Building a Church - Expanding My Christian Ministry

14 103
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

It's been a week or more since I last wrote anything on read.cash. Christmas was a blur as we were busy building up the ministry and raising funds for construction for a church on the beach. Several names for the church have crossed my mind but I have narrowed it down to three and am considering which one to choose.

Business management models

There are a host of these models to follow for any small business or corporation, and as a business major (one of my degrees), they work well providing there is good leadership at the helm.

Having said that, many churches utilize one or more of these business models to run their ministry. I have no real beef with that as long as Christ is glorified. However, Christianity is not a business and should not be run like one.

The early church didn't have nor did they use a business model. Christianity was built on spreading the gospel to the ends of the earth. Faithful apostles and disciples of Jesus preached Jesus and a new life and hope for eternity.

The only real problem I have with using a business model is that if taken to extremes, the church becomes a commercial retail outlet. Those of us who read and/or study the Bible know how Jesus despised this very thing. He cleansed the Temple twice because of its use by dishonest retailers.

Property

The property for the building of an evangelical church has been decided upon. Again, it is on the beach in the Philippines.

Mind you, there are relatively few evangelical churches when compared to Catholic churches, which are fine, but the cults abound entrapping untold millions of people who are being led to eternal destruction.

Anyway, the paperwork, licenses, et cetera have been a nightmare. Anyone familiar with the country which I proudly call home is acutely aware of how slow things work when it comes to taxation, licensing, building permits and all that jazz.

And I refuse to pay bribes to speed up the process. The nerve of some people! But I suppose it works for some but I want no part of it. At least I have an excellent attorney to shield me from unscrupulous individuals.

Not the actual location.

Newsletters

I finally broke down and bought Microsoft 365. It's a good deal at $60 a year for the personal version. I can add it to 5 devices. it comes with 1 terabyte of cloud and Publisher, where I am making my newsletters.

Right now we are in a fundraising stage hence newsletters to those in like ministries will be sent out this week. My longtime Texas friend @AceyDeucey will be arriving in mid-January to help with the construction. He will also be going to Hong Kong to meet with a few interested people and for some R&R.

Disappointments

Aside from the corruption, two other major disappointments have beset the ministry. Satan does not want to give up! The first disappointment was an old friend from Detroit, Michigan. He's a US millionaire who promised to fund the entire building construction and furnish the church. Unfortunately, he fell away from the faith (hopefully for only a short while) and returned to his former ways of go-go bar frolicking.

The second disappointment came from one of the biggest Texas ranchers there is. This man has more money than he can spend in a lifetime. Though we have been in constant communication since 1993, and he has supported the ministry before, he declined to assist. I don't know why nor do I know his true circumstances.

Provision

When all is said and done, we will trust the Lord to provide. I hope and pray that your needs will be readily supplied as well, whatever they may be. I do ask that you pray for the ministry and funding. Thank you.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

17
$ 0.87
$ 0.50 from @Success.1
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 5
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago

Comments

Once your church building is up, i hope to come visit. I suppose though the church is already established the physical building is just the one in the works. Maybe some time this year if I get to visit your area, a fellowship is cool.

I can imagine a church by the beach gosh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things might be difficult from the start but I hope in God's perfect time your plan will happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welldone boss may labour of love never go unrewarded. You are building for the expansion of Gods kingdom, may God bless you the more .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all have work to do for the Kingdom and this is my part. Nobody is greater than our Master, Jesus, so whatever our assignment is, it is good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow! Sorry for all the slowness and the dissapointments you have to go thrrough with in the process of building it. Moreover, one thing i like about you is the fact that you have refused paying any bribes at all to anyone so the building could be sped up. That shows that you have all it takes to be leading your christain in the right way it should be led for us to have some insight in.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your kindness, Sammy. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how difficult it seems to be, I believe that it will be possible to build a church for the work of Christ.

You did forgot to say merry Christmas to us here... Merry Christmas to you brother.

What I noticed about where I worship before is that it was built with the help of many people and out of love. Even people who are not practicing the same faith (Muslims) took part in the building. I didn't know who convinced them to do.

My prayer is that Immanu-el and He will manifest His power and do marvelous things for your help. Amen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I apologize, but in my home country of the US we pretty much stop saying that the day after Christmas. If you meant before that, it was because certain individuals were reporting my posts as spam and I could not login for around 10 days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is a very good thing you're putting together. I hope it works out well. Good bless you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Darla, and God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray that God will crown your efforts towards the growth of His kingdom work, he will make provisions readily available just as he provided for Nehemiah in the Bible. And I pray His will be be your wish and you wont go astray.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your prayers and well wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that the church will successfully build even there are lots of problems and struggles, here on Philippines building houses nor structures required lots of papers and permit, sometimes it takes years in order to fully furnished those documents. I know there will be good people that will help to build the church, your a good person sir.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are correct. Lots of hoops to hurdle. Mubuhay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago