Crocket Clasp Coin Purse

9 42
Avatar for Romeskie
2 years ago

September 25, 2021. Saturday

Hello read.cash members, this is my first post on this platform. I hope you can help me and we can be friends.

My sister's birthday is upcoming. Back in the day, I would throw a party for her where there's lots of booze involved. But now that we're both mothers and our children are telling us that beer is not good for our health, sneaking up at night for some alcohol is hard.And so I thought of making a crochet project for her instead.

She's requesting for a crochet swimwear but I wanted to give her something she would be able to use everyday. Of course she knows I am still going to give her that swimwear. What can I say, she is my person and since she was a little girl, I have been spoiling her. Whatever she wants, she gets from her big sissy. If our parents turn down her request, she would just phone me and it's done. I don't really mind. Afterall, she deserves the special treatment.

Right now, my parents are living with her. She takes care of our sick father and makes sure our mother is in good shape. And we all know parents are not the best patients. She does that all while she takes care of her daughters. And she never forgets to check up on our brother, who is currently abroad. She also makes sure that my daughter is loved.

I was looking around in the shoppee app for gifts when I stumbled upon this clasp. I did not know how to work with it but I just gave it a go.

This project is pretty simple and straightforward. It starts with a magic ring. The first row consists of 5sc. I did a continuous stitch so there are no seams showing where the row ends and starts. This means that there are no slip stitches at the end of each row. The next row starts with a single crochet right after the last single crochet of the last row. Since single crochets are small and I used a 3.00mm crochet hook, the stitch marker I used was a leftover yarn. Increase on each row until I reached a 50 stitch count.

When the circle base is already at a 50 stitch count, that's when I started to lift the purse upward. To do this, I did a single crochet on every stitch. I think that's around 15-20 rows of 50sc.

The most time consuming part of this project is attaching the crocheted purse into the clasp. There are holes underneath the clasp where I stitched each sc into. I used a regular needle for this because my blunted needle is too big for the holes. If you're going to try this at home, make sure that you stitch the crocheted part tightly and snugly into the clasp.

My sister's favorite color is pink hence the yarn I used. An 8ply polyester yarn I bought from an online shop in Facebook. I hope she likes it.

Materials used

8ply polyester yarn (carnation pink)
3.00mm crochet hook
Needle
Scissors

Pattern

Start with a magic ring.

Then proceed to make 5sc into the magic ring.

For the next row, make 2sc's on the first sc you made. This closes your first row and starts your second row. Don't forget to put a marker on the first sc you'll make on the row 2. This brings the stitch count up to 10.

Continue increasing while putting your stitch marker on the first stitch of every row.
Row 3: 1sc, 2sc, 1sc
Row 4: 1 sc on the next 3 stitches, 2 sc on the next.
Row 5: 1sc on the next 2 stitches, 2 sc on the next, 1 sc on the next 2 stitches
Row 6: 1 sc on the next 5 stitches, 2 sc on the next.
Row 7: 1 sc on the next 3 stitches, 2 sc on the next, 1 sc on the next 3 stitches.
Row 8: 1 sc on the next 7 stitches, 2 sc on the next
Row 9: 1 sc on the next 4 stitches, 2sc on the next, 1 sc on the 4 stitches.

Row 10 -25: 1 sc on each stitch.

Cut end and fasten off.

To attach into the clasp, simply stitch as you normally would. Insert the crocheted purse into the slot on the clasp and stitch through the holes.

This is the first time I used a clasp on my projects. Aside from the cringy feeling of the metal clasp scraping to the metal needle, I enjoyed it. I might do another one for one of my friends again.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

7
$ 0.39
$ 0.36 from @Taraz
$ 0.03 from @Niazi420
Avatar for Romeskie
2 years ago

Comments

I hope you're all doing well😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you all😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read.cash friend. I know your sister like that so much!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I hope we can be friends. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good amazing skills. You are talented. btw, welcome here on read.cash hope you will enjoy your journey here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much! I hope I can achieve the same as yours. 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can mate. Just keep going on it's all about your efforts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read.cash!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago