The World We Strive For

2 46
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Time for some rambling thoughts. I apologize to those who normally enjoy reading my articles for such crazy ramblings, but after spending too much time on forums, I’ve come to wonder just what kind of world we’re working toward and how it may play out. The world feels like it’s going mad, so here are some thoughts.

Mandatory Vaccines

The coronavirus pandemic certainly thrust the world into a state of fear, didn’t it? I know one person who was lost to the dreaded virus and losing her was a terrible sadness. However, I haven’t gotten a vaccine, and I don’t believe anybody should be made to.

I’m a huge proponent of medical advances, and I believe that everyone should have access to experimental treatments, which is exactly what these vaccines are. That being said, I personally am skeptical of them, and the fierce push to get everyone vaccinated makes me dig my heels in all the more. If there’s such a strong push to get vaccinated against an illness that, more than likely, will not kill you, it makes me wonder what the agenda is.

We have reports of girls and women either not having their periods or having their periods non-stop. I know of one man personally who was flown to an ICU and stayed there for five days due to the effects of the first shot of either Pfizer or Moderna. Other people haven’t been so lucky; they died. The news seldom reports such things, but the accumulation of anecdotal evidence makes me wary of a drug so new on the market.

No, I’m not afraid of having my DNA changed. I’m more afraid of a group of powerful people pushing some sort of agenda, and I would rather not partake in it until I know for certain that the vaccine isn’t dangerous.

Mandatory vaccines are even more frightening. Right now, states are bribing people to take the vaccine by offering lotteries, free beer, and even free weed! If things progress to mandatory vaccines, I suppose I’ll just be out of work and unable to travel anywhere. It sucks, as I was hoping to travel to Japan soon, but I guess that’s out of the question, at least for now, if they push things like vaccine passports.

Every American has the right to refuse treatment, and that includes vaccines. I know of no anti-vax parents who were ever bribed or forced to vaccinate their kids against, for example, smallpox. If that’s the case, then why should we be forcing people to vaccinate against a virus that, for many, will be slightly worse than the flu but still not deadly?

These vaccines don’t even prevent you from getting sick with the virus or from spreading it around! Fauci, for a time, was urging people to continue wearing masks even after becoming vaccinated, rendering the vaccine kind of a moot point in the grand scheme of things.

Cultured Meat

I’ve come out in favor of this many times, and I’m still excited about it. As someone who has never particularly like vegan dining, the ability to eat meat without the cruelty involved is a tantalizing prospect. The technology is now here, and it should be introduced.

That’s not to say that I want livestock to disappear, though. I love cows, goats, pigs, and chickens. Backyard chickens will even provide you with eggs without the factory farming practices that make vegans cry, and goats are fantastic pets! Okay, pigs are too, but I’m a goat and goose person when it comes to farm pets.

Underwater Cities

This could be an article in and of itself, but there are at least two companies, one in Canada and one in Japan, working to build cities in the ocean. One wants cities to sit and the bottom of the ocean, the other wants them floating near the surface.

I would totally live there.

The ocean is a beautiful, fascinating place that has, unfortunately, been treated like a landfill for most of human history. We’re definitely starting to see it now, with animals dying, their bellies filled with plastic. Dolphins are poisoned with oil and some communities of orcas on the brink of dying out. Underwater cities could help people appreciate the ocean more, just as Sea World inspired so many people to study and care for marine life.

Gene Editing

“Can you even dye my eyes to match my gown?” Dorothy asks during “The Merry Old Land of Oz” song. Why settle for dying eyes when we can just edit our own?

Gene editing will allow humans total control over our own biology, allowing us to eradicate certain diseases and go hog-wild with our own vain ambitions. I personally believe that gene editing will be a key component to our survival in the future, and I welcome it. I still don’t want your vaccine, though…

Indefinite Lifespans

I didn’t lump this in with gene editing, as the key to this endeavor may actually lie elsewhere. Still, more and more people are taking this prospect seriously, and many believe we’ll live long enough to see the end of aging. I guess this means get into your cryonics chamber and take heart that you won’t be asleep for long?

In all seriousness, I’ve written about this topic before and am still enthused about it. Society would shift quite dramatically upon its achievement, and I hope it would change for the better. It would have an impact on criminal justice, immigration, conservation, population, and just about everything else.

It could even put the tobacco companies out of business, for who wants to risk their near-immortality?

Sustainable, Green Energy

I once watched an interesting video series about the Egyptian pyramids and how they may have been able to, intentionally or unintentionally, generate electricity. Regardless of whether they did or not, we will need a new energy source.

I’m not one to prance about singing the Earth’s doom due to climate change, as I’m still on the fence regarding whether I believe mankind is a significant contributor to our current climate or not, but that doesn’t mean I’m all for polluting the air and earth. You shouldn’t have to believe you're on the brink of an apocalypse to believe we can do better.

The problem here is that the oil tycoons are powerful, and people who come up with alternative solutions are usually found dead shortly after.

What Do You Think?

What do you think of where science is taking us? Let me know below, or give suggestions of things you want me to cover.

7
$ 4.26
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Shounenbat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Comments

Ya afortunadamente complete el proceso de vacunación, un gran paso para estar inmune y protegido ante esta peligrosa pandemia, y una manera de proteger a todos los seres allegados, un candidato para iniciar el camino de seguridad , inmunogenicidad y eficacia de este camino libre del virus. Hoy se afianza esta vacuna como una de las esperanzas de muchas personas para frenar la amenaza que significa la pandemia del COVID-19.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to the vaccine, I totally share your opinion. We have no clue about its safety yet. It has been developed in panic without sufficient testing under controlled circumstances. What we have seen indicates that it might not be safe. To introduce it for mass vaccinations at this stage is lunacy. The vaccine might prove to be much more fatal than the influenza it is claimed to combat.

$ 0.01
2 years ago