Goodbye my Sweet Cat

0 7
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago
Topics: World, Lifestyle

In 2005 while living in Texas, I saw a post on Craigslist where a person was giving away some 8-week old kittens. I had just bought a new condominium at the time and thought it would be nice to have a cat in the house.

I've always loved animals because they are so innocent and keep no record of wrongs. They are very forgiving, loving and fun.

At any rate, I went to a house a few miles away and a woman had five kittens to choose from. I opted for a gray and white kitten and gladly took him to his new home.

He prowled around the condo peeping out the new surroundings so I named him Spooky. He was a fast learner and loved to play fetch the ball of paper.

He also loved playing and fighting with a feather duster. We became close companions.

Five years later I flew from LAX and moved overseas to Asia and left Spooky behind with my ex because the fee to fly him was far too exorbitant.

My ex and I remained close friends and she always updated me on Spooky's status from time to time.

A few days ago I received an e-mail from my ex (let's call her Carla) here on out. She advised that Spooky was not eating and not acting his normal self.

Carla took him to our veterinarian and Spooky was diagnosed with liver cancer. The prognosis wasn't good. Armed with a handful of medications and a new diet, Carla took him home, but Spooky still refused to eat.

In the morning Carla checked on Spooky and he had passed away at the ripe old age of 15 years old.

A proper burial was effected, tears shed, and we reflected via video how he lived a great life and how he brought many hours of joy.

Now I don't know if there are animals in heaven or not, but if there are, and it seems like a loving God would have them, then Spooky and I will be reunited one day.

Perhaps we can play fetch the paper again on the streets of gold.

1
$ 0.30
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago
Topics: World, Lifestyle

Comments