Friend Like no Other who can find

Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago

In life we have people of various backgrounds, behaviour, mentality and all. Putting too much trust in anyone could lead to you being heartbroken and hurt.

God can be trusted and relied on

Waking up this morning, the thought on my head was centred on my roommate while I was in school. We started out fine and very cool, then it got to a point we fell apart.

She's the kind of friend that would keep her foodstuffs while we eat mine and when mine finishes she starts measuring hers before bringing it out.

Same as her money, she keeps saying she has nothing that her parents did not send anything to her. Immediately I get my pocket money I'll give her a share of mine for her to hold to.

This continued until, she told me a friend of hers will be staying over with us for a while before she gets her own place. I agreed and the friend came. First thing I noticed was that the friend also came without foodstuffs.

Based on my course of study(Mathematics), I'd have left home so early, and also retun late. By the time I return they would have cooked, eaten and even washed the pot. They would tell me they haven't eaten since they got back from school. As tired as I was I would start cooking or sometimes I'd eat out.

Then, I got back from school and I met them fighting, I mean my then roommate and the said friend. I asked then what was wrong but they both said nothing. As usual I cooked, ate, read for a while and slept.

The following weekend, my roommate left early for a church program and I was left with her friend. The friend then started lamenting that she had known that my roommate is a person like this,she wouldn't have agreed to come stay with us.

She told me that when she was about moving in to our place my roommate told her not to worry about bringing foodstuffs but she should come along with money which she did. She gave her the money when she came but got to realize that my roommate locked her own foodstuffs in a bag and they have been eating mine.

I smiled and told her I knew and there was nothing wrong in it. She said everything is wrong and I shouldn't take it lightly with her. I Immediately knew that this girl is out to cause commotion amidst us.

But as human I started withdrawing from my roommate, I wasn't really free with her as usual, what her friend told me was always ringing on my mind. Then one day she went out and I searched her things and saw the locked bag. I've always seen the bag but have never opened it.

This particular day I took the key and opened it, lo and behold I was shocked to my wildest esteem because the bag was full of beverages. I wept because everything my beverage finishes, we would both go out to get more, and she never for once told me had any.

I also got to know she had over 1000thousand in her account, and I still share my little pocket money with her.

I withdrew from her totally, I packed my foodstuffs out of the room. I took them to a coursemates place and only bring the quantity I want to cook home daily.

We fell off, we stopped talking, we only said hi to ourselves when we wake up. Because she wasn't happy I packed the foodstuffs and she didn't know I've seen hers where she kept it.

Well, her friend left our place after a while, since they couldn't settle their dispute(a long story too)

After the friend left, we were both at home one day and I decided to discuss with her because I didn't want us to keep holding grudges.

I asked why she kept her foodstuffs hidden while we ate mine, as I was always of the thought that she doesn't have. She replied that she was saving it for when we wouldn't have anything at all.

I was shocked because sometimes when I lament or call my parents that I do not have foodstuffs, she still didn't tell me she has anything.

Well, I graduated before her and left her in the house, she stopped talking to me, but every once in a while I chat her up to check how she's faring. But our relationship hasn't been that cordial as before.

This brings me to the realisation that there's only one friend one could have that would stay true to you. And that is Jesus. He's a true friend. And would stay by you no matter what.

If you think you can get joy from a person, you lie. I pick friends wisely now because I've learnt.

6
$ 0.61
$ 0.30 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of QueenRay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenRay
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

God is our true friend none can love us the way he does. She was was really selfish how would one have yet hide it from yourself and others , really amazing. The best thing is you hold no grudge

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. I hold no grudge against her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Human being will always be human. I've experienced something similar in my 100l days. I trusted my roommates too much. i learnt the hard way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's always a lesson to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When it comes to staying together and doing things in common there is no true friend, we only beneficial they call you friend because of what they are gaining from you. I have lots of them that their conscience keep them fall away from me even when I still try to maintain the friendships

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ummmh. Only God can help in making choices of friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is human for you,they will always be selfish. You have done the best thing for not having grudges with her and that's why God has continuallly bless you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You welcome ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is why I don't like roommate thing. I prefer living alone in my room and be free with everything I have. I can't even live with someone because I won't be comfortable. That is friend for you. I remembered when I was in the college of education then, friends would come to borrow things from me and I would give them but when it finishes and I ask them, they will say they don't have. Meanwhile I know they have. Since then, I have always mind my business with stuff and give out when I am convinced to do so.

At least you knew the kind of friend she is but you choose to keep doing the good you know how to do. This is why God has always blessed you and your parents too.

Jesus is the only friend who sticks more than ordinary friends we have today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As in... I learnt the hard way. I can't even advise my enemy to have a roommate. Its better you are on your own, than having a roomie. Though there's the advantage of slashed houserent and companionship BUT the harm is more than the good.

Thanks sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trusting someone is not the best because that person can fail you. The only one who cannot fail is God. This kind of person who hides foods from you but I my to finish what you have can kill. Yes...she is the type that one cannot trust and cannot be with. Thank God you left there before her. I have one who always promise me by making me to exhaust what I have that he will give me more but later will disappoint me. God never disappoints but we humans does.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Imagine. That's human for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think there is a deeper reason behind all that but she shouldn't have done that especially when you have nothing. I can't judge her but I just hope she is not doing that now and that she has changed for the better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm actually not judging her too. And I still try as much as possible to relate with her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a very good friend but she abused your good heart. It's quite funny though for her, she lost you just because she was kind of stingy when you're so much of a giver.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks. I could remember she was always saying she would be my chief bridesmaid on my wedding day. She lost the place too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Not your loss though :) Just keep being the awesome you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot naman. Sayang ang pagkakaibigan nyo. Bihira na lang magkaroon ng kaibigan na tulad mo at sinayang niya pa. Ok lang yun, siya ang nawalan at hindi ikaw.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, it's a waste of friendship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago