Life of a Corper(Day 1 in camp)

27 67
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

30/7/21

For the next 3 weeks I'll be updating us on my journey in serving my father land. I started writing this article while I was in the bus I'm fully prepared.

All Nigerian graduates are to mandatorily enroll for the one-year scheme, they are to accept job postings across the numerous sectors in the country.

There's even a current bill in the House of Representatives which suggests that the programme should be scrapped.

But, I stand for not scraping the program,why? I love the outfit.πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ

But the president has repeatedly expressed full backing for the continuation of the scheme, arguing that it is a great tool which is needed to unite the already fractured country.

Just as I am so prepared. I have a full bag of loads.

This time yesterday, I was jubilating because I got deployed to Lagos.

For those that might not know, in Nigeria here we see Lagos as our own small London🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣, (well, let me not generalise, that's how I see it) so to serve there, you have to carry yourself with pride.

Remember I told us that I was posted to a southern state which I didn't like at first but decide to create a liking for, since I have no choice but to go. You can check out my article Am I Disappointed to get the full detail.

Since I do not know anyone in Anambra, I decided to pack my load as if I was travelling out for almost a yearπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜„(Lol)

Okay I made my transport bookings on Tuesday as I wanted to go by bus. Since I could't afford taking a flight which would have been more faster and stress free for me.

Anyways, I was already at the motor park, when a friend called me, and told me to ask if the driver would be taking me straight to my destination.

Tge driver said No, and on hearing this I was sad thinking of how I was going to locate the place.

Then I decided to check my portal to view the address, as I logged into the portal, I was so surprised and at the same time shocked to see the change has been reflected and I've been deployed to my dream state.

You see, disappointments come for a reason. That there was a delay in my wish does not mean that I would be denied but God was waiting for the right time to launch my celebrations.

I'm hoping this will be a very great experience for me.

I'll like you all to wish me an hitch free stay in camp.

Lagos is just few hours drive to my place unlike the other place that is a day's journey by road.

Here are some of the things I got;

I have almost 8 of these, all through our stay I camp, we would only be permitted to be on white top and a white short aside from the crested top and khaki they will give us.

Nysc Crested Vest
White and green sock. I took the pictures of mine

I bought my white and green lined socks too, with my white trainers, I can't wait to take pictures πŸ€ͺπŸ€—

My bottles

I'm going with two bottles, one for hot water and the other for cold water. I don't know the state of the weather over there, so I had better get prepared.

My waist pouch

I'm going with a waist pouch as well, this is where I'll keep my phones, camera as well as my money. I'd not want to be robbed in camp(we would have different people with different agenda in camp), so it's best if I safely prepare myself ahead.

Antiseptics, sanitizer and toothpaste/brush

Here's my hand sanitizer and toothpaste, detmold soap and antiseptic. I'm readily prepared to fight germs as well.

My sweets

Here's my lovely Alpenliebe sweet, it will be very handy in camp. I'll have what to munch on before eating.

My earpiece

My earpiece as well is useful, I'll rock my jamz with it when bored, I love much. My power bank too, I need my phone battery full, so I prepare ahead.

Nose mask

Of course, this is a picture of some of my nose masks, I need to be protected. Safety first.

On getting to camp this morning, I went through a lot of stress trying to sign into the hostel.

Series of checkpoints, we started with the checking of documents

After the covid-19 test

Then the clearance of loads

Then, clearance to get a platoon number

After which I proceeded to my platoon for clearance

Then I went for the bank opening. We have to open a new account designated by Nysc, where the government can't pay our allowances monthly.

After which I went for the collected of my camp wears. We call it 7/7. It contains a Khaki and trouser, a white crested vest, a face cap, a belt, two white tops, two white shorts, and two pair of socks.

I got all, though I had to take my khaki and trousers for amendments as it is very big for a slim sized me.

I'll attach pictures πŸ“· tomorrow. I'm too tired to do that now. I need to rest.

All pictures were taken by me, at the orientation camp Lagos 30/7/21.

Love you all.

NB: Reading and commenting on articles will be very tough for me in the coming days, whenever I come online I'll try the little I can do.

There'd be light out by 10pm.

18
$ 10.52
$ 9.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 11
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

Comments

Take lots of care and I hope you will have a great time there. I miss packing things. I was just thinking about that when I was taking a bath earlier. I told myself that I needed to have small bottles for my toiletries. And then I remembered that I should try shampoo and conditioner bars so that if I will travel soon, it is much easier to pack and it is very enironment friendly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations! Hopefully your experience would be wonderful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lasgidi corper i hail oπŸ˜€πŸ™ŒπŸ½πŸ™ŒπŸ½πŸ™ŒπŸ½

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have a wonderful time :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

i just missed those days when we used to have this adventure too. have a great time, queen. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Congrats, Corper Queen! :) I'm glad for you. Enjoy your time, and keep us posted!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks everyone,for the great love. ❀❀❀❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First off, congratulations on your mobilisation. Still expecting mine. Lol I'm not really a big fan of NYSC anyway. It may even sound odd but I'm hoping it is scrapped or at least made optional for youths in the country since it's an unnecessary waste of one year for a fresh graduate who wishes to proceed with their studies. Nevertheless, it's a good boost for graduates too with the monthly stipend. But I'm still not a fan. Lol

Enjoy , Lagos. Hope to see you rocking the outfit you so much like as you keep us posted on your experience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, we're waiting for you junior white fowl, Otondo🀣🀣. It's fun though, meeting new people and the activities too, tiresome and at the same time fun-filled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeey! Congratulations and stay safe on your trip Queen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seems like an adventure to me πŸ˜‹ Best of luck 😊 and stay safe πŸ’ž

$ 0.02
2 years ago

have fun! keep safe always!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have fun in your camp. Stay safe always. It's very hassle to have trips nowadays.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was a tiring yet a fruitful day Queeny

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Keepsafe there and have fun :) you seems prepared very much thats good for you. Waiting for your update there .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There it goes! All the best in your new endeavor! I believe you'll have some fun out there! Keep safe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, that's so exciting! Congratulations and you go Queen!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Corper we wa, congratulations the journey has just began

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm, our Corper Queen of Readcash. Abeg bring more people to join us here oo But wait? I thought they would provide all the clothings and socks for you guys! Did you buy them yourself? And again, can't they use our normal bank details instead of going through the stress to open another account? πŸ₯΄ I wish you safety and God's protection over there in Lagos. Abeg help me greet my sister ooπŸ™„πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They provides for us, but it's so transparent and will expose your underwears, you know it's white. You need to go prepared. Get extra of everything. They will give you low quality of everything. Your sister will hear. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayyy! Congratulations on your trip. Have a safe one and stay safe there. πŸ’— We'll wait you here in read cash.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Miss Jo. Grateful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome, Queen. πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your trip and soon return to read.cash activities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am. Gracias.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Igbo people knows how to entertain corpers. So don't be afraid because you are going to be entertained to the fullest. I can see that you are ready and ever baby to go to the camp. Safe trip.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. But I don't want. I'm back in Lagos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago