"Freedom"

2 29
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

Hello to my fellow writers. Today was stress free for me been a Sunday. After Sunday Service, I snapped with my friends as usual. When I got home, I took lunch and slept off. Today, I would like to share whatI have noticed in the past years about 'freedom'. Right now I don't mean freedom as an English word. After many years of learning a trade or skill from a boss, like fashion designing, photography, carpentry, e.t.c. there is need for freedom, without freedom from the boss such a person is not allowed to establish his own shop or work with that skill.

In my Community and some others communities I have learnt that bosses used this freedom ceremony to make money from their apprentice. When I just started learning, I met some seniors with my boss that have used more than the years they are supposed to use but couldn't leave because they are not able to afford the money for freedom. Left to me, the whole money raised for this freedom of a thing is enough to start up a business with all necessary facilities and equipment to be bought.

They take freedom as a serious ceremony in my community, I remember a list I had a glance through from my boss, the items the apprentice is expected to bring for the ceremony includes;

20 tubers of yam

Five packs of drinks

Two packs of malt

Five cartons of biscuit

Two Live Chicken

$50 for certificate, and another

$20 for prayer.

All these are what she's to bring, it does not include the foods and drinks to be prepared to entertain the guest who attended the ceremony. However, I have seen and heard that these list is very little compared to others. Since then, I have concluded that I will not participate in such. I cannot waste money what is not relevant when I have better things to use money to invest on.

However, we have some cases where they are inevitable, they can't boycott them. As for me I will only get a certificate in fashion designing, that's enough for me. We live in a more civilised society where all these irrelevancies needs to be stopped.

I attended a friend's freedom on photography some years back, we almost empty all our pocket for them, they kept demanding for money after everything they ask us to bring for the ceremony. They demanded that pounded yam and vegetable, including jollof rice is to be served. This friend of mine still got a new laptop and digital camera. All these expenses costed a lot for her parents then.

I my community, anybody who refused to comply with this "freedom ceremony" will not be allowed to work with their skill, they either seize her instrument or she will never have the opportunity to open a shop of her own.

Thank you for reading ♥️♥️♥️

Lead Image Source: Unsplash.

3
$ 0.72
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago

Comments

All those items for just freedom, is it a marriage ceremony? This is serious!

I haven't put eyes much on this freedom of a thing is done in my side

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same thought I had when I saw the list, is it a dowry or what? So much that I didn't even remember, as if she didn't pay when she just joined training

$ 0.00
1 year ago