Why cryptocurrencies today are not cryptocurrencies at all.

29 203

For many people, maybe even most people, cryptocurrencies are something they invest in. But are currencies meant to be invested in? Do you use your currency USD, EUR, PHP, PKR, BDT or whatever to invest, or do you use it to buy and spend? That's actually what cryptocurrencies are for, that's what Bitcoin was designed for. So all those who "invest" in cryptos today are not buying cryptocurrencies, they are actually buying (crypto) stocks. But behind real stocks there are companies, behind (crypto) stocks there are only users.

The whole crypto world has degenerated into a manipulated stock market. Bitcoin Cash is unfortunately also affected by this. As we recently learned from the example of LUNA, these crypto (stock) markets can collapse in a very short time. There is only one way to turn crypto stocks into real cryptocurrencies. Millions or even billions of people need to own and, most importantly, use them, like BCH here at read.cash. Only mass adoption will protect us from a collapse like UST and LUNA. There is no other solution. If mass adoption fails, all cryptocurrencies will end up like UST and LUNA. BTC and ETH too. Yes also BTC and ETH will be sold by investors in no time.

Especially BTC is now dominated by institutional investors. When they realise they can get more returns elsewhere, they will sell BTC stock and the market may collapse like LUNA. Many are bothered by the fact that the price of BCH is falling. I keep writing that the current price has no meaning at all. The price of LUNA was very high recently and now it is zero. Without mass adoption, it can happen to any cryptocurrency including BTC and ETH.

But if a cryptocurrency is used by millions or even billions of people, if they purchase goods and services with it, if the cryptocurrency does not lie in the wallets of a few institutional investors as it does today, it becomes more robust and less susceptible to manipulation. In my view, there is only one cryptocurrency that has a chance of mass adoption. That is Bitcoin Cash. That's why we have to do everything we can to ensure that as many people as possible own and use Bitcoin Cash.

47
$ 26.91
$ 24.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
$ 0.20 from @gertu13
+ 30

Comments

I was almost going to disagree until I thankfully further read your commentary—because I of course use my currency, the U.S. dollar, to invest and hopefully create more dollars to spend. But ultimately that's the point, right? Yes. To keep investing more to ultimately have more to invest AND, more importantly, to spend on the things I want and need.

Otherwise what's the point, which is the point of course.

I agree that if any crypto is more widely used, it will become more stable. Or at least that was the takeaway I got from your post, so I hope I understood that correctly.

Therein lies part of the problem, though, doesn't it? It IS unstable, really, now. And because of the massive instability it will be difficult for anyone, at least in the short term, to have the tolerance necessary to deal with that until it can become more stable.

A business needs to meet a bottom line, and of course an end user doesn't want his $50 to be only worth $30 by the time he spends it.

I guess, I wonder what your thoughts are on how we get past this little problem which I think is key to mass adoption. We HAVE to, in my opinion, remove some of the volatility before any business will be comfortable accepting it and likewise, end users spending it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your comment. Money is there to be spent. You can spend it to meet your needs and to invest. When you invest in stocks, you invest in companies that create something with your money, they produce more or less valuable things. But when you "invest" in crypto, no things are produced, no values are created. It is pure speculation that you will be able to sell cryptos you bought today at a higher price someday, that is, that someone will buy them in the future, hoping to sell them to someone even more expensive. This is a pure Ponzi scheme that will eventually burst. I have written about it at some point.

You can also save money, that is safer than investing, but you have to expect that the conventional money (USD,EUR,etc.) will lose value due to inflation. It has to be that way because the economic system is designed that way.

I see only one chance of survival for crypto, only if crypto establishes itself as an alternative means of payment, it has a chance. We are still very, very far away from that, but it may be possible. Volatility is a very big obstacle to that. I don't have a solution, but I suspect that as the new means of payment becomes more widespread, the volatility should decrease.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Really interesting, good write up on the BCH POST, Crypto is now getting manipulated by majority of people and it not good so mass adoption should be rejected

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true, but how much of it is because people allowed the systems to be corrupted by centralization and the corruption of the trad-fi world just merging into this one? Really disgusting that crypto is getting increasingly manipulated and centralized.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We will all at some point end up seeing BCH as the solution to the problems of the crypto world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i agree and did not even read your article. I just agree.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with the point that If they start purchasing goods and services with crypto locally, and in terms of that crypto, not dollars then we can say it has been widely adopted and ready to adopt as currency

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Most crypto currencies are greatly falling our hands this days, we have no choice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, my friend

Nice to read you here again.

Totally agree.

If mass adoption is not achieved it will all be a beautiful failed project.

The unfortunate thing will be that we will remain at the mercy of regulators and bankers.

We will have lost the opportunity to achieve real financial freedom.

Regards.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

After a so called problem happened in noise.cash and read.cash few days ago, I was able to learn that holding bch, promoting and using it is a way in return to help bch. I learn that i have to hold bch too and not convert it directly to fiat.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

You are correct jan friend that the whole world of crypto has become a manipulated stock market. Fortunately I already understand about your article friend m

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Finally a glimpse of you Sir. The market just thrown us here and there but it is the time for having patience. BCH needs to rise and the users are waiting for that. Holding it for the right time will help.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Thanks mate, long time no read. I agree with you 😃 Thanks for coming out and giving your opinion on it.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Yes sir if billion of peoples would use BCH as merchant adoption or good perspective, BCH would go to the moon. I wanna see BCH at the end.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Wish to hold more bch and wait for it to recover soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the most unique and original BCH post I've read in a while. Thank you.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Thank you for appreciation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome Telesfor

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you. Currencies --- fiat or crypto are meant to be used in exchange for goods or services. That was the main purpose of bitcoin when it was created. It's a form of a secure and decentralized form of online payment.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

I never regret persuading my father to buy some BCH during this dip market. I trust this cryptocurrency so much and I hope our country will be one of the countries who will adopt this

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Holding and saving more, despite the uncertainties in the market.. Someday, BCH will recover.. ..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope many stores in our country accept BCH as a form of payment. what do you think can we do to make it happen?

$ 0.07
1 year ago

Join panmoni Team https://panmoni.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay. I'll ned to make some research about panmoni. This is the first time I read about it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The most responsibility now a days is to hold the BCH as more longer as we can to strengthen its position in dip. A collective effort from all can made the difference.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

It means that our task on these two platforms is to increase transactions using BCH and become a promoter so that more people use it.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Let live and let Bitcoin Cash be the wallet of the new era. As for me, BCH is Beyond Community Happiness. I always hope for the best with Bitcoin Cash Sir, dear friend, Telesfor. Yes to a massive adoption. I truly believe that Bitcoin Cash is the future.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

I learned something from it. I didn’t know how the price if crypto rise and falls. But now i know. I think BCH will be adopted by vast masses of the world. I have read some news claiming that BCH has adopted by various country in buy-sell activities.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

This is why I'm holding most of my BCH even if sometimes I'm scared it might go deeper than the current price.. I want to save some BCH to use when it is already adopted globally.

Although I'm trading some of it too ..just to grow it more.

$ 0.06
1 year ago