Attacked and Ridiculed

18 54
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, Spiritual, Jesus

Things happen. Ridicule I can handle. Beatings, yes, most of the time. If my grammar is errant, forgive me. I am typing with one finger, and one eye partially closed. The pain I can handle as well.

The situation

I wanted to visit my mates who I have not seen for six months. Normal conversation ensued: talk about our wives, etc. And then religion was brought up. This was my opportunity to preach Jesus.

Some of my mates were getting on about my absence from the bar scene. A few scoffed at the mention of Jesus. But preaching and teaching is my responsibility as a Christian. In fact, everyone who calls on the the of the Lord has that responsibility.

There were all the typical arguments about there was no God, everyone was going to heaven, Jesus was just a man, etc. Adept at apologetics, I refuted everyone of the arguments.

The end result

Without going into the sordid details, suffice it to say I have been absent for a couple of weeks nursing my afflictions. I was too weak to feed myself or even open my laptop.

Thankfully I have a very loving wife. She took the responsibilities that are a man's job. It took a few days to even see or hold my son. That was my main pain.

So all this is not a plea for sympathy but rather there are times when the gospel message will be met with hostilities. Preach and teach it anyway.

Now if I could only see to shave! And my apology for such a short article.

Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty

15
$ 4.38
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @PrincessMae
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
+ 2
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
2 years ago
Topics: God, Spiritual, Jesus

Comments

You are so blessed with your wife. And you are right, as a follower of Christ, we ought to carry our cross as well. Preach the gospel to the people. Regardless of what they may think about us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She's definitely a blessing. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, such a caring wife. Just keep going on what you love friend.. Happy for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love you're resilience about preaching the gospel and this is the persecution that was discussed in the Bible and it's meant to be a Joy to us suffering for Christ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is correct, sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh glad you had a loving wife to do your job friend. What you did was right. I hope you won't stop, cheer up and keep preaching thats a good thing to do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I plan to keep preaching. Thanks, Faith.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people don't believe that God existed. There's nothing wrong about preaching the word of God the problem is the person who listen to it. Be careful always

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for caring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, kuya! Good thing though, your in our times and didn't get hand cuffs and spent countless nights in prison. At least you went home and spent days and still at liberty to see your son anytime. Don't sulk. Cheer up, its almost December. Lets count our blessings and not defeat. Its not all the time we won. Just think like this "many are called but few are chosen". And men of Christ are highly persecuted, sorry this is nothing new but rather - EXPECTED. If Christ was persecuted, the more men. Good morning.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I was cuffed before. Beaten and robbed. But I am far from sulking! Good morning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great! That's the spirit...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Sorry, can't see that well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please be more careful... We just have one life to live... Merely state your opinion and leave next time... Don't get into arguments... Stay safe friend...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The early Christians didn't play it safe. And for those who don't think I should be a bar preaching, don't forget Paul in Corinth (and elsewhere).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright.... I hope your faith brings you greater peace than trouble... Stay safe...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I was merely stating facts not opinion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago