Comment: Bong Revilla wants to tax video streaming, digital economy

0 6

Recently I read this news from newsbytes.ph that Sen. Bong Revilla file a resolution which is all about the possibility of collectiong tax from the Online streaming, but thats not the case, he want that Multi National Online Streaming like Youtube, Facebook and many other streaming community get tax for the own good of the economy of the philippines.

This all start when Albay Representative Joey Salceda (Albay is a place in the philippines) proposed an imposition of taxing netflix and facebook ads and many more firms as the source of generating a revenues for the government of the philippines.

They composed this because other country like South Korea, singapore and other adopted the degital servuce tax with their respective versions of digitL service tax laws which they can collect tax from local consumption in use of the foreign digital contents and services.

So that Sen. Bong Revilla filed a senate resolution No. 410, he noted also that most if Filipinos are known as online users or digital technology users and spending about   10 hours of their time in the internet, and also Filipinos spend their time surfing on their social media accounts 4 hours every day and spend their time watching and streaming videos online.

Most of my streamer friend said "If this taxation include this may also affect us in near future", this resolution need to be clarified cause this senates are focusing just on government rather than focusing on economic effect, Senator Bong don't also notice that it is possible that some applicstion or website ads may block our country because of taxation they do.

This is my comment for this issue what about you? Is it for our own good? Or just for our government good? What do you think?

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ReactionChannel
empty
empty
empty

Comments

There's a big possibility that those apps or ads company may block our country and this will affect a lot of Filipino. Specially nowadays, many people made vlogging and streaming their main source of income. Can I also ask if you're a streamer too or a vlogger?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, I support my streamer friend, I wish to be streamer too but my budget is not that big to have atleast gaming pc, so that I'm saved my money from online sites that gives me earnings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good thing to start with. Specially there are a lot of earning sites and apps nowadays.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, aaving money from them is good thing but it taies years to got some money here, I just spend them to some useful material for me, I'm planning to buy a glasses that have anti radiation on it, so that I can surf as long as I want.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the government is trying to think of ways on how to earn money and because of these things a lot of people might be affected.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep, what they really want is to helo the government to have fund on this pandemic but base on what this Senate Bong Revilla said, it takes about from 2020 - 2025 just to get what this resolution is, I think in that year this pandemic is cured and what is I expecting? They are the one who get benefit 😁.

$ 0.00
3 years ago