Talents

0 15
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Right from childhood I have learnt that each and everyone of us got talent(s) but am I the only one who hasn’t figured hers out yet?
There was a day I was in the living room with my dad watching television, and immediately after the program we were watching ended, they started playing a music video. I noticed the song was quite good and the video was fascinating as well, but I asked myself why has he not blown (famous) yet.
I said to my dad, why is it that nobody ever notices the less privileged talent? Well, he said the poor doesn’t want to get noticed because he is chasing what to put in his stomach and not thinking about talent.

I have never met any single person who doesn’t have any gift but, I’ve met loads of people who wonder if they even just have one just like myself. When we hear gifts or talents we think it is about those who can sing or dance or draw. Just like Marie Forleo said we should consider gifts as strengths. There is no one that would say they don’t have strength. We all have strength that we aren’t even aware of. Every single person is born with a unique set of strength.
Strength is something that comes very naturally to you. It’s something that when you do it, you feel stronger.
I used to say I don’t have a creative bone in my body, my older sister was the artist in the family and I envied her a lot. I struggled with finding my gifts when I was younger... but I’m happy to say my strengths are: Curiosity, I will always ask such unique and insightful questions.
The other one is positivity- I uplift everyone around me effortlessly, and I hope someday I am going to be a tv host so I can empower youths.

I think singing, dancing and all sorts we see on social media today aren’t the only talents known. Are you a great learner? Are you a great writer? Do you have strong sense of empathy? Do you thrive on competition? Do you have a knack of imagining the future and getting people excited about it? Do you help others love their lives? Do you have communication strength? These are great gifts and if people don’t appreciate it now, trust me it’s going to take you places. You don’t need to be like Wizkid or Burnaboy before you know you’ve got great strengths in you.
I once dated a guy who gave a listening ear to me. Whenever I’m down or I needed someone to talk to, he was always there. After, the breakup I discovered I didn’t find it in other guys I dated. If you’re someone like that, it’s a gift. Not everyone is willing to hear some else’s complaints and ready to put them through even when he or she got her own baggage too. You don’t need to be the best artist in the world or best dancer but please make use of your gifts, keep using it.

I started to surf the internet one afternoon on the best way you can discover your talents, this is what I found:
1) Think about what you enjoy. The things that makes happy can also reveal your talents. Think about the things that makes you happy.
2) Evaluate what you are good. Now, there’s a big difference between what you enjoy and what you’re good at. You might think of your talents as only being things that you love doing, but it’s important to remember that your talents are often things you don’t enjoy or things you don’t even think about. Think about things that come naturally to you. Things you don’t struggle at.
3) Ask around. Having an outside perspective, other people may find it easier to see what you are good at. Ask around and people will usually be happy to tell you what they see as your strengths.
4) Open up time for new things. Your life needs to have room for discovering your talents! Your talents will often lie in the activities that you’ve not tried yet and if you don’t make time for those things, then you’ll never expand beyond what you are now.
It is never too late to discover your talents but have it in mind that you and I were born with special gifts in us.

To my awesome readers, how did you discover what your gifts are? Let’s discuss in the comment session. I hope y’all are having a great day? 🥰

4
$ 0.67
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 1
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Comments