Volunteering

49 83
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

A joke for the morning....

I watched a video clip two days ago and it was so funny and here is how it goes....

Lady A: What is your age young lady?

Lady B: I am 25yrs old

Lady A: This is the age to marry. When will you get married?

Lady B: Soon

(After few minutes, she asked her own question)

How old are you too Auntie?

Lady A: I am 70 yrs old

Lady B: This is the age of death. When will you die?

Lady A: (she was shocked and couldn't say anything again) πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

The moral of the joke is that you should always mind your own business. You don't have any business asking such from anyone. Lady A got what she deserved. Lol


What do I have for us this morning? It's a beautiful bright day and I believe we all had the best night? I slept early last night as I was so weak that I couldn't do anything. I woke up at 2:45am by the sound of the rat creeping into my room and I couldn't sleep again. I picked up my book and read for an hour and thirty minutes before sleeping back.


LET'S TALK ABOUT VOLUNTEERING.

I know I have deviated from the article but I just had to make us smile for the day.

Who is a Volunteer?

volunteer (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/volunteer)

Giving your time to help everyone around you is amazingly valuable, both for yourself as well as your local area. Being a volunteer willingly is like saving for the future and ready to enjoy your efforts of saving. You are mentally and intellectually fit when you decide to give your time to help someone and not waiting to get paid in return.

It is not a crime to earn from being a volunteer but you don't have to place money over your assistance.

I remembered where I was living with my parent before we relocated. The landlord has two buildings. He and his family staying in one while he rented the other one out which we were tenants with other people. I took up the responsibility to always wash the gutter outside our house because these guys weren't ready to do anything. I could have also ignored and decided not to touch it because normally, we were supposed to share the task amongst ourselves.

I started washing the gutter every Saturday and always sparkling clean. When people pass, they shower lots of prayers on me and the landlord was even happy I was doing my duty well. When I gained admission, the landlord was like he is going to miss me because of the gutter which no one was ready to wash it. Most times, my Dad does the work when I was gone.

Volunteering is an act of willingly taking it upon yourself to help no matter what comes out of it or not.


DIFFERENT WAYS OF VOLUNTEERING

You can help to clean the environment, make it neat and tidy. It could be a one-time thing or a occasionally, as it pleases you. I still did it this morning. I help cleared the dirt around my hostel because I couldn't stand seeing everywhere messy. People have been passing by it since last week without doing anything. I woke up this morning to clear it off and it was neat again. I might decide to take my eyes off it too.

Think about a family that needs help and in what way they do need help, if you can assist, kindly do.

Assist in your workplace, there are always one or two things to do around us, let us figure that out and help. There will always be one or two things to do around you unless you just don't feel like doing it. It's okay! No one is gonna force you. It's a willing stuff but you take the credit when you actually help arrange one or two things. Do not say "it's not my work"

The truth is there is always a reward for people like this. If it doesn't come immediately, just know people are watching you from a corner, you may not know. Do it from your heart and not "let me just do it anyhow". Remember volunteering to help someone is like a sacrifice.

Tutoring students: We have seen this everywhere especially in the universities where some particular students would bring it up to help students by arranging tutorials in preparation for their exams. Do you know if they do not want to do it, no one will hold them down? They actually want to help students pass even if they have to collect money from it. They sacrifice their time, energy and everything for the period of time to assist students who are battling to understand a subject.

Mentoring a child: Joel Osteen has volunteered to always drop a podcast every morning which I do listen to. He actually sacrificed his time to inspire us. We have different mentors who we learn from them everyday. They are volunteers who mentors their followers.

Donating books, either the ones you had or get new ones: You have read a book and you find it interesting and inspiring, you then borrow it out to someone to be inspired too. You are a volunteer. Don't keep the knowledge to yourself alone. Lend the books you have read out. Donate books to people and let them learn from it too.

Helping to babysit and a lot more

BENEFITS OF VOLUNTEERING

  • Helping us make new friends and contacts

  • Helping us build interpersonal skills

  • Staying up to date

  • Brings happiness and fulfilment.

Look around you today and find out where and what you can do to volunteer.

Thanks for reading

Click the images for their links

|October 19, 2021|

20
$ 9.90
$ 9.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I remember I volunteer also a general clean-up in our barrio princess. It's helping to each other so the cleanliness will maintain in our home place. We have also planting trees and abacas. We went to the seashore to pick up the garbages.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great. That is an act of volunteering. Thank you for your feedback

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome princess. Thank you.πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a funny one on the first part. That teaches us a lesson on how we are going to deal with people with manner, respect and good approach. Now let's jump about your topic which is "Volunteerism" . This reminds me of all the services I did most especially during college days. I was even awarded as the " Volunteer of the year". But sad to say I was not active lately because I was overloaded by my work yet it was a good feeling that I was able to conduct teaching session , feeding program with the children and distributing school supplies in the mountain. It was a great experience. As of now, I am still planning for something before the year ends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is a great volunteering services you have rendered. You will definitely reap from it because you were willing to help. May God bless you before the year ends to carry out your plan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good thing to Volunteer to do some social works without pay. I once applied for a scholarship and one of the requirements was to attach a certificate of any volunteer work done before. Thankfully i have one which was given when i volunteered to help with HIV/AIDS awareness in school back in year 1. I did it without knowing we'd been given a certificate. And when i was given, i never knew it was going to be useful someday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Can you see! We shouldn't underestimate something like this. It might be of help to us in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's is good to volunteer for a task and it also has it disadvantages,before you volunteer you don't have to be hypocritical about it,what I meant by the disadvantages is that is you wanna volunteer,you start and finish the task,you don't leave it unfinished.so there won't be a bad say about you even though you have it a try and others did not even think of doing it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand your point. This is why one must think before going for such to avoid regretting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we volunteer to do things for others we indirectly do it for ourselves. More like doing something before the time it's needed comes. Doing it with a clean mind counts alot too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. We also gains from it in such act. Thank you Doclayla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rats? Again? I guess they will be your alarm for a while so you can read for your exams tomorrow. I wish you all the best tomorrow dear. God will help you. You can now watch your piled up movies after exam hahaha. I volunteer to your lecturer to help in marking your papers. I will easily give you A.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe! That one for make sense. I need A in all my results πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ Amen. Thank you Happy birthday πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And you will get those As dear. Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I've not volunteered for any community work. But I've volunteered for church activities

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is very good too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you volunteer and help those in need. It's good to interact with the communities and make friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are very right ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never in my entire life that i volunteer myself into doing something. It's not because I don't want to, but because I'm too shy and I don't really like to socialize with a lot of people. Talk about my shyness so really, no 😩

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes I might feel I may not be accepted and I don't like to be embarassed. In other times, I give it a try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did this very well when I was in secondary school, whenever exam time is close by, some set of students will come to me to teach them some subject which I will stay behind every day to teach them voluntarily. There is this particular girl ( my bestie) I do teach her during holiday mathematics, I go to her house and do that every day and I thank God her result was great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When we do something from our heart, we see the good result coming out from it and all credit goes to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in college, I worked as a student assistant, which is nothing more than qualifying as a professor while being a student. Always helping others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is it. We need to help others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really a good thing to volunteer for helping others out, you learn more from people and build yourself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is it! We improve ourselves when we volunteer. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhmmm my experience of volunteering was when I wanted to attend a conference but couldn't avoid the pay for the registration, so I walked up to the convener and volunteer myself as an usher for the day. This was how I participated in the conference and got all the Packages given to those who paid and even more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

See another style. That was so smart of you. We just need to strategize and find a way to volunteer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHHAH LMAO, imagine someone would actually tell those words for real. Telling someone it's the age of death LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The lady A should have minded her business too πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just remembered that the speaker in my office needs clean up after reading your articleπŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 What are you waiting for?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once a volunteer in our community too where we plant trees in some barren areas in our place. That gives me true joy and satisfaction without expecting any return. πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We Experience joy Especially when doing it without expecting anything in return, even though we gain from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Voluteering is the best in life. It makes a person better off and helps raise a person to that wanted place of choice. Voluteering helps restore hope to the hopeless ones amongst us, especially when they are victims of circumstances and natural disaster. It can also come in the form of an assistance to a friend we hold so dear. It could also be an assistance to the elderly and aged ones amongst us. I'm a voluteer person and i enjoy doing It and helping people. Ok oya na, if you want to try my magnanimus level now, just send me your account number make i burst your bubbles with 10bch now nowπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great! Many ways to give an helping hand and we call it volunteering. There are so much to expect which we would gain from it. 10bch πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Are you the second Marc now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually volunteering comes with lots of benefits for the volunteer even it it isn't paid. You get to connect with other volunteers and i tell you it is always a nice experience. My sister got her current job placement from volunteering.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is great. There is so much to enjoy when you wholeheartedly volunteer for something or someone. Congratulations to her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Volunteer is a person who freely offers to take part in an enterprise or undertake a task. It is a personal involvement in a task

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are doing it personally and without anyone forcing you. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't take volunteering as someone forcing us to do things,rather we should take it as a free will and remember others are watching,they might be the one to help us tomorrow.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Volunteering is something that I always choose to do. Most of the times, I do volunteer to teach my students every Saturday for free. This is what many people have been doing to make money. Sometimes I also volunteer to take up the class of a teacher who has left until another teacher comes in.

It's good to volunteer as the reward is the best one ever.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are many ways we can choose to volunteer for people around us. May God crown your efforts with good result sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Today is our community service for my faculty and I'm going to plant some trees and clean the campus, is that also volunteering?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ofcourse it is! That is such a great help to render. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never try volunteering but I really want to experience that 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You should! It's interesting when it comes from your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago