Seriously, Stop Making Excuses!

25 31
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Jesus, Work, Improvement

So you didn't write for a day or three or maybe a week? No worries. It happens to all of us so don't consider yourself a lone wolf. That is simply not the case.

Just remember, we don't need to make excuses. Nobody really knows who we really are behind our articles, and it's not like if we ever disappeared there would be weeping and gnashing of teeth in our absence. Am I right?

Daily

I see it on read.cash on a daily basis, that is, the excuse: "I didn't write for the last X amount of days because...(fill in the blank)." Nobody cares. You missed, you really missed, and there's no need to make any excuses. Simply move on and spare us all the unnecessary drama. There's no need to say, "I'm sorry." We all miss a day or more of writing here and here. There is no inherent guilt in not writing.

Yes, there are times when writer's do not write. Work, kids, other important plans, emergencies, writer's block, laziness - there's a host of things that can and do happen that cause us not to write. No big deal. Get over your insecurity and self and stop making excuses. We either do or we don't - there's no such thing as trying.

Quotes to ponder

"Everybody walks past a thousand story ideas every day. The good writers are the ones who see five or six of them. Most people don’t see any” - Orson Scott

"If you really want to do it, you do it. There are no excuses" - Bruce Nauman.

"Write what should not be forgotten” - Isabel Allende

"Excuses destroy success every time" - Jon Taffer

“Ideas are cheap. It’s the execution that is all important” - George R.R. Martin

"Excuses change nothing, but make everyone feel better" - Mason Cooley

A joke

There's an old joke I'm fond of that I heard at least a decade ago. It might be something to keep in mind insofar as it ties into this topic.

******

A man knocks on his neighbor's door. When the door opens, he asks, "Hey, Steve, I need a favor."

Steve replies, "How may I be of help to you, Bob?

"I'd like to borrow your lawnmower to cut my grass. Mine's conked out."

"Well, Bob, I's like to help you but my wife is cooking spaghetti for dinner tonight."

"What's that have to do with me borrowing your lawnmower?"

Steve replies, "Well, one excuse is as good as another right?"

******

No matter our excuses, in the end they do not matter. Stop making an ass out of yourself with lame excuses and just write when you are able.

Excuses before God

Our biggest excuses are expressed when we transgress against our Creator. God already knows the reason why we sinned so there's no need to make up excuses or downplay our culpability. We own up to it. We confess, "Lord, I have sinned against You and I ask You for Your forgiveness." That's what He wants to hear!

He doesn't need our whiny reasons as to why we sinned. After all, we are all guilty. All fingers point to it in God's word. We know it and He definitely knows it. Is there anything He does not know?

We simply and sincerely need to repent of our sins and make every effort to be obedient to Him. Obedience leads to righteousness. Faith in Jesus leads to obedience.

"I have hidden your word in my heart
    that I might not sin against you" (Psalm 119:11, NIV).

"Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: “The Lord knows those who are his,” and, “Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness” (2 Timothy 2:19, NIV).

We must get into the Word of God to get the Word of God into us. Come on, now, people, stop making excuses. It's really unbecoming of all of us. Seriously. Let's get results, not make excuses.

All images are free courtesy of https://pixabay.com/

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 5.97
$ 4.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.93 from @MarielB22
$ 0.24 from @RazorFist
+ 3
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: Jesus, Work, Improvement

Comments

1.Excuses win sometime in relationships and due to excuses sometimes relationship got weak. 2.The joke was nice Sir.

  1. And the loser shouldn't have excuses. He should work hard to overcome his excuses.
$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. The joke is on point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir, weldone sir, this article help me so much and I will correct my mistakes as from now💪, thanks so much I love this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome. Take care there. Be blessed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen , thanks so much boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not a problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty. I am guilty of making excuses. From now on, I must not be sorry for not writing articles, afterall it's done. I have to move forward. Humans as we are, we make excuses of our transgressions, yet I agree, the Lord want to hear us asking for forgiveness rather than our excuses. I am a sinner saved by grace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the joke because it is both funny and true. Yeah, I need to stop apologizing and making excuses. Good post as usual.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, funny how that stuck in my mind for so long. It is truthful so perhaps that is why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it really is the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuya, I didn't write for days... Well almost a week and I must say, I missed it... But let me tease you a bit more, who wouldn't like hugs and kisses?! (Only the ones I would prefer are from my kids... Lolz.) Its not just a drama but rather something that warms the heart especially when there is no other outlet(s), just read.cash??? So there, the excuses... Apologizing for the expecting audience. Well of course, there are a lot of people claiming they're not the miggling types but eventually end up craving for attention they never thought of. Bottomline is, they're lonely and a lot of them are flooding the mainstream these days! Though the net may have connected us, me from Cebu while you may be from another part of the world, but hey! there are lot of them are truly lonely. That's why they're here for, trying reaching out to someone in here who'd pay attention with the little dramas they have in the 4 corners of their room. They dont want to get out of their bubble because when they got out, there is just empty space. Yeah, you got me the insecurities there (hihihi, giggles) who isn't? Anyway, true, no apologies. But hey! This is exactly why you are here in read.cash, to preach. Now you can add a twist to it, compassionately! aw!!! Dont get me wrong, you are doing it nah, but passionately and compassionately towards the insecure ones. Perhaps evangelization? Sorry, Im not gifted in that aspect. hihihi...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I am in Luzon down the mountain from Baguio and live on the beach, but I am an expat from the USA.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My objective is to preach Christ and get people out of their comfort zones. Love tells the truth, it is action. It certainly isn't want people want to hear but that's their choice. Insecurity is an absence of God indwelling or the indifference even believers show to Him. Security is living for Him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahem... Oh! they can be swayed... they just need a little more of the preaching/evangelization and a little more time for all of it to sink in. And a lot of prayers to do for the grace of God to reach them and eventually. Like I already mentioned, this is why you are here for! It will be a lost not having you around. You may not feel missed but you are certainly missed at times you got so busy with your work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm already behind because I woke up late at 5 a.m. I have a 1-page paper to write for a client before I can write on here. Much to do today: bank, grocery shopping - it's one of those days where everything collides at once but hey, that's life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hey! sleep is nice and good for the health! u owe yourself that! Staying healthy these days is a must, else... You can't imagine the horrors it brings, you getting sick and your wife all too worried with a baby at hand! oh please! bank are mostly done online these days?! grocery? oh! there is online grocery offered by SM and some others unless you plan to go to wet market? But i do love the idea someone is doing groceries for me. My kuya is still 12 and unvax, still have to train him though... hihihi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She will fetch the food and go to the bank while I work and watch our son. Sleep? 5 hours a night is good enough for me. Online here is not trustworthy and as a foreigner many people do not know what I prefer whereas she does and knows where to buy. She does hit the wet market for fish though peddlers on the beach 40 meters away also sell. We have it down to a science. Now if I could only get that automatic washer to start itself...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I, for one look forward for the automated version, I'm INATAY, so my hands are really full... lolz.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey! You are right - no excuses for anything. We do or we don't - it's that simple.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. I'm not on this platform to be popular or famous but rather to speak the truth in love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Duly noted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Correct! I haven't written in over a week. No excuse. I don't want to is all. Looks like you stepped on some toes with the truth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, I stand for the truth so whatever. People need to stop taking things so personal. We live in such an overly sensitive world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Understood, friend. We have to (it's in my bio).

$ 0.00
2 years ago