Make Your Prayer Short And Specific

8 42
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Mcyusuf´s post about prayer yesterday inspired me to write this post.

When I was living with Aunt, she would want me to oblige to her orders even if it´s uncomfortable for me. She doesn´t send anyone. Once she gives an order, you don´t complain but do it. Instead of Aunt informing us ahead of something, and without us getting prepared, she will just tell us at the last minute and we must do it because her principle is that “you are eating her food, there´s no excuse to escaping from her orders.” Aunt would inform us that there is a vigil few hours to midnight and I and my brother would murmur.


Praying isn´t our problem, but she would keep repeating the same prayers to prolong the hours and it´s always boring to us and if we do speak out, we would see her anger that moment.

In fact, having our morning devotions, if care is not taken, she can use five hours on it except we have work to do for that day. We are always getting tired and bored when she anchors prayers because she would repeat the same prayer points over and over again. What´s the point?


Many times, she would force us to fast and when I observe my prayer, I do not spend much time because the Bible even says when we are praying, we should be specific and avoid repeating words but my aunt believes that a prayer that do not last an hour or more isn´t a prayer. You are not praying if you do not spend hours doing it and she has her own way of doing that. She will first go into communicating with unseen spirits trying to work on her body, causing her headache, spirits not allowing her to do her work and she would communicate with them, telling them to leaver her alone and raining curses on them. She can spend hours doing this and when she prays, just for few minutes. That is what she does to make the hours go longer than expected. She wants us to be like her, also communicating with spirits 😂


One thing I know is that prayers that are short and specific are always answered too if you focus and concentrate on it with your mind align in the spirit. My aunt would always want people to see she is praying and spending more time on it.


There was a day I fasted and went to pray, I used thirty minutes praying, my aunt sent me back to pray more, telling me I don´t know how to pray. Will I be talking to spirits too? Lol. I was just singing all through because I do not want to repeat things I have said. It weakens someone if you keep saying one thing. Is God´s ear deaf to listen to you? Even before saying it, He already knew but keeping long, repeating same words isn´t necessary, following what the Bible has said.


Seriously, I think it is only in Nigeria that we pray against generational curses and we would spend hours binding and killing our enemies. Lol. Didn´t God says we should love and forgive our enemies? 😂 Why binding, casting and sending fire to destroy them when we can pray for them to change? Don´t mind me because the Bible also said we should not spare the witches around us.

This made me remember a funny joke said by a pastor when I visited my aunt and attended her church for a convention. The man said, one thing about Nigerians is that of existing generational curses while other countries do not have such. He asked if we noticed that we would pray so hard that even our voices would begin to crack, whereas other countries do not take life to be hard because of how solemn their prayer is. Does it mean witches and wizard aren´t after them too? Lol

There was a white woman who kept flaunting about her marriage and how she couldn´t give birth on the defunct uptrennd platform and kept updating us with her pregnancy issue and how she finally got pregnant till she gave birth. I was like “Isn´t this woman not afraid of the wicked ones?” You can´t try such in my country because there are the witches who would start monitoring you and trying their possible best to destroy the womb except you have Christ in you.

I concluded their lives over there is simple as they do not have the spirituals who would monitor their lives, unlike in Nigeria. They also pray in a simple way and do not stress their lungs and bodies all in the name of casting out demons in their lives.

I know I have digressed but I just want to chip in those to make us laugh. It´s important to pray but repeating the same thing will bore and weaken us too. God is a fast listener and also already knows your request before coming to Him. Be specific in your request to God and do not start beating around the bush repeating words over again just because you want to spend hours in your prayer.  Avoid vain repetitions because Jesus says our prayers aren´t answered on time because we aren´t specific, but when we know what to pray about, we won´t have to waste time doing the same thing all over again.


This is not in anyway to canter or change the opinion of the Bible but this is my thought about prayers and spending hours praying the same thing when you can be in the spirit for few minutes, being connected to Him and your prayers would be answered. Though you can spend hours praising and singing to God in different melodies.

Thank you for reading my thought this morning

Photo by: Fa Barboza on Unsplash

[January 16, 2022] (No 16 article for the year)

 

 

4
$ 2.57
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Honestly I don't like indirect prayers like I've encounter it a lot, it must be a prayer for the food but the prayer leader prays a lot of things that it took so long. I don't like it because it fades my focus:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this very well... You see in 9ha, there's a lot of envy and jealousy even between blood brothers not to talk of neighbors, co-workers and the rest, thats why sheer hard work alone is not enough . Might be the reason why alit of people spent hours in prayer because they know that hardowrk alone can't not take you there. But in the western country, everyone is your friend, you don't have a reason to be afraid of anyone and your hard work would be noticed sooner or later unlike naija that you need all the right connection in order to get to the top.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, that must have been tough but a good memory to smile and laugh about hehe. I always believed that saying "thank you" is a form of prayer. I also spend just a few minutes to pray and I believe every prayer is heard and answered too, not in all the ways we expect, but even better

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is it. When we believe our prayers are answered, so it is. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right :) Thank you too and enjoy the new weekend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you very much @princessbusayo. Sometimes I don't even open my mouth to pray. The God I am praying to knows me more than anyone else. I just lift my arms and empty my heart without saying anything.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. Even when we pray in our heart, we would be heard. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome. ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago