Compelling Thoughts from a Powerful Mind

4 47
Avatar for Stories
3 years ago

Today, allow me to share a feature story. It was a given task to us before to have an interview with a foreigner who was in the country at that time. Since our university is known to have foreign students, I was one of those who took the chance to ask someone from them.

Actually, I am timid at that time. I have thoughts in my mind that the interview might not go well since I was not used to talking to anybody who is entirely stranger to me, especially to a foreigner who has a different language. But thankfully, it went just right, and all the efforts I have committed were paid off since I got a good grade.

Without so much ado, I present to you my feature story out of it.


Sponsors of Stories
empty
empty
empty

Congenial. Benevolent. Laid-back.

Image Source

An Indian student, pursuing medicine at the University of Northern Philippines, has chosen to study here because the cost of education in the university is considerate and because of the excellent quality of education being offered.

In fact, in 2017, an Indian national who graduated from the university where I am studying at, topped the medical board exam in India. Indeed, the university is a global university anchored on excellence.

Image Source

When she started to answer the questions, I was immediately amazed by her tone and accent. From that moment, I remembered that I am actually talking to a foreigner.

She’s been staying here in the place temporarily for three years now. She never came here before; it’s her dream to pursue medicine that brought her here. In that period, she has met many people, witnessed the Filipino culture, and heard our language.

Image Source

As stated by her, Indians discerned Filipinos as kind, joyful, and friendly. As I heard these words, I felt uplifted. I believe that many feel the same way as they think of us. The respect there was still intact.

The climate here in our country is the same as theirs, too. The differences were in terms of clothing, culture, language, and most especially in terms of foods. We all know that they love spicy foods, and only a few of us are a fan of it. That is why she has not taste any Filipino food yet. But she enjoys staying in our country as others do.

Image Source

She loves talking just like others also, but she uttered that there is this so-called language barrier. It is a thing that needs to be solved because if this will continue to be a hindrance, it may cause a big problem.

It came from her that she cannot understand Filipino’s native language. I, as well, cannot understand some of her responses due to the language she used. But thanks to the English language because the hindrance for better communication was overcome.

Image Source

With these responses, I realized that although people worldwide have different races, cultures, and languages, it is essential to respect one another regardless of their social state.

Inquiring about someone who is completely stranger and having a different nationality is challenging but pleasing at the same time. Her thoughts may be as simple as she was, yet it still has a significant impact on us. These are worth sharing. Having the chance to know her responses made me feel that it was a fulfilling moment.

I can say that my curious mind and craving for thoughts from a foreign national was satisfied because of her, and I found it pleasant to experience talking to someone like her. She came here with a purpose, conveying what was instructed to her by their land, and never forgets to act and give the value of respect.

By the time I talked to her, I can already say that she was congenial, benevolent, and laid-back.


I hope you enjoy the read. I may not be as good as others when it comes to delivering a feature story, but at least I have given my best with this one, which is one of the most important things. Thank you, and have a good day!

9
$ 13.57
$ 13.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Stories
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stories
3 years ago

Comments

This line is indeed powerful:

She came here with a purpose, conveying what was instructed to her by their land, and never forgets to act and give the value of respect.

It is always good to possess the traits instilled to us by our parents. Respect will always be a good trait to possess. It is not just merely imposed, it is earned.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Like they say, respect begets respect. Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Based on past conversations with Indian, I do agree with this. They are very intelligent people. They also fluent in the English language.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Indeed. Thanks for reading my article. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago