Our differences

2 8
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

I noticed Rachel has been acting cold all these while, but I didn’t give it a thought. On Monday, I broke the good news to her that my boyfriend sent me some money for Christmas . At first she was happy and planning with me on the type of human hair wig I should get for Christmas, then all of a sudden she became cold.
It was time for lunch, I woke her up to inform her that her food was in the kitchen but she said she wasn’t interested in the food. I ate mine in peace, but then I was thinking if I had done something wrong to her to make her reject my food.

I got the number of the wig supplier. She sent some pictures which I forwarded to my friend so she could pick for me, but she told me to leave her alone. I asked her if I had done anything wrong, she said NO, that she needed to be alone.
About few minutes later, she was on phone call with her boyfriend and she told him that my boyfriend had sent me money so he should send hers, it sounded ridiculous to me, because I have never compared her to myself nor told my boyfriend to get me things her boyfriend got her. It was at that moment I noticed she was sad because I told her about the money I got from Daniel.

This is common among ladies, we want the same thing our friends get from their boyfriends without ever considering you are different from whatsoever friend you are looking up to. We want to compare a new relationship with ours, we want everything ladies get without the consequences. We consider dating as a means to get money to satisfy our extravagant lifestyle.
This friend of mine isn’t doing anything for a living but she want everything her other friend who works have. Most times we get deceived by what we see with other girls but we can’t even walk a day in their shoes.

I just want every girl to have it in mind that you’re different from other girls of your class, range, level. Just because some other girls got Christmas money doesn’t mean their relationship has been rosy or they got the best relationship, oh no! It’s never like that and that doesn’t mean your boyfriend hate you or probably doesn’t want the best for you.
We want the fancy clothes, the shoes, the bags, the iPhone but have it in my mind that it’s their time and your time will come. Don’t date the wrong person for money.
We have so many desperate guys out there who’s ready to do anything to get money, once they see you’re just as desperate as them, they give you all you want in exchange for what you don’t want.

The formula of using our youth and sex appeal to get the attention and influence we desired in order to get what we wanted, worked well for many of us but not all of us. Most of us were born to be independent, most of us were born without no one to depend on. Why let go of all you’ve worked for just because you want to have the things your other girls have.
I understand how all girls feel because I am a girl too, I feel the jealousy, I feel the urge to be like someone else but you can’t let that dictate who you are because you are different from others. You are special in your own ways and God’s plan for us is definitely coming to pass.
Here is what I do whenever I feel the urge to be like someone else; firstly, I go to the mirror and recite my affirmations. I tell myself how beautiful I am. I let myself know it’s a phase and it’s definitely going to pass. I tell myself this is just the present and all the Gucci bags and Versace will pass, the future matters a lot and it’s not about what you own now but what life you live after school.

There are so many oppressions out there, but remember who you are and the kind of life you want for yourself. Don’t compare yourself to other people, don’t say because this person own a Christmas cloth and you have no one to get yours for you then you start hating on yourself, don’t do that to yourself. Be comfortable in your own way this period. Enjoy the little you have for now and celebrate in your own way. We have more years to come and I pray they will be better years. And they will be better than this current year. Please, stay happy all through this period.

Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 1.29
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 2
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Comments

We have many people like that. They want to live a life different from theirs due to been oppressed and want to feel among. We need to understand that we are different and we can't get what the other person has gotten.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Beautifully said

$ 0.00
2 years ago