Redflags

10 24
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

A time comes in our life when we have to decide who we want to spend the rest of it with. This is one of the hardest decisions you'll ever have to make, because it consequences are far-reaching and long lasting. One's choice of a life partner can lead to one living a happy life and fulfilling destiny, but if gotten wrong, it can totally ruins one's life. Hence, the choice of a life partner is not one that should is made in haste. It's important to be able to make this choice with your head as much as with your heart.

Seeing as you're going to be spending the rest of your life with this person ( if you intend to keep your vows), you should make sure you know what you're getting into. Getting a life partner should make one's life better, hence there are some basic generic qualities expected of a partner and it's important you pay attention to any red flags and not let yourself be blinded by love. I'll talk about a few of these red flags.

Insult In Public

Naturally, we all have our lacks and inadequacies. For some of us, these might even grow into insecurities. So, we naturally need a support system and it differs depending on the time of our life. By this time, our support system mostly revolve around our partners. They are the ones we draw from, they are the ones who make us special. So, knowing this, it would be really sad for your support system to be the one mocking you or degrading you. It's totally another turf when this happens in public. A woman who sees no need to respect you or cover your flaws in public will only bring you shame and pain in the future.

Disregard Your Dream

Have you ever told a loved one about one of your great ideas and they laughed it off? Well, the pain is something you wouldn't want to experience twice. Your partner is your helpmate. He or she has the responsibility to help you do the things you can't do yourself, to support and encourage as you strive. A woman that doesn't see any value in your goals or dream would isn't for you at all, and I'm telling you, you'll regret it, if you blindly get knotted.

Not Wanting To Meet Family

I'm guilty here. My girlfriend had been on me for a while to pay a visit home and bring her along, so she can start meeting the family, one at a time. If it wasn't for my sister's wedding, I probably would still not have obliged by now. Doesn't mea.n I'm not the one though. But most time, when your partner doesn't want you to meet his/her family, it's because they have something to hide. Someone who's meant for you, would want to meet your family and should be open to you seeing theirs.

Long-Term Friendship

As you grow, you realize that people change. They come and go just like day and not. Some stayed of course. As they change, their priorities change and eventually, they might phase out of one's life. But as a general rule, if your partner has no long-term relationship, there's a bit of a very red flag in there. If your partner can't make any meaningful long-term friendship in all his teenage years, there's a great deal of chance that might happen to you too.

Accepting Responsibility

When I talk about responsibility here, all I'm referring to, for the purpose of this article is the willingness to look at one's actions and admit one's wrong where present. But again, not all humans are same. There are a lot of people out there who can never see their wrong, not to mention taking responsibility for it.

For a person you're likely to spend the rest of your life with, it's a given there will be conflicts and disagreements. It's important that both parties know how to take responsibilities for their mistake and apologize where needed. Trust me when I say, if your partner can't own up to his/her mistake, that's not the one..

Thanks for reading my article..

8
$ 1.54
$ 1.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Avatar for Talon
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I really think people should start observing the character of people they are dating. Insults and narcissistic behaviours should be an obvious red flag for you to flee for your life

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Even if I'm going to take all other things which I definitely wouldn't, I can't stand the whole insult thing at all...in private is a big deal for me much more in public. One could say I'm a very difficult person which I'm sure you agree with talon because I find insults not only in words but in many other things...nice one shuga!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh, I know that all too well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Disregard my dream, insult in public are big red flags for me. I was a friend to a guy who just didn't like me talking about my passion and dream, but would go on about, blabbing his for me to kindly and patiently listen. Lol, he asked me out and deep within me, I told myself: "if you say yes to this man, after seeing this crucial redflag, then you might need to do a brain check."

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂 you dodge a bullet there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah... The public thing. There is no going back on that. What's the point in someone who couldn't defend you in public? Would rather have that support in public and then be cautioned afterwards if there was anything I did wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And, also it's not just about being defended in the public, it's also about being defended by our partners even in our absence,

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly... It goes a long way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's that too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea. That's the way it should be

$ 0.00
1 year ago