Where do I belong to?

2 23
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Hi everyone! This is my first post here, and I´ll use it for answering something which has been into my mind since I have memory. Where do I belong to?

I mean, when you´re a kid, you usually have dreams that can become true or not. Just think about this, during your childhood your friends and you had different expectations about where your lives were going to; maybe one of your friends wanted to be a doctor, a singer, a firefighter... anything that imagination provided!

And trust me, there were simple times where we had no limits to dream and believe, we owned the world! I remember saying to my myself in front of the mirror: Dude, you´re gonna be a Pr0 Baseball Player or a Doctor, I don´t know how but you will do it!

I tried to accomplish it so hard. I played baseball during 11 years since I was 8, and despite of my height (unfortunately I´m not tall enough for playing), I always did my best. I represented my city couple of times as a Pitcher, and that was an unforgettable experience.

At school my grades were not bad to think about studying medicine; when I said that to my teachers and friends, they did not have any doubt about it. Everything went through so good.

Facing reality

My first surprise happened nearly finishing high school. I had already planned my life carefully since I was a kid but it seemed that destiny had other plans for me. The closer I was to take the medicine test, The more I think it was not for me at all. My grades kept good, but my expectations about the career, not too much.

Doubts invaded my mind, I felt I was made for doing other things, but I had already thought about this, my plan was going to be ruined, and the responsible was... ME!

I took the test to enter to the Medicine School... But I didn´t study anything for it. I remember my father brought me there and told me: "Do your best buddy". I certainly did not my best, not even close. The up time to finish the test was 3 hours. I finished it in 30 minutes. Being in front of the exam made me realize I was not going to be happy if I studied medicine, so, I quit. I left the classroom 100% sure I had failed the test.

Of course I failed it, but at least I was not the worst! There were guys with lower grades than me at school, and they studied all summer for it, I just played baseball. With that chapter of my life closed, I had to continue....

Next stop: Baseball time!

Well, this part was different. I truly enjoyed my time as a baseball player. Once I finished High School I had a very important conversation with my dad: College can wait, I wanna be a baseball player.

Before talking to him I imagined all the possible answers he could tell me (most of them included, "NO" and "you´re crazy"), but I did not match any of them, my parents supported me! I remember when they both told me: "Do what make you happy son".

The probabilities to become a baseball player were so little. As I Told you before, my height was not my best asset, and it could be a big rock in my path to make my dream come true. The following 2 years were hard, but nice. I trained so hard to be the best player I could be. And I did it, but unfortunately, I didn´t achieve my goal.

My time passed. I had no chances to be a pro player, my height was a problem, and in a certain way limited my skills to play better. I feet so bad, my lifetime dream was fading and I didn´t have and idea what else I could do.

However, my parents supported me during those hard times. My mom was so lovely, and she believed in me, so hard, she was so proud of the man I had become, no matter I couldn´t get my goal. My father was also proud and told me the words that will stay in my mind forever:

"The worst decision is the one that is not made"

After saying this, he made me understand something: If I didn´t try to be a baseball player, I would regret the rest of my life for avoiding that experience, and he was right.

I understood so many things about life since then, and my journey just started since I failed.

¿Do you wanna know how it finishes? Let´s wait for part 2 coming soon.

If you´ve reached this paragraph... THANKS FOR READING THIS! I hope you liked it, if so, I can tell you you will know more about me by reading my following posts!

See you, have a wonderful day!

Pic by James Wheeler on Pexels

-2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Simon.M32
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Simon.M32
2 years ago

Comments

Bienvenido a la comunidad amigo, estaba esperando que publicarás. Que bien que tengas manejo del inglés, como recomendación te puedo decir, que publiques en los canales y que le coloques etiquetas, así como en noise, de esta forma tus publicaciones tendrán mayor visibilidad. Y si escribes es inglés tienes más público que te podrá leer.

Espero la segunda parte para terminar con la historia, has hecho bien en no estudiar algo que no amabas :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much! Si, entre otras de mis cartas bajo la manga esta el hecho de que soy bilingüe, pero eso lo dejamos para la segunda parte jeje, un fuerte abrazo, ya pronto estaré activo en las publicaciones en español. PD: Gracias por los consejos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago