What prevents action? (Continuation)

21 49
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Image from Alexandra Gorn

Sincerely, I really appreciate everyone who gave their time reading my last article, liked and commented beautifully. I am glad you all enjoyed it and even agreed that fear prevent action. This is the continuation of my post yesterday titled "What prevents action?"

Going through the comments, @CryptoNag gave me another hint of what prevent action which is "fear of making mistakes."

Thank you for this, friend.

You are very right. What we don't know is that in the journey of making it big, we would make mistakes. Mistakes are like failure and it is not possible to get it all right at first. Mistake is part of life and it is what gives us experience to talk about when finally giving our speech on how we made it in life. So, do not be afraid of making mistakes. It's normal and also good because you will surely gain more knowledge from it.

"A man who doesn't make mistakes has not actually tried something"

Princessbusayo

Aretha Franklin said something about mistake;

"You make mistakes. You try to learn from them, and when you don't, it hurts even more."

Quote source

In fact you have made a big mistake if you do not learn from past mistakes. Nothing to fear in mistakes but to be strong and ready to make one.

I talked about fear of disappointment, rejection and hurt, fear of not having courage and to include in it, fear of making mistakes. I also said fear paints a scenario in our head that causes us to fidget and lose courage of trying.


A PERSONAL EXPERIENCE OF MINE

When I was doing my first teaching practice last year, we organized our end of the session's practice with a programme titled "Career Day". This is the main thing we went for the practice and it is what will be used in grading us. We contributed money on our own and did seminar talk with the students of the school, inviting real career personalities to explain different professions. After the end of the programme, we shared soft drinks and biscuits for the students and suddenly, I heard a student murmuring "Is it because of biscuit I waited for this day?" I was shocked with what he said and was angry. Does that mean he didn't gain anything pertaining to his life?

That means all our efforts decorating, contributing money to at least give them something as refreshmen and inviting real personalities was all in vain? We could have done the seminar and go our way but we chose to make them gain something and happy too.

The next day on the assembly, I wanted to open up and address the students what this boy said and also advised them but seeing my other colleagues from other departments, I couldn't come out. I was feeling shy and having this low self esteem because I feared "what if I ended up saying wrong grammar?" "What if the students didn't listen to me?" "What if I was ignored and shun at by my colleagues?". I concealed those words in my mind and at the same time, I was feeling hurt that I couldn't say anything.

The assembly was almost ending for the day and that was the last day in the school. I immediately summoned the courage and raised my hand signaling to the headmaster that I have something to say. I splitted everything out without minding what people are murmuring silently about. After speaking my mind, everyone clapped and apologized for what happened. I was happy within me because I was listened to and my words made sense.


Do you actually get my point here? If I had kept those words within me, I would still be regretting till today. I might be changing a life then but what if I embraced my fear that day and didn't say a word, it would have been the worst experience so far.


Another thing that prevents action is "PROCRASTINATION". Procrastination is the thief of time and it makes you miss on many opportunities in life. If you keep postponing what you need to do today, tomorrow might be too late to do it and you end up regretting and blaming yourself for not taking action when the time was there.

Thanks for reading from my blog today.

|December 22, 2021|

16
$ 10.57
$ 10.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

We need to take some action to prevent the later regrets.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Procrastination is the killer of time.

No body can claim to be mistake free, for no one is perfect. We learn everyday.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Before reaching the end, we'll encounter different failures that changed our own perspective but what's more important to never give up, continue to walk and boost more confidence.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's simply no harm in trying. I have adopted this for some time now and it seems to be going quite well for me. I've decided that anything that, will make me have regrets about anything ain't worth it so I just do Orr say exactly what I have in mind without any fear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is good. We should be confident to speak it out. No one would kill us at least 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A combination of fear and those of procastinations would never ever do us any good at all. We should rather take that needed action when it is obvious we still have the mercy of time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When we make projections, then by that time, we would have lost or missed out on all opportunities to take action where necessary.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Procrastination is not good and I learnt it the hard way. It is good to do things at the right time and the right way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We won't get anything if we let fears to make mistakes stop us. To make move or action, we should be all ready. Throw all the insecurities and let your mind speak. .. but you know it's easy said than done. Hope it can be as easy as taking a dump 🥺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😅😅 it's indeed said than done. I have experienced such scenario where you feel like opening up but you can't do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, an even bigger mistake is not learning from our mistake. Making a mistake when trying something out should at least teach you a way of not doing that thing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. We should never be afraid of making mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What you did takes courage ..and if there is something I have learnt in my few years on earth it is that children can be mean 😂 and we should always try to speak up no matter how difficult it might seem .. nice cook up princess ❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Thank you dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I would be angry listening to those words too.. Good for you for bringing that issue up hon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all need to fall and fail to become successful..to receive discrimination in order to grow. But you are smart ma. You don't need to be shy. Although we are the same, low self-esteem 🙈🙈. But I guess, you are more confident than me haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehehe well I thought there was no reason to be shy and if one is having low self-esteem then we just have to brace up and be confident which I am trying on my own. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article has just enlightened me more. Thanks for something like this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago