What Does "Success" Mean to Me

Avatar for Prudence
3 years ago

This question really brought me back to some moments in the past. I remember when I was still in elementary, we were asked to write an essay about "What will I become 20 years from now". Ofcourse as a child, I wrote about becoming a successful teacher. I even draw a picture of me standing in front of my students. During that time, I was so hopeful and optipismic.

And then, came high school. Another essay for what will i become 10 years from that time. Again, I wrote about the same story, becoming a successful teacher. But that time, I was already doubtful about that dream to come true. My father already made it clear to us that they can only support us until high school, after that, we would have to find a way to support ourselves if we want to pursue college. Our family have been through a lot during that time and college is the very least thing that will come up to my mind. On my second year in high school, I already gave up. I even confronted my mother about dropping school or transfering to a night class so that I can work. And that actually made my parents mad. They still want us to finish high school. And yes i did as a compliance.

After high school, I immediately applied for a job but since i was still not of legal age, i never landed on a job. Until my mother's friend introduced me to a person who owned a bakery. I applied as a saleslady on their bakery. I stayed there for about 4 months before i decided to go home. My next job after 2 months was a gasoline/ pump attendant in a gasoline station near our home. This time, i stayed there for 2 years because it was very convenient for me. I earned 120 pesos/day during that time. During lunch time, I will just go home to eat. I was already contended that way. Until one day, my brother, who is a working student in college, spoke to me about life.. He asked me if will i just be contended on what i have now? He actually shared to me about some book that he read that speaks about "better best". He also added, that it's about time i get some directions.

My brother encouraged me to enroll in college. I worked during the day and go to school at night. I only completed 1 semester because of some health issues but that was already the beginning of getting that so called "direction". I was able to work in different electronic companies as an operator and data encoder. After 6 years of working, I decided to go back to college with the help of my sister who just became a teacher during that time. I was already married that time. I had to stop because I got pregnant with my first child, Prudence. I decided to work, that time as a teacher assistant. After giving birth, i stayed with my child for 9 months and then applied in a BPO company. Stayed their for 2 years before deciding to look for better opportunity. I wanted to work at home, purchased desktop and quit my job,. but I was not luccky so i decided to apply on another bpo company and was lucky to be hired. It has been 10 months now since I started with my new employer, they gave us an opportunity to work in the comfort of our home and beside our loved ones.

Life have had some twists and turns, but God have always been there. I may not be able to become the teacher that i always write on those essay but being a happy mother, that my children needs, is the best success that i ever had.

By the way, even during college, they still asked us to write an essay about what we will become 5 or 10 years from now. Even during interviews, they will ask you, if where do you see yourself 2 years from now. Hahaha.. Come to think about it, that actually made me thought before that inorder for us to succeed, we need to wait for 5, 10 or 20 years, when actually success is an everyday thing. The things that you do now will give you success tomorrow. Now is the perfect time to succeed and not 5, 10 or 20 years from now. Thanks to my brother who never failed to encourage me all the time.

Lastly let me say this also, yes, contentment is good, but why would you stay contended when you can do better?

@Eirolfeam2 this is my entry for your $1 Question Contest. Hope you enjoy reading😊

https://read.cash/@Eirolfeam2/the-1-dollar-question-giveaway-c57bf5be

23
$ 3.02
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Eirolfeam2
Avatar for Prudence
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Very nice your post..... Pase thakle pase paben

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. This is really inspirational. Thank you for sharing to us your journey to success. I must admit, I had goosebumps reading it. Indeed success is an everyday thing, and it is up to us to work on it. We really don't have to wait for the time to come for us to be called successful. We can call ourselves successful if we chose to do the right thing. And being a mother is already a success in itself. I agree to your last statement. That is just what I said to the other user. Don't settle for less if you know you can have more. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad that you appreciate my article. Thanks for the opportunity that you gave, I was able to share my journey in achieving the real success😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lecor oi... waaahhh nakahilak ko 🥺🤧

Im so proud of you Cor. You have matured well enough. I totally agree that success is an everyday thing- That's a very smart line!

Good job! Let's go get some gold in here. Your very proud Manoy here Cor. As in very proud jud.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Char.. Hehehehe.. Salamat😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

naman 😉 tuloy ang laban

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So moving!!!!! love it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

what a touching article and experience you have. I'm glad that you did not give up. thank you. God bless n keep safe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much.. Same to you, keep safe and God bless😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

your very welcome. laban lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really gd keep it up ☺️ pls back like and cmnt

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, i will

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me successful mean is, I can make myself, my parents, my family and the surrounding people happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I agree, in everything you do make sure that you and the people surrounding you happy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hope can do it like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nothing is impossible.. Go for it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, will go for it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

a very inspiring story of yours towards success. Congratulations that you overcome some hardships and did not surrender instead you continue whatever may happen that is the spirit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I'm glad that I was able to inspire you by sharing my story. 😍😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you're welcome keep it up your doing good and is at the right track❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago