The Best City in the Philippines: Baguio City

25 89
Avatar for SassySissy
3 years ago
Baguio City's aerial view by Lyka Joson (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/SYKO-oEdOSk)

You may be thinking how in this sh!t world made me think that Baguio City is the best city in the Philippines. You might think that I am out of my freakin mind but no! Hold up and listen because I will be sharing to you all the things that convinced me that Baguio City is the best.

Reminder: Everything that you will be reading forward is solely based on my opinions and thoughts. I am not disregarding other places and I absolutely do not intend to offend someone.

Sponsors of SassySissy
empty
empty
empty

Baguio City is dubbed as the Summer Capital of the Philippines due to its mountain like weather. It is also called as the City of Pines because of the Pine trees that are very significant to the city.

What was stated above is not the reasons why I think Baguio City is the best. Thats just a simple introduction for you to know just a bit about the city.

I have lived in Baguio all my life. Baguio took care of me for 22 years. The city opened my eyes and see the good things about life. Baguio is part of my life.

Photo by Jett Kalvin (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/wT9wM4yZmXs)

Lets begin shall we?

The many reasons why I consider Baguio City as the best city in the Philippines is because of its rich culture and traditions, the amazing and preserved tourist spots, and most specially, the unique geographical identify of the city.

CULTURE AND TRADITIONS

Photo by Aldrino (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/ckFPvAGySMw)

I will not deny the fact that all places in the world has its own culture and tradition that differentiate them from others but I must say that the City of Baguio must be one that has the richest and unique culture and traditions.

The city is mostly consist of a tribal group called the Igorots - they are the natives from most part of the region Cordillera Administrative Region. As part of this amazing group of people, I have witnessed a lot of heavenly practices. From the unique dances (cańao or kanyaw as the most famous one) up to the best festivals (Panagbenga etc.).

The cultures and traditions of the city really just fascinates and captivates me. It tells how the people are like - which are great by the way, the lifestyles and also the beliefs. The different events, festivals, and city occasions reflects the absolutely amazing culture and traditions of the city.

TOURIST SPOTS

Photo by Gunnar Ridderström (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/2CT0_mPRQxQ)

Baguio City as mentioned is situated in the great province of Benguet which are known for its agriculture. The city is the perfect place for escapades and relaxation.

Together with the cool weather are the beautiful tourist spots. I can't even wait to identify each one of them. Are you ready? Lets do it.

CAMP JOHN HAY

Photo by Vic Alcuaz (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/_L3_94_nxPQ)

Camp John Hay, according to statistics, is the most famous attraction in the City of Baguio. It was a former American R&R spot in the 1900s but is now a private resort. Cam John Hay is located in the mountains and depite of the city's rapid growth, it still offers a very welcoming atmosphere. Without a visit to Camp John Hay, a visit to Baguio is not complete.

LA TRINIDAD STRAWBERRY FIELDS

Photo by Gina Tigere (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/Iq0hVAcapc8)

The strawberry fields is not technically located inside Baguio but its just 3 kilometeres away. The main thing to do in the fields are strawberry picking which by the way is one the funnest thing to enjoy especially with family or friends. The rates varies and the most common factor that affects it is the supply and the season. Fresh strawberries arent the only food you purchase there but also some homemade strawberry jams which are so tasty and delicious.

BELL CHURCH

Photo on Wikipedia

The infamous Bell Church are one of the cultural structures located in the city. It is very significant to the Chinese community not just in Baguio but also in the province of Benguet. It is such nice place to visit because of its cool architectural design. Visiting the Bell Church makes you temporarily forget that you are in the Philippines. The church really gives you the Chinese feels.

BURNHAM PARK

Photo by Jem Sahagun (Link: https://unsplash.com/photos/pfHIvt7oN3U)

Last but not the least, the "mother of all parks", right at the heart of the city, Burnham Park. The park is 30 hectares of amazing spots. A lot of recreational things to enjoy most especially with your family, friends and special someones. Within the park, there are also a lot of establishments to visit. But the thing that standout in the park is manmade lake where you can go boating. Boating is not the only activities you can enjoy at the park but also skating.

There are more tourist spots you can visit in Baguio City. Some of them are the following: The Valley of Colors, Session Road, Baguio Cathedral, Wright Park, Mansion House, Mines View and more.

Photo on Wikipedia

GEOGRAPHICS

Photo on Wikipedia

Baguio City as stated in the Baguio.gov website is 250 kilometers north of Manila. Its high location makes the city one of the coldest places in the country. Its terrains are amazing for hikings and trekkings. The mountains within the city - including of those located in Benguet - are one of the best geographic assets of the city. Its location makes the city a phenomenal.

I am sure that there are a lot more things that makes Baguio City great which I will include in the future. But these are the most significant ones that I can think of.

As I stated in the first part of the article, this is just my opinion and my thoughts.

My Links:

Check my Noise.cash account as well. See you there!

14
$ 11.97
$ 11.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @lucas
+ 5
Sponsors of SassySissy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SassySissy
3 years ago

Comments

I love those photos, I hope I can visit Baguio some time🙈 annyeong SassySissy! Nice visit from rusty😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kamsamnida Laurenceuuu. These photos are beautiful but to see them in person is more fulfilling. I hope when this pandemic is over, you can visit Baguio City.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I hope so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! How I wish I can visit Baguio before I die. LOL. By the way, I enjoyed reading your article. It's very informative. The City of Baguio should thank you for this awesome advertisement. HEHEHE.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you for your kind words ate. I am so glad you were able to enjoy it. I would be making some more of this and I hope I will be hearing good regards from you again. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd like to get an invite and visit the strawberry Fields.... 😏😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would definitely invite you if I have the means to do so. But for argument sake that I do, it will be hard to enter Baguio and Benguet this upcoming few weeks as the Mayor of the city decided to put Baguio back into an Enhanced Community Quarantine. So its pretty unlikely for people outside Baguio to enter the city which is just sad.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Its alright, we'll just get more tips and have more for the next time around. Heard y'all got festivals almost all year long.. it'd be a good exploration trip.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we do have few festivals here. The most popular one is the Panagbenga festival. But I think it would not be celebrated as big as how it was celebrated the past few years because of this pandemic we are facing today.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am so jealous that you are living there at Baguio. I love Baguio City and even though I don't live there I think it became part of my childhood. We used to go there occasionally but since last year we got our plans cancelled to go there because of the pandemic. I really hope that we can go there again sooner. Thank you for you for this article. I got a glimpse of Baguio today.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am so glad you enjoyed my article. Its so good to hear that people outside Baguio appreciates the city. I hope that in the near future, you will be able to visit here again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really hope so that we'll visit soon. After this pandemic maybe. When it's safe to travel already.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that's smart. You should really travel when this pandemic is not a threat any more. Take care you and your family. God bless!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep. We got a lot of kids at home and we can't leave them nor we can't risk their safety if we tried to travel. So travelling at this time is really not an option. Anyway, you too and your family, take care always. God bless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

noice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for stopping by and leaving a response. I very much appreciate it. Have you been in Baguio City?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

on 2014 but thats long time ago, I know there's a lot of changes there and someday I want to get back there 😃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww yeah. There's has been a lot of changes today. A lot of improvements and added spots to visit. I hope you'll be able to come and enjoy the city once again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm supposed to be asleep rn but yeah, forget it. Baguio is absolutely one of the extraordinary city of the Philippines 🇵🇭 I remember going there with my sisters, especially on Christmas village, wright Park, the mansion and of course, the strawberry farm and look for twinnie strawberry 🍓 haha But the Burnham park is so dirty 🤧 and I also had a nightmare their when the boat of other family is literally sinking🤪 luckily, our boat turns out to be pretty close with them and there are more also so we can save them for the reason that the rescue pipz is nowhere to be found🤪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is so unfortunate and saddening that you have to experience all of those terrible things. I was not able to experience the same with the park so my pov towards it is still great. Going back to your kind comment, you did help those people at the lake when their boat is sinking? That was such an honorable action you did there. Keep on being a good person. Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm with my older sisters back then, I don't know what to do that time🙈🙉 I always put myself in a hard situation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah! Baguio city looks really great based from the pictures 😮😆

As for being the best city in the philippines, it may just depend on who's talking, but nonetheless a beautiful place indeed. 🏔️

Baguio city is also home to the Philippine Military Academy 💂🎖️

I remember i had a facebook friend a few years back that lived in baguio, 🤔 although i lost that old FB account so i havent actually talked to that person in a long time.🤦‍♂️ Oh well.

Great article, keep improving those skills 💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for that kind response. And I do agree with you. Its just a matter of perspective. And about PMA, I was not able to include it because I just forgot about it. I dont even know why. Hahaha! But anyways, thank you for checking out my article. God bless!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It looks fascinating :) You said you are a part of the native group, I would love to see a post about the traditions and the old way of living.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would be very glad to share the traditional practices that we still do up to date. I will be making more articles about my hometown and also about my people. Just keep in touch. And by the way, thank you for your insight.

$ 0.00
3 years ago