tease🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember how many times they made me repeat in school. She sells seashells on the seashore, but I assure you I can say it pretty fast, lol. But I've never heard mudlarking before ;) I love the pottery piece with the blue patterns, but the brown one in the second photo could be great for a necklace with a leather string. You had a lovely walk, Ed :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I bet you can say it really fast Eli:) Yes there are a few pieces that would be great necklaces with leather string. It was a good walk and the crows were funny too, they were wee rascals🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I tried to say the title, it's very difficult 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I thought it might be :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walking to the beach is the privilege of happy people. 😊 When I'm at sea, I enjoy collecting shells and pebbles and I usually bring a lot to Serbia with the risk that it will take it away from me at the border. 😊We need to walk as much as possible in conditions when work binds us to a chair. You found a real treasure. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes we need to walk, and yes I love it, we both love the sea, I was lucky, I always make sure I live near the sea, or I would not be happy! Really they might take at the border? That is not good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, in many countries it is not legal to take shells and transport them across the border. But I always like to take them as a souvenir and then I make various decorations and so I bring the sea home. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I like to do the same as souvenirs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago