Trip to Würzburg

64 226
Avatar for Telesfor
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Airdrop post

Today I want to tell you about my trip to Würzburg. Würzburg is located in Franconia, which today belongs to Bavaria, on of the sixteen German federal states.

Würzburg is a medieval town. The oldest documented mention dates back to 704 as Castellum Virteburch.

Würzburg was badly damaged during the Second World War. Many of the buildings in the old town were not rebuilt. Fortunately, some old houses, like the Weinhaus "Zum Stachel", were either preserved or rebuilt.

Old wine house "Zum Stachel"

Inner courtyard of the wine house "Zum Stachel"

A Marienberg fortress towers above the town. From the fortress, the bishops of Würzburg have ruled the city with an iron hand since 1253.

Stairs to the fortress
Fortress Marienberg and the old Main Bridge
Fortress Marienberg in the fog

The citizens of the town were very unhappy about the power of the bishops and fought against it several times. In 1400, in the Battle of Bergheim, they suffered one of their greatest defeats.

During the German Peasants' War in 1525 the peasants tried to storm the fortress, also without success. With heavy losses they had to give up the attacks.

The power of the bishops over the city only ended in 1802.

Side view of the gate to the fortress
Front view of the gate
Garden in the fortress with a view of the city.
View from the fortress to the Chapel the "Käppele"

The "Käppele" is a chapel to which the citizens of Würzburg went (and go) on pilgrimage every year and confessed their sins.

The "Käppele"
The "Käppele" in the fog
Stairs on the way to the "Käppele"

At the "Käppele" there are over 300 steps and 14 stations of the cross. In the past, some pilgrims walked all the way on their knees and said a prayer at each step. At the stations there were additional prayers.

One of the Stations with the steps for praying.
The "Käppele"
The towers and the roof
View of the city from one of the stations.

There have been several pogroms and expulsions of Jews in the city, like everywhere in Europe. On August 2, 1819 began in Würzburg so called Hep-Hep riots which was continued in several other cities in Europe.

I hope you enjoyed my report. I have other photos from the area around Würzburg, which I will present to you in the next report. As always, I took all photos with my Motorola power g7.

44
$ 9.59
$ 7.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Lou1e
$ 0.11 from @Akashdatta98
+ 19
Avatar for Telesfor
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Nice post, sent 10,000 NomadCoin your way :) Really love the pictures

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you like my photos I recommend you my other Articles

https://read.cash/@Telesfor/field-paths-07014dc5

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice portfolio, I went through the different articles you have mentioned at the bottom as well. The architecture picture if this article remains my favorite with the sky series.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I have received it 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome, spread the word

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi are you from Germany? Or you just love to travel around Europe? Im thankful that you read my story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to travel and read real-life stories.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great article, I like to travel, I have visited a lot of places, I would like to travel the world

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your click awosme dear sir😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing!! I think It's really beautiful place

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I passed by Würzburg many times but never stopped to have a look at the town. Thanks for showing around. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome. Thank you for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The culture and history pouring from those buildings are unbelievable. And amazing that they were mostly maintained as is. The old buildings here were modernized in a way that the interior was mostly changed

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your comment and the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wiesburg is a wonderful city where my godparents lived during the civil war in Yugoslavia. It was a difficult time of inflation and poverty. My godparents constantly sent me packages for children with sweets, toys, money to survive. I will never forget that. !!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

War is always terrible. Fortunately, Europe is now at peace. I hope it stays that way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for sharing these incredibly awesome and wonderful photos. It's like I'm having a virtual tour in one of those fairytale stories I've read a lot back when I was younger 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice shots, sir! Europe is one of the continents I would love to visit the most and Germany is the country I would travel to next to Rome, Italy. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice 👍👍👍👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've probably asked this a few times more than necessary, but what do you take these pictures with? The Camera quality is great. But that's by the way. I've always been fascinated by ancient towns, towns with a lot of history. And that place looks fantastic, especially the castles and fortresses.

Lucky you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Telesfor Sir, I don't know much about Jarmany.As far as Google has any idea, what else is this? I posted your post in Russian without permission because I like the post. Please forgive me, sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please make a link in the translation to my original article and write that this is a translation of the original article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank u this much sir for your permission. I am adding the link of your registration to my post. And I have written that this is the original registration of TELESFOR sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow such a beautiful place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome back from your journey, it's been a while since you last updated us. I guess this must be your home town, great thing such monumental buildings are still standing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, this is not my home town. It is one of many very beautiful cities I have visited. I still have many older photos. Maybe I will make some other reports for you. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, thanks for this virtual tour experience Sir. You always share genuine photos for us to enjoy. I really love the place and the buildings you showed us. It was pleasing to see such beautiful place. Though, it was damage by the Second world war, the place is more beautiful preserved or not. I enjoyed these photographs very much. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't resist the urge to travel after seeing beautiful pictures. Würzburg a dream place for mine. Thank you For sharing with us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the tip

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's breathtakingly Beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the photos.. everything looks so perfect.. and it looks like you had a great time in Würzburg.. hope to see more of the other photos you have from your trip..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had a good time, but on some days the weather was not very good, as you can see on the photos. Thanks for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I can see that. By the way, when was this trip happened? The best part of your photos are the trees. I love seeing lots of them. I have never traveled before so seeing photos like this makes me happy. And as for the tips, it's nothing compared to all your support for me when I first started here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I returned from the trip today.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful place with history all around. Käppele chapel is terrific! I like the stairs on the way to the Käppele; especially the collided trees on the way to the stairs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for comment and tipping me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You’re a good man. Thanks for everything @Telesfor

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a awesome and informative article sir.you are really a good article writer .The city has an old world charm to it and complemented by enough greenery. Looks peaceful, though I don't know how fast life is there. Everything looks so clean, unlike the places around the equator where I live

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This place is really beautiful 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The place is pretty cool, so clean. Unlike the place, I live tsk. Thanks for sharing sir, the photos look great too, nice capture from you as always.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you and thanks for the sats.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I should be the one thanking you, you help me and tip me a lot. Thanks you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love it! Thanks covid for making it peaceful to travel to tourist attractions...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was a very nice trip. The place is much more beautiful. You are very lucky to have visited such a beautiful place. I love to travel. But I am unfortunate because I cannot visit such places. Also You are a very good photographer. Already you have proved it. Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful article with us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your words. I hope that at least thanks to my pictures you can take part in my journey. Thank for tipping me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome sir. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great trip

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The city has an old world charm to it and complemented by enough greenery. Looks peaceful, though I don't know how fast life is there. Everything looks so clean, unlike the places around the equator where I live. You are so lucky to be staying / visiting in such places. I should not envy you for this, but a little bit of it is there, I must confess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't take the photos to make you envy me, but to make you enjoy them. Since you don't have the possibility to be at the places at the moment, you might be able to do it at least partly through the photos.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know sir, it is my failing. Seeing such nice pictures it could not stop myself from expressing the first thought that came to my mind. Its my bad. Have a nice trip sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not your bad. Honestly expressing thoughts and feelings is never a fault.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are very understanding. Not everyone is so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey @Telesfor fortress is cool and clouds make it more beautiful. But the pic you've clicked 'stairs to Käppele' is super awesome, trees you've captured are super awesome. It's great to see such historic buildings & history behind it. If you really love to explore castles and history behind it then I definitely suggest you to visit India & specially Maharashtra (of course after this pandemic 😅), we've some awesome castles and battle great history.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the invitation. Maybe I will visit India one day. Thanks for the tip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup, msg me when you land here 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You had a great trip and saw many interesting things.I never visited this city,i even first time heard about it.Thank you for presenatiton.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for tipping me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's a awesome and informative article sir.you are really a good article writer. Love you sir.take my respect.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago