When You don't feel like Writing, You Should

0 13
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago

Been there. Done that. Didn't buy the t-shirt. I've been writing since I was 8 years old, and I haven't stopped since, some 50 years later. As a writer, you're going to always see the days when you just don't want to write, but I advise that you do it anyway. Anything!

I write here on read.cash and make what I would make on a mere paragraph on my writing business platform. I write anyways. Sure, you're not going to get rich here on read.cash but you can make a few BCH dividends. Think of it as a community where we all are able to voice our opinions, reality, and our fiction. We are a collective of words. We matter. You matter. Be encouraged.

Vent your frustrations, your whims, your talent, your future glory.

I have written. and produced, films, TV commercials, commercial blogs, podcasts, academic theses, PowerPoint presentations, blog topics, press releases, resumes (they pay great!), novellas, novels and more. Additionally, I have had the privilege of editing books you would likely be familiar with. In short, I never grow weary of writing or editing. I am always on call. My phones are on high volume 24/7. I make money.

It's in my blood. Writing that is. If you're a writer, you have the very same blood. One thing I have learned over the decades is that you must be committed. As for me, I awaken at 3:30-4 a.m, and I sleep around 10:20 p.m. Yes, I have it down to a science. If per chance I awaken at 5 I feel as if I have lost a half day.

I had my first newspaper when I was 9. I never made money from it but I loved writing the community content. I don't make a lot money here, either, but I try to write twice a day posts/articles.

Here's a big deal i the writer world (as far I am able to observe), people often complain about writer's block. In my opinion, writer's block is pure fiction. The problem as I see it is laziness. Yes, sometimes we awaken and have the blah's. We don't want to get out of bed, much less write anything but a couple of Instagram or Facebook posts and be done with it for the day.

But I will argue that writing anything, a line or two, some freestyle, anything, will give you an idea to write on something beneficial. An impetus, a motivation if you will. You have to be self-motivated.

Sometimes my clients request this or that. I rarely decline, but at times it is out of my expertise (statistics, and calculus). At any rate, they provide me a with a due date and then at times I have the inclination to stall the writing. But I have made it a habit of not allowing my procrastination get in the way of making good money. And one other thing: I have never, ever missed a deadline.

That's commitment.

Another thing, the more you read, the better your writing will be. For example, I typically read 5-10 books a week, simultaneously. That's crazy! Actually, no, because it builds one's focus. Read, read, READ. Do not be afraid of taking chances, thinking outside of the proverbial box.

Write!

The only thing holding you back is procrastination (laziness). The old adage that time is money holds true.

Get off your bum. Write. Write angrily, write happy, write freestyle. Write spiritually and factually. Perhaps copy your social media posts and add to your posts. There re myriad ways to write. But never plagiarize.

Write. Do it. You can do it. Again, be encouraged.

2
$ 0.68
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ahmadmanga
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago

Comments