Brave and Winner..The Breadwinner

0 18
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Parents are the provider. They provided financial, emotional and even physical needs. They work hard for their families.

But what if the parents have retired?

Or they are no longer capable to work?

And you are the one only expected in the family? They are expecting you to support them.

Then, you are considered the breadwinner in the family. It's your responsibility to help them, pay the monthly bills and support the education of your siblings.

I am a single parent but I still live with my parents, including my son. Its my obligation to help my family as much as I can. It may be hard but its fulfilling.

I can still remember before when my father was working abroad and my 2nd to the eldest sister was still alive, we can go to malls, eat outside, buy new clothes. We have budget for other expenses.

I somehow felt useless because my salary was just for me. I was not helping back then.

I still remember when I bought food for take out. I was expecting someone would eat that at home. But when I opened the refrigerator, I still saw the burger that I bought for a couple of days. It wasn't noticed maybe because we still have others foods. Until I threw it.

But after the accident, after that big trial, every food that we brought home is important. We treasure every blessings that come along.

I am a Bread Winner

My parents are now senior citizens. They are no longer working. My father used to be an overseas foreign worker or OFW for how many years and in different countries.

My mother is a housewife and she takes care of us while my father was not around.

But after the incident in the family, my father did not go back abroad.

My eldest sister and my eldest brother has their own families too. They cannot help us since their earning was just enough for their own family.

I was the only one working at that time because our youngest brother was still studying. I don't feel the responsibility yet because I only buy groceries at home. That's all and my salary is too small. My parents are still responsible in paying the bills. I don't remember where they get the money.

Then I found another job with better salary compared to the previous one. Since its a better salary, the bigger the responsibility.

Aside from the groceries I bought at home, I also pay for the electric and water bills. That's the routine every payday. After withdrawing my salary in the ATM, I will call my mom to come with me for the grocery. Then I will pay all the bills. Sometimes we also ate in our favorite food chain.

We already have sari sari store that time and I only buy stuffs what my budget allows. I can still buy for myself. But I have not saved any single penny.

Until my brother graduated from college and he helped me in the family's expenses. He was a big help to me when he got his job. Then we applied for internet connection which means additional bills to pay. So we divided the bills into 2.

Then, I bought a small property. Its monthly payment is P3,000.00. The house is small compared to others but since I pay a lot at home, nothing was left for my salary. But I still thank God that my brother helped me. I am just praying that I will be strong to work because the contract of the property is 27 years. I am still in the 3rd year. I need to work and work for the payment.

I thank God that we are surviving everyday.

I always said before that I will save before having a family or a baby. But it didn't happen.

Now that I have a baby, I became more responsible because I need to focus on my son also. I just want him to finish his studies and have a good future. But still, I have no savings. But at least, I know that this is because I'm helping my family.

Brave and Winner

Its natural to be brave when you are a breadwinner. You will strive to work harder.

It is a positive feeling that you can face everything because your family depends on you.

You need to be healthy. If you are healthy, you can always go to work. You won't miss a single pay or you can have incentives for a perfect attendance.

It's a proud feeling knowing your help to your family. Proud because you are doing a great job for them. Whenever you see them in a good and safe situation, its a feeling of happiness because it means you are doing your part.

Aside from your family, your friends and relatives are also proud of you. They know what you are doing for the family. They know your sacrifices in your family.

Being a winner does not mean, having an award or winning money for something you've done good. It can be a feeling of gratitude and enjoyment when you help someone or a family.

Disadvantages

Comparing yourself to others, you got envy with others like your colleagues and friends:

  • They have savings unlike yours.

  • They can buy new clothes or new shoes for them.

  • They can travel within or outside the country.

  • They can eat whatever they want to eat because they have budget.

  • They can go home late since no one is expecting them at home.

Advantages

You are a role model. Because you are the breadwinner in the family, they look up to you.

They follow your orders. Your siblings obeys you.

They love you more. Because of your hard work, the love they have for you is getting stronger.

You feel a sense of contentment. Whenever I provide all the needs at home, I felt happy because I was able to help in the way I can. Seeing them safe. Seeing them with food in the table.

Your decision matters. I decide most of the time what to buy or what to do. But of course, my parents decision still important.

We don't need to be a breadwinner to help our family. Sharing or contributing a part of our earning is a big help. We just need to help one another to survive.

We can also help the family by giving the support and love to one another. Its the thing that money can't buy.

Happy reading everyone!!

Thank you Cryptomax for the sponsorship.

2
$ 2.94
$ 2.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments