You deserved a coffee break

0 18
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Topics: Life

When I was a kid, there's never a day that I wouldn't see my mother not drinking a cup of pure black coffee.

Before the dawn break, She's already sitting at our veranda with her coffee.

After breakfast.

3 o'clock in the afternoon.

And even in the middle of the night,

I would see her finishing her work with coffee beside her.

It always leaves me in confusion. I've tasted a coffee. I know what it taste like. And to a kid's taste buds, it never tasted great.

I don't like its taste that's why I keep on pursuading my mom to switch to milk.

"Milk's taste a way far better than coffee mom! Common, try it!"

Of course she would have a sipped of my milk and I always looked at her with a smirk that is saying, "I told you!".

She would just smile at me and then go back to her coffee. Sometimes, I get irratated but she'll just laugh at me.

I was too young back then and I really can't understand my mom's taste of drinks. Everything stays the same not until I reach my middle adolescence stage.

I started with one cup of coffee a day, but I still preferred having milk tho. Little did I know that slowly by slowly, coffee's been making its place in my system.

From one cup a day turns into 2 cups, 3 cups and then up until now where I couldn't count anymore how many cups of coffee I consume every single day.

Being an adult, where you wake up every morning and tons of responsibilities are waiting for you to do them one by one. Coffee's been there to give me the comfort and relaxation I need.

It is just so disappointing that no matter how much we tried our best, it isn't still enough. That no matter how many sacrifices you made, you're still lacking of something. Indeed, adulthood is very draining.

Now, I understand why my mom loves coffee that much. It became her partner to keep going in her dreams and goals in life for us. When she was feeling down and tired, it was the coffee who gave her the courage and energy to move forward in life.

It's aroma is so addicting that I couldn't get enough of it. The soothing feeling of every sip I make feels like my passion has been ignited inside.

The bittersweet taste of life makes me indulge myself more in the pleasant flavor of this brewed drink prepared from roasted coffee beans.

In a world where everyone has been eaten up by their busyness. Don't forget that you deserve a break. You deserve a coffee break to regain that fire and excitement to do things with passion and joy.

Things may fall apart, but don't let yourself to fall apart too.

Resting is never wrong, sometimes all we need is a lil break in order to function again.

Coffee will maybe make your heart beat faster, but it will never leave you broken.

Thanks for reading, God bless!

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments