Unforgivable

14 33
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

I was reading @HappyBoy 's article yesterday when I came across these questions. I understood his answer and why he thinks so, but I thought to answer them for myself.

Is there an unforgivable sin?

This question is a very dicey one to discuss. We as humans are expected to be noble and virtuous, even though we are hardly ever so. One of the most sought virtues is the spirit of forgiveness. The majority of the time, the need to forgive isn't about the offender as it is about the offended. But then there are different levels of wrong that can be done to us. 

For some people, dealing with certain kinds of hurt requires them to be able to pin it on someone else and they won't find closure from it until they return the favour. But in and of itself, is there an unforgivable sin? The Bible admonishes us to forgive 70×70×70 times. That's more than enough sins to come for three lifetimes and above. This is the Bible's subtle response to the question. The only thing the Bible labelled unforgivable is blasphemy against the Holy Spirit, something you are not, so no, there's no unforgivable sin that can be committed by humans to humans. 

However, some wrongs are so hurtful and consequential, that they cast a big shadow over your life for the rest of your days. Despite one's best effort, one might not be able to get out from under those, unless by God's special intervention.

Does everyone deserve a second chance?

We all like to answer this question with a yes, but let's be practical about this. We all have heard of the Ulvade shooting in the US. That gunman killed twenty-one people, of which nineteen were children. Do you think he deserves a second chance? If he gets one, where's the justice for those little children then? Now, let's say hypothetically, we give such a person a second chance. It's a huge gamble. We are doing it, with the expectation and hope that he's a changed person, but what about the price for being wrong about that? Another nineteen dead children?? Is the possible price for being wrong worth the second chance? Is the risk worth it? It's definitely not. Such people should not even get to remain alive. 

I think as far as I'm concerned, the question of whether or not a person deserves a second chance is mostly dependent on what he's done with the first one and the potential harm and risk tied to giving him a second one. So no, not everyone deserves a second chance.

Do we owe anyone an apology for our actions?

When you wring people, you know by default that you owe them an apology. Firstly to those who were directly affected and/or hurt by your actions. But depending on the level of your atrocities, you can fall into debt of a public apology. We live in a society where we have come to expect certain things to be acceptable and some inexcusable. Sometimes, these things go into the equation when choosing where we reside and what we do, even online.

If you were to do something that shakes negatively, the very fabric and sanity of the establishment we've come to believe we need and have, then you don't just owe an apology to those directly affected, but to the public who's indirectly affected as well. Of course, not everyone will give a piss about your apology, but it doesn't mean you don't owe them one. There are those who that apology will go a long way for.

Conclusion

I know some of my takes here might be harsh or controversial, but I try my best to be practical with such conversation. These are not things to be seen from a normative viewpoint, but a descriptive one. Anyways, that's my little contribution to this subject matter.

I would like to use this opportunity to thank and acknowledge @remona for the sponsorship renewal and increase. Thanks a lot, sis, I won't disappoint

Thanks for reading...

7
$ 1.68
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mhizutty
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 2
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

To me I think forgiveness should be done according to some level of offence the person has committed, for example if an arm robbery is arrested, I think they should face their penalty, If their penalty is death that yI good for them, I don't see any reason of giving killers second chance because they might does the worst. I definitely agree with you, we owe people an apology, if we know that we have hurt people and we notice that the fault is from us, there's nothing it will take from us if we apologise to them and go our way, if they will accept it, that is fine, but if they don't at least we have done our own part.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You really got my points

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me, I can forgive but I cannot forget. That's how it works on me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same with me. I never forget

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You might be correct when you say there is no unforgivable sin as regards to human to human relationship According to the Bible. But as regards to human himself, there are some we can term unforgivable as regards to human capacity. But it is good to develop the mind of forgiveness

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's good that we develop the heart of forgiveness but from the Bible I think there are some sins that when one commit he or she will just face the courses that was placed against it, lets say unlike Judas Iscariot that betrayed Jesus, or like Cain.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it's not even some sins, it is all sins because there are consequences for Evey sin committed although God will forgive all our sins (that's aside from the sin against the holy spirit)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What would you personally consider unforgivable?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, this a tough question. I can't really say I have one personally, and I can't speak for others. So, I'd say none for me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's somehow reasonable that not everyone deserves a second chance, specially that the person did an unforgivable sin. For me taking away someone's life is an unforgivable sin specially if the victim's are innocent, like those children's.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I definitely agree with you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seconds are rare and only a few get it, that's why we should make use of the first chance very well, for the guy that killed 21 people, the children deserve justice, or else another person might do the same.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah.. There's a reason second chances don't come every day. The price and associated risk usually outweigh the benefits

$ 0.00
1 year ago