#9 That yummy snack called "Taho"

32 112
Avatar for ScarletDoll
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

Early this morning I have been waiting for a Taho peddler to come by in our street. Mostly he is selling too early and sometime too late in the morning. I am lucky this morning because I had a chance to buy my favorite taho to my suki vendor. Some of you were already familiar with "Taho" especially if you were a Pinoy or had visited Philippines before.

"Taho" is a simple snack which is highly popular in the Philippines. Usually a vendor is carrying a 2 stainless steel containers which are connected using a long narrow wood. It cointain the ingredients and the disposable cups. Imagine carrying those heavy containers on their arm while selling it in different places, it is very tiring that is why I have a respect for every taho peddler.

It's main ingredient is freshly made soft tofu. Arnibal (caramelized sugar syrup) and Sago (tapioca pearls) are added to it. Since tofu had a bitter taste therefore it is better to add some syrup to add a sweetness and sago to have a more satisying taste.

This is the actual photo of the Taho I bought earlier. You can easily notice the freshly made soft tofu. This is considered to be a healthy snack because we all know that tofu is made from soybean which is known to be very nutritious for the health. I also read in some articles that soybean can reduce the risk of having a cancer but disclaimer this is not a cure for it.

Ever since when I was just a kid I really love eating taho because of its sweet and delicious taste. Some vendors do add condensed milk on top of it but for me the syrup is much better because if they add a condensed milk then it will taste more sweeter which is not too healthy anymore for me, just in my opinion.

You can buy taho at a minimum of 5 pesos ($.10). This glass of taho is 10 pesos ($.20) already. It is reasonable because of the higher price of commodities now its price and quantity has been affected. But still worthy to buy a taho because the quality of its taste never lessen at all.

Kids do really love taho than adults. I always notice when I am buying that more kids are buying compared to my age or older. But taho is a perfect snack for everyone, no age limit at all.

In some part of the Philippines, taho is available in different flavors. Just like in Baguio City they were selling a strawberry and ube flavored taho. How I wish I could try to taste that when I visit Baguio soon πŸ˜‹. In Metro Manila a watched a blog in youtube that there is also a Mango flavored taho which I found very interesting to try also. Unfortunately in our place we only have the original flavor, the one with caramelized sugar syrup.

I think adding some flavors to taho will level up its distinct taste and for sure customers would also love to buy it from time to time. Before it is only available in the street but now when you come into the mall or restaurant they were also selling a variety of taho. It is being recognized by most of the business food owners too.

Taho is considered to be a signature snack in the Philippines as the demand of consumption is getting higher and higher each year. I think taho is also available in some countries as well because Pinoys are every where in the world. If you did not try yet to eat a taho then I am telling you now that you should give it a try because I can assure you that it will satisfy also your cravings.

10
$ 0.23
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Freedom007
+ 3
Avatar for ScarletDoll
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

Comments

Hala na kaka crave naman po Yan sis ang tagal na namen d nakakain Ng taho e madalang Ng dumaan yung nagtitinda dtu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan lang din ako kung makabili ng taho kasi minsan di ko maabutan yung nagtitinda.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh I ate taho lastweek hehe still I can buy 5peso cup of taho. Thats already my snack during recess time. Still taho is the best childhood snackπŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even with small serving of taho would be fine for me πŸ˜‹.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hearing of this snack for the first time. Have not really had a taste of syrup, I would prefer the condensed milk if I was offered a cup of it...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Condesed milk is good also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks so attractive. Good to know about this variety food made out of tapioca.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy that most of you do like it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks so tasty and attractive πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aside from being tasty it is also good for the health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that looks good and it's so affordable there :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a best seller snack here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really miss having "taho" every morning way back in my childhood days. Bihira nalang kasi ang taho dito sa amin. Namiss ko tuloy ang strawberry taho from Baguio. ❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang gusto ko lang sa Taho sis yung black na flavor hindi ko alam kung ano yun hehe hindi pa ako naka try ng ibang flavor.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun yung arnibal ang nilalagay na syrup.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah okay sis arnibal pala yun now I know .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masarap talaga ang taho sis, at marami pang bitamina ang makukuha, yung ayaw ko lang sa taho is yung sago, kapag bumili ako ng taho hindi ko nilagyan ng sago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman gusto ko may sago at kaunti lang yung arnibal na ilalagay para di sobrang tamis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masama din kapag subrang tamis sis, kaya mas maiigi kung katamtaman lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I miss taho! Bihira lang kasi may dumadaan na magtataho dito sa amin at kung dadaan man eh nakamotor ko hahabulin mo pa, hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mabilis po talaga kumilos ang magtataho kaya ang hirap bantayan haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

true, what more kapag nakamotor, hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My my this looks so delicious, haven't tried it out. I will look for Yahi in India maybe it's known with other name but the ingredients would he similar I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you can find it in your place too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd like to point out that I discovered your writings through the homepage of this website, which is where this particular writing of yours is displayed.

After conversing with the taho vendor, I would often double or triple the price of an ordinary taho on top of its original price. This is because I've noticed that milk tea and other more expensive beverages are more appealing to children and adults than milk tea. Therefore, based on my observations, the daily income of these ordinary vendors could barely meet their family's expenses, including expenses for sending their children to school. After all, I see them putting in so much physical labor for an honest income.

All the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was a great gesture to help also those taho vendors. You were right also that there are more in demand drinks and snacks rather than taho but I will never replace taho as one of my favorite snack 😊.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A buko vendor also operates outside of our neighborhood and sells buko juice for a trifle. He regularly travels far beyond the area for higher income, so his schedule appears random. Sometimes, he displays goods in his regular spot just outside of our neighborhood. In addition, whenever I do meet him, I gift him an extra $1 or $2β€”sometimes less since I didn't expect to see him that day, which is why I carry less cash that day. :-)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarap naman ng Taho. Favorite ko talaga yan sis. Now na stop ako kasi tanghali na ako gumigising.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan nga hindi ko naaabutan yung magtataho πŸ˜‚ ang bilis kasi mag lakad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo yan sis. Ang bilis nila. Minsan di na maabutan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dati talaga hindi ako kumakain ng taho but then yung mga kasamahan ko sa trabaho breakfast nila to at yun nasarapan naman ako haha kaya ngayon hinahabol habol ko na si mang taho kapag dumaan sa aminπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Masarap naman kasi ang taho kaya nakakawili din bumili palagi hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago