Beating Writer’s Block

3 42
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

I’ve spent the past two days staring at the blank page on my computer, wondering what in the world I should write about. It’s not that I have no subjects to write on; I have so much more to say about language learning, would like to do an episode-by-episode blog of some old shows I grew up with, and have lots of new stories to write and tips to give, not to mention historical escapades to share with everyone.

But I can’t seem to get any of them typed up. That feeling of procrastination, which I am more than acquainted with (we’re practically married at this point), continues to whisper, “Look at what you’ve written! It’s no good and no one’s going to read this.”

So, instead of writing about a subject I wanted to tackle, I decided to beat my writer’s block by writing this: an article to tell you how to overcome the dreaded writer’s block.

1. Freewriting

This is essentially what I’m doing right now. Just put your fingers to the keyboard or touch your pen/pencil to the page and start writing something… anything.

You can write about that time you almost missed your flight, even if it’s hardly a riveting tale. Or you can write about someone you know or fondly remember. Write about what you ate for breakfast or what’s on TV. I could easily fill a page with how much I loath Netflix’s business model, for example.

Freewriting is a fantastic way to get your creative juices flowing. I’m doing it right this instant, fighting writer’s block by making myself type anything, even if it’s just a bunch of things I’ve done to beat this accursed affliction I’ve wed myself to.

2. Online Writing Prompts

I’ve gotten some strangely good ideas from random, online writing prompts. What starts as a simple exercise has often managed to set my imagination on fire. The next thing you know, you’re writing. And, as I’ve conditioned myself to remember, you only get better by doing. Unless you’ve written something you want to throw into a fire and expunge from history, you’re certainly able to share it.

It’s amazing what people will respond to. There have been articles I’ve written both here and elsewhere that I poured a lot of time and research into only to have them drop off the Obscurity Cliff within an hour, yet there have been articles I put little time into, shooting from the hip, that people seemed to applaud.

You may think that you’ve hammered out something from a simple prompt in a hurry, but people will lap it up!

3. Take a Walk

Go for a walk. It doesn’t matter where. City, farm, woods, by a stream – all of it can help. If you don’t like walking, then take a bike ride, go for a slow drive, or maybe go fishing.

Your mind may clear, needing a break from the burdens you’ve impressed upon it. Once clear, maybe finding a topic will be easier.

Of course, that hardly ever works for me. The procrastination monkey in my head says, “Do we really have to go back home and do work?” Instead of clearing my thoughts, I try and take in as much of my surroundings as possible. What am I thinking about on this walk? Are there other people or animals around? Is anything coming to me, inspired by all of this?

If nothing is inspired, then simply write about your walk or bike ride or fishing trip or whatever you did.

4. Play a Video Game or Watch Something

...And then review it! Pour out your thoughts and feelings about a specific game, show, or movie. Does remembering that old The Wizard of Oz game for the SNES fill you with uncontrollable rage? Do you wish you could move to the land of Tamriel? Let us know! We’re strangely fond of these things.

5. Fanfiction!

Forget what people say about fanfiction – it’s a great way to both be creative while doing some real writing. Of course, you shouldn’t always be writing fanfiction, but it’s a fun pastime that can pull you out of a rut.

I’m currently reworking the film version of Swan Lake, called The Swan Princess. It’s mostly an exercise of whether or not that train wreck is salvageable. It’s not to say that I hate the movie, only that it has huge problems. Working those problems out is a fun hobby of mine and, when I’m not feeling writer’s block towards it, am happily using to drag me out of the Procrastination Pit I’ve fallen into.

There you go! Five tips about how to beat writer’s block. I’ve managed to write over 800 words on this topic, which I suppose counts as an article. I hope you got something out of it. And since I can never stop running out of ways to fight off writer’s block and procrastination, maybe you can share your tips with me? Please?

10
$ 10.50
$ 10.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @marbleme
Sponsors of Shounenbat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Comments

Good and helpful tips indeed. For me I just didn't write anything at all but then I found this site and after a few months I felt like writing again. Hahaha.

Sometimes I am also only able to write when something of a personal "triggering" happens. It may be good or bad but if I feel I should get it off my chest it will be written out. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having writer's block because of procrastinating for so long that I have forgotten all the topics that I am supposed to write or I already lost my interest in that particular topic that I am supposed to write. I do love free writing and fiction stories, though. I'm just passing by, anyway, have a good day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a good day, too! I feel the procrastintion problem keenly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago