Birthday summer surprise

0 20
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

I always pestered mum to take out on my birthdays, but she never had that sort of time. She was always on the road. I've always known her to travel constantly on her animals training missions. It was her job and according to her, if she did not make those trips, there would be no food on the table, neither will there be money to pay my nannies. She always promised to make it up to me with the little times she could afford to spare. She also promised to take me on a birthday road trip during the summer. A wonderful way it was for a curious me to celebrate my eight birthday.

The long awaited trip soon arrived and I set out for my first birthday trip with mum. It wasn't just the trip that got me all giddy. It was the fact that all through the eight years of my life, it would be the first time I am spending quality time with my mum. I had spent more times with nannies than I had with her.

When we set out on our trip, I was expecting that we would go to fancy places like I had read in story books, but mum surprised me by taking me across the countryside to remote towns I had never heard of before.

The houses looked like what I usually see in drawings of ancient times, tached houses with straws as roofing. The houses looked abandoned with some of the roofs falling apart. It was intruguing as I never thought those medieval houses would exist outside of storybooks. I remembered mum telling me that the place was a sacred land from the medieval era that had remained preserved till date.

Soon, we arrived at an odd building at what seemed to be the end of the village. It was a modern building that had seen it's fair share of life with the symbol 'Hotel' written on it. Mum parked and got us a room there. It was a small room but I didn't mind. I couldn't wait to explore the old huts after I must have rested.

I must have overslept because when I woke up, it was already dark. It was the sound of the door being closed by someone that woke me. The room was illuminated by an old lantern. I opened the door to see mum walking down the hallway. She held a lamp in her hands. I couldn't help but notice her startled look when I called out to her. She told me to get back to the room, that she had to check on an animal which she was supposed to train.

I couldn't help but trail her movements after she thought she had successfully sent me back to the room. I was curious to know what kind of animals mum trained. I followed her into a mossy pine forest behind the hotel. She stopped at a clearing and made a whistling sound as if she was calling someone or something. I became excited as I hid behind a nearby rock, finally I would see one of the animals mum trained. To my utmost surprise, a huge black animal with fiery red eyes emerged in front of her. If my eyes were not playing tricks on me, that was the exact depiction of a dragon in the drawing book mum had gifted me for my seventh birthday. It was then it dawned on me, mum was a dragon trainer and dragons were not mythical after all.

Mum must have heard me gasp because she turned towards the place I was hiding and asked, "who is there?" I couldn't help but turn and run, not like I knew my way around the forest. Something flashed in front of me and there it was, two fiery red eyes staring into my frightened eyes. I couldn't even make out mum's words for me to calm down.

This is a fictional prompt generated from servicescape prompt generator.

3
$ 4.06
$ 4.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments